How to play your GameCube games from SD or USB using DIOS-MIOS (Lite)

Discussion in 'Wii - Tutorials & FAQs' started by FIX94, Jan 14, 2012.

Jan 14, 2012
    • Member

    Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Message Count:
    5,181
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    technically the term ROM is for older consoles that used cartridges and not for GameCube but some people still use it for the same thing. A GCM is basically the closest you'd get to a GameCube ROM, yes.


    • Newcomer

    michaelcr New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Message Count:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Do I need to mAke the fat32 partition actually in front of the other partition or do I just make it primary
    • Member

    Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Message Count:
    5,181
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    Primary is not to be confused with active.
    Active is a setting. You can have one partition set to active.
    Primary is a type of partition. It's either primary or extended(which would then have virtual partitions inside it)

    People say it needs to be active but it doesn't. What's important there is that the type of partition is a primary partition.

    also

    The first partition thing, it's really just important to have it be the first partition in the MBR (the "partition list" at the beginning of the drive) but partitioning programs usually put the partition that's physically first as the first one on the MBR but even if it ends up being the last one physically, you can use this to switch them in the list :
    http://gbatemp.net/t...n-a-faster-way/
    • Newcomer

    michaelcr New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Message Count:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    What is a good wad viewer and downloaded app
    • Member

    Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Message Count:
    5,181
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    I'm not sure what you mean here ?
    • Newcomer

    michaelcr New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Message Count:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Wad manager is not mounting my device even though I know the wii reads it because I can open apps from it....
    • Member

    Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Message Count:
    5,181
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    Oh, okay.
    There's ...
    WiiMod
    MultiModManager (MMM)
    WadManager GUI
    ... and lots of others that are just WAD Manager mods and versions.

    You could also tell WAD Manager to use a different IOS at the beginning when it loads up. That might help.
    • Newcomer

    michaelcr New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Message Count:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    I installed the wad but now it says I have to install DM(L) to play games of USB or sd card :/
    • Member

    Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Message Count:
    5,181
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    Ouch, did you update GX, too, or just install the WAD?
    on your old version you needed to change the "DML installed version" setting for it to work.
    You could always see if it works with DM(L) Booter.
    • Newcomer

    michaelcr New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Message Count:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    I take my Sd card out and now no games appear even though I have a games folder in USB with game in it
    • Member

    Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Message Count:
    5,181
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    Oh, wait, did you change your custom path setting for gamecube in GX?
    • Newcomer

    michaelcr New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Message Count:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Nvm the game is working (so far) :) lets hope there is no problems
    1 people like this.
    • Member

    hybrid -x1 New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Message Count:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    • Newcomer

    michaelcr New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Message Count:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    Ok it's official! Final Fantasy Crystal Chronicles is 100% compatible with Dios Mios 2.3! It works flawlessly off of my USB hdd!
    BIG THANKS to Maxternal for putting up with all of my questions and answering them all with respect! :D
    1 people like this.
    • Newcomer

    ReidParsekian New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Message Count:
    3
    Hey everyone, I'm having a problem getting ocarina codes to work on DML
    I'm using DML because I have a WBFS formated drive for my Wii games and I only need a couple of Gamecube games. So I took the DML route and I'm using a 16GB sd card.
    I downloaded DML 2.3 and got it working right away on USB Loader GX r1202 with zero problems. However getting codes to work is a different story. I enabled ocarina and saved the .gct under sd/codes/GAMEID and got a message saying "Warning: The GCT Cheatcodes path must be on SD" when starting a game. Weird because all I'm using is an SD?? So I looked around online and people were saying that it has to be under the directory usb/game/GAMEID so I tired that on my SD but had no luck. I also tried renaming the GCT to ID6.gct and I tried using Dios Mios Booter and nothing! I really just want to get cheats to work! So if any one knows what to do please help me! Thanks.
    • Member

    Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Message Count:
    5,181
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    Hope this answer to a similar question on another thread helps.
    • Newcomer

    ReidParsekian New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Message Count:
    3
    I just switched back to USB Loader GX r1201 and the codes do in fact work! I just still get that error message before starting the game. At least it works! Thanks a bunch. Hopefully a future update will clear this all up.
    • Newcomer

    LuisSanchez New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Message Count:
    2
    Hey everyone Im having problem with audio in a game i already tried downloading it from 2 different websites and if i play it in dolphin the audio does work. I use usbloadergx to play and all the other games work just fine. The game is Dave Mirra fREESTYLE bmx 2 NTSC i will really appreciate the help.
    • Member

    ddetkowski New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,136
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Dave Mirra fREESTYLE bmx 2 NTSC is a game with streaming audio for GC. Sorry, audio streaming games ALL have that problem for now, unless a revision is made to fix that.
    • Newcomer

    Taint New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Message Count:
    14
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm trying to install DML and am having a major issue. I installed it on my Wii no problem, but whenever I try to drag and drop the gamecube iso file onto the discex.exe icon, the black window pops up for a split second an disappears. I've tried with both the 0.8 and 0.9 releases, but still neither one seems to open for me properly. I have all the discex files in the right spot and I don't know what the problem is. Can anyone help me please?

    Thanks!

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page