PS1/2 Installing games to ps2 hdd that dre

blaisedinsd

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
So I just got my hard drive installed in my ps2 and got hdloadee to format it but when I went to install a game it's saying it is not a valid ps2 disc.

This is crazy because I am using games that were playing fine last night, but sure enough when I try to play them normally now I am getting disc read error.

I could barely get one esr game to work out of about 4 that I tried and it doesn't work all the time. I figure my laser is going bad and have ordered a new one.

Anyway what are my options of getting a game on my hard drive to at least test it out if my ps2 will not read the discs?

blaisedinsd

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I need an enclosure to do that don't I. May have to invest in one. Any other methods I can do with out one?

Also, I am really new to this, can I copy hdloader to my memory card? I ran it off of USB. Do I just use ulaunch to copy the elf file to the memory card?

mechadylan

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
No enclosure needed; ide to usb adapter and power supply is what I use. Or xdump if your ps2 is networked.

blaisedinsd

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Cool. I'll get one of those tomorrow.

I had adjusted my laser height yesterday and I guess that is what was screwing it up. I put it back to the original position and it started working again.

So right now I have the hdloader elf file on a USB drive and I have to launch it from there using uloader, is there a simple way to get it to the memory card with the rest of the apps that came in the fmcb noobie package? When trying to find instructions to do so I only came across some very complicated methods involving burning discs and editing files and stuff. Ulaunch let's me copy it to the memory card but it doesn't show up, can't I just edit a config file to make it show up or something?

mechadylan

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Cool. I'll get one of those tomorrow.