Hacking Is installing game updates available within wud dumps possible?

jsan

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Spain
Hi!

I am new to the Wii U scene, 2nd hand prices were too tempting to not try out. Along with my new (old) wii u, I also bought a physical copy of Zelda BOTW. I have haxchi up and running, so I was able to dump the DVD using wudump. From the wud file I could extract the game using Jwudtool (with the extract all option). It installs without any issues using WupInstaller, but on launch it asks for an update. After investigating a bit more I saw that JWudtool can also extract an update when using the `-decrypt` option. However, this `update` does not have the folder structure required by tools such as `Nuspacker` to generate anything installable by WupInstaller.

I know I can try to download updates from other sources, but to be honest I am courious as to whether it would be possible to use the `update` that comes in the disc directly.

Thanks in advance for any information on this matter!

Cheers

D

Deleted-236924

Wouldn't you be able to just insert the disk and install the update that way?

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Trophies
XP
Country
Norway
Hi!

I am new to the Wii U scene, 2nd hand prices were too tempting to not try out. Along with my new (old) wii u, I also bought a physical copy of Zelda BOTW. I have haxchi up and running, so I was able to dump the DVD using wudump. From the wud file I could extract the game using Jwudtool (with the extract all option). It installs without any issues using WupInstaller, but on launch it asks for an update. After investigating a bit more I saw that JWudtool can also extract an update when using the `-decrypt` option. However, this `update` does not have the folder structure required by tools such as `Nuspacker` to generate anything installable by WupInstaller.