Tutorial  Updated

How to boot Linux on your Switch

THIS GUIDE IS DEPRECATED
THIS IS BETTER https://github.com/natinusala/painless-linux


I've successfully booted ArchLinux using ShofEL2. Here is a quick guide on how to do it - I'll assume you're computer literate and know how to use a terminal / Linux commands / git.
Everything is taken from the README of the ShofEL2 repo so if you want to go even faster, go read that instead.

Thanks to NightHammer1000 and Y2K-x for the help !

There is a simplified and faster version of this tutorial available here, with precompiled binaries so you don't have to build everything : https://github.com/SoulCipher/shofel2_linux

The result

Without a SD card ("waiting for root device mmcblk0p2") : https://photos.app.goo.gl/7y6ut5ObuHMUIMZg2
Stock Arch Linux : https://photos.app.goo.gl/yALqe3zMZRe2dSQf1
Arch Linux with LXDE : https://photos.app.goo.gl/xaEgRqeSi8jvAwpz5
RetroArch running : https://photos.app.goo.gl/vBLPo5wiBto1qiUH3
Arch Linux with GNOME : https://gbatemp.net/attachments/img_0005-jpg.121608/
Arch Linux with KDE : https://gbatemp.net/attachments/img_20180427_121605-jpg.121666/

What works / what doesn't
  • Desktop environment : Gnome, LXDE, KDE
  • Wi-Fi : works
    • You will need to reboot your Switch and run the exploit again to make the Wi-Fi work (it never works on the first boot)
    • Then enter the Network Manager Application and add your network from there
    • If it doesn't work, you will need to edit the configuration on the host computer (see the additional notes at the end of this post)
    • With LXDE : Can cause a kernel panic if used at the same time as Bluetooth
  • Bluetooth : works but Joy-Cons can't be paired
  • Touch screen : works, although LXDE is not very touch-friendly
  • Audio : doesn't work yet
  • GPU acceleration : works (via mesa), with OpenGL (and maybe Vulkan too ?)
  • Joy-Cons : not recognized
  • Volume buttons : working with Gnome but not doing anything since there is no audio device
  • Power button : doesn't do anything, no sleep mode, no graceful shutdown
  • USB : doesn't work
  • Dock : not tested yet, but I bet it doesn't do anything besides charging the battery
  • Power management / battery level : working with Gnome
What you'll need
  • A computer running Linux with a blue USB SuperSpeed port, or a Mac
    • A Linux VM can work in theory, but it depends on how the USB passthrough is implemented (apparently VMWare works, VirtualBox doesn't)
  • A USB A-to-C cable (with data support, obviously)
    • be careful as cheap cables were reported to work randomly / not work at all
  • Some time (you know, Linux is kinda large)

Prep work

First, you'll need to install the required toolchains. Open this link and download the tar.gz binaries for
  • aarch64-linux-gnu
  • arm-linux-gnueabi
Be careful to choose the right architecture for your PC (for me it was x86_64 so "gcc-linaro-7.2.1-2017.11-x86_64_arm-linux-gnueabi.tar.xz").

Once you have them, extract them somewhere nice and add the "bin" (not "lib" as I previously stated) folder of both toolchains to your PATH ("$ export PATH=$PATH:/path/to/toolchain1/lib:/path/to/toolchain2/lib"). The building process won't work otherwise.

Then, install those dependencies (how to install them and their name might depend on your distribution) :
  • build-essential (sorry I didn't add it it was obvious to me)
  • libssl-dev
  • swig
  • bison
  • pkg-config
  • flex
  • zlib1g-dev
  • python3
  • python-dev
  • python3-pip
  • pyusb 1.0.0 : "$ sudo pip3 install pyusb==1.0.0"
  • libusb-1.0-0-dev

Compiling

Clone each required repository :

Code:
$ git clone https://github.com/fail0verflow/shofel2.git
$ git clone --recursive --depth=1 https://github.com/fail0verflow/switch-coreboot.git coreboot
$ git clone https://github.com/fail0verflow/switch-u-boot.git u-boot
$ git clone --depth=1 https://github.com/fail0verflow/switch-linux.git linux
$ git clone https://github.com/boundarydevices/imx_usb_loader.git

You can grab a coffee or two because Linux has more than 5 million files to download.

Then, build everything :

Code:
$ cd shofel2/exploit
$ make

Code:
$ cd u-boot
$ export CROSS_COMPILE=aarch64-linux-gnu-
$ make nintendo-switch_defconfig
$ make

Code:
$ cd coreboot
$ make nintendo_switch_defconfig
$ make iasl
$ make

If you have a tegra_mtc.bin file error, you'll have to extract it from a Pixel C stock image :
"$ ./build/util/cbfstool/cbfstool bootloader-dragon-google_smaug.7900.97.0.img extract -n fallback/tegra_mtc -f tegra_mtc.bin"

Or you can download it directly from here : https://0w0.st/tegra_mtc.bin (thanks to @CptPotato for uploading this)

You'll have to put it in the "coreboot/src/soc/nvidia/tegra210" directory.

Code:
$ cd imx_usb_loader
$ git reset --hard 0a322b01cacf03e3be727e3e4c3d46d69f2e343e
$ make

The big one :

Code:
$ cd linux
$ export ARCH=arm64
$ export CROSS_COMPILE=aarch64-linux-gnu-
$ make nintendo-switch_defconfig
$ make

If you encounter issues about a missing rule "/lib/firmware/nvidia/tegra210/vic04_ucode.bin" for the target "firmware" you'll have to :
  • install the firmware-misc-nonfree package
  • if you can't install it, or if it still doesn't work, download the package manually from debian sid and extract the file "/lib/firmware/nvidia/tegra210/vic04_ucode.bin" (from the root of your PC, not on the cloned repo) from the DEB (and chmod it if needed)
If you encounter issues about a missing rule "/lib/firmware/brcm/brcmfmac4356-pcie.txt", download this file and put it in "/lib/firmware/brcm/" (from the root of your PC, not on the cloned repo)

Building the rootfs

This is the annoying part. Download the archive / image corresponding to the distribution you want to use :
If it's a tarball you just downloaded

While it's downloading, you'll have to take a microSD card and, using the software of your choice (I used GParted) :
  • remove every existing partition to only have unallocated space on it (do I need to tell you that you're going to loose everything on the card ?)
  • create a tiny FAT32 partition (I chose 200mb but it doesn't matter) - that'll be mmcbkl0p1, you can label it "garbage"
  • create an ext4 partition on the remaining part of the card - that'll be mmcblk0p2, you can label it "rootfs"
  • it's important that the FAT32 partition comes first and the ext4 one comes after - on the Switch, Linux will look for mmcblk0p2, the second partition, if you have scrolling boot logs and then back to RCM it means you did it wrong
Once the rootfs tarball is downloaded, you can simple extract it to the mounting point of the ext4 partition you just created :

Code:
$ tar xvf ArchLinuxARM-aarch64-latest.tar.gz -C /mounting/point/of/ext4/partition && sync
$ cp ArchLinuxARM-aarch64-latest.tar.gz /mounting/point/of/ext4/partition/root && sync

("/mounting/point/of/ext4/partition/root" is the "root" directory on the partition)

Don't forget to properly eject the SD Card !

If "tar xvf" doesn't work for you you can install "bsdtar" and use "bsdtar -xpf" instead

Then you can put the SD card in the console.

If it's a img / bin file you just downloaded

You can simply write it on your SD card using :
  • If you're on Windows, Ether or Win32DiskImager
  • If you're on Linux / Mac OS : "sudo dd if=yourimage.img of=/dev/sdX && sync" where /dev/sdX is the device of your SD card (unmounted)
You will probably want to open a partition manager to resize the ext4 partition once it's flashed, so that it fits your SD card.

Then you can put the SD card in the console.

Booting linux

Run the exploit :

Code:
$ cd shofel2/exploit
$ sudo ./shofel2.py cbfs.bin ../../coreboot/build/coreboot.rom

Your terminal should now be waiting for the Switch to enter RCM mode.

To do so : (I don't have pictures but that's the same method as fusée gelée, just look at some video tutorials)
  • plug the Switch on your PC using the USB A-to-C cable - use a blue SuperSpeed port if you have one
  • shut it down
  • remove the right joy-con
  • using a method of your choice, short the 10th pin of the right joy-con (the last pin on the right, away from the screen, closer to the back) with the ground : that can be pin 1, 2 or 7, that can also be a screw on the joy-con rack or the console's fan - I personnaly stick a RPi jumper wire in the fan and touch the 10th pin on the other side, works everytime (like this)
  • keep the pins shorted and power the Switch while pressing the volume UP button
If it worked, the console will show a black screen and you'll see the exploit running on your terminal. If you see the Nintendo logo, it has failed. You can power off the console and try again.

Then, run those last commands :

Code:
$ cd shofel2/usb_loader
$ ../../u-boot/tools/mkimage -A arm64 -T script -C none -n "boot.scr" -d switch.scr switch.scr.img
$ sudo ../../imx_usb_loader/imx_usb -c .

Linux should then boot on your console - first the boot logs with the penguins, and then an ArchLinux login prompt. Voilà !
Again, if you have the boot logs and then a black screen, it means you did the SD card part wrong.

Additional notes

Hardware graphics acceleration


The most recents image already contain this fix.

To add mesa drivers install this package using pacman :
https://0w0.st/mesa-full-tegra-r101876.bf5e0276b6-1-aarch64.pkg.tar.xz

You will need a working internet connection to do so.

Then, use this script to choose your power profile : https://0w0.st/power.sh

Full speed RAM


According to the blog post ("Linux on Switch boot chain" section), you need to extract a file from a Pixel C factory image in order to have the RAM working at full speed. I didn't do it so I won't cover it here.

Fixing calibration issues of the touch screen (thanks to @Wizardy)

To fix calibration issues of the touch screen, edit the file /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-evdev.confg (of the rootfs)

And change the InputClass section to :

Code:
Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "evdev touchscreen catchall"
        MatchIsTouchscreen "on"
        MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
        Driver "evdev"
        Option "InvertX" "no"
        Option "InvertY" "yes"
        Option "SwapAxes" "yes"
        Option "Calibration" "0 1279 0 719"
EndSection

Wi-Fi

To setup Wi-Fi, mount the rootfs partition on your host PC and edit the configuration for your network in the file "/etc/NetworkManager/system-connections" (if it doesn't exist, take Gigaspot).

To have a working Wi-Fi you must reboot your Switch and run the exploit again each time you power it off

Moving the rootfs to another partition

If you want to move the rootfs to another partition on your SD card, edit the "shofel2/usb_loader/switch.scr" file and replace "/dev/mmcblk0p2" by the partition you want to use.
 
Last edited by natinusala,

00Cancer

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 1, 2017
Messages
67
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
103
Country
United States
By pinging google do you mean 8.8.8.8 or google.com? By borked do you mean that pacman times out trying to connect to any servers?
Also I originally wrote /etc/esolv.conf where I meant /etc/resolv.conf, I assume this wasn't your issue, but I just wanted to make sure.

I can only ping 8.8.8.8, pacman times out, and I did not name it esolv.conf.
 

NightStorm1000

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2015
Messages
200
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
538
Country
Austria
Ugh. chrooting the ARM64 Debian Image is a pain in the ass because all the qemu-static-user packages out there are way to old. Had to setup latest Bleeding Edge Fedora 28 because they have all the newest Packages used for chrooting ARM64. And I cant stand all the RedHat stuff...


Example of the Issues: Configuring the Man-DB Pages always threw an QEMU Error. Installing Python3 wich is used by almost all of the GUIs too.

But now its Running. I am logged in. Touch is Calibrated. OpenSSH and Wifi is working. And I am currently building Dolphin ^^

Upload can still take a while. Sorry bout that. Internet here sucks.
 
  • Like
Reactions: kombos

Gigaa

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2018
Messages
108
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Norway
Website
giga.is
XP
130
Country
Norway
There, i packed up my new tar file. It should work perfectly this time as i tested it on my own device with a new sd card (even did checksum.)
Installed an on-screen keyboard this time, it should be in the menu. But it might be best to just use a bluetooth keyboard.
Using my vps this time to host it as it got 1 Gbit.
Just a note about wifi, you need to reboot the switch from lxde and re-run the exploit. You should already be in RCM mode so no need to do the power+volume+home button payload.
Check OPs first post for the link.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20180426_105817.jpg
    IMG_20180426_105817.jpg
    65.1 KB · Views: 237
Last edited by Gigaa,

00Cancer

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 1, 2017
Messages
67
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
103
Country
United States
Ugh. chrooting the ARM64 Debian Image is a pain in the ass because all the qemu-static-user packages out there are way to old. Had to setup latest Bleeding Edge Fedora 28 because they have all the newest Packages used for chrooting ARM64. And I cant stand all the RedHat stuff...


Example of the Issues: Configuring the Man-DB Pages always threw an QEMU Error. Installing Python3 wich is used by almost all of the GUIs too.

But now its Running. I am logged in. Touch is Calibrated. OpenSSH and Wifi is working. And I am currently building Dolphin ^^

Upload can still take a while. Sorry bout that. Internet here sucks.
I can get into the chroot just fine, but the internet is borked. Is there anything you did specifically to get the internet to work, or did it just work off the start.
 

NightStorm1000

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2015
Messages
200
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
538
Country
Austria
you need to copy over the /etc/resolv.conf to the Rootfs.
You also need to mount your /proc and all that stuff in the RootFS or apt will fail most of the time.

do everything as root
so better go

su -

cd into your rootfs

mount --bind /proc /proc
mount --bind /sys /sys
mount --bind /dev /dev
mount --bind /dev/pts /dev/pts

cd back out and than chroot.
 
Last edited by NightStorm1000,

00Cancer

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 1, 2017
Messages
67
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
103
Country
United States
you need to copy over the /etc/resolv.conf to the Rootfs.
You also need to mount your /proc and all that stuff in the RootFS or apt will fail most of the time.
I did that, so I have no idea. I guess I will just have to use Arch Linux or something else because ubuntu will not work.
 

xXDungeon_CrawlerXx

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2015
Messages
2,092
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
Liverpool
XP
3,724
Country
There, i packed up my new tar file. It should work perfectly this time as i tested it on my own device with a new sd card (even did checksum.)
Installed an on-screen keyboard this time, it should be in the menu. But it might be best to just use a bluetooth keyboard.
Using my vps this time to host it this time as it got 1 Gbit.
Just a note about wifi, you need to reboot the switch from lxde and re-run the exploit. You should already be in RCM mode so no need to do the power+volume+home button payload.
To get the file just email me at [email protected]
sent you an E-Mail.
 

00Cancer

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 1, 2017
Messages
67
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
103
Country
United States
I hate ArchLinux so much...


I hate archlinux so much... Everything is a pain to use. Thats why i wanted to get Debian running.
I finally was able to get internet working in the chroot. There was some weird stuff going on with resolv.conf, and Arch Linux wasn't detecting it. I got it working and now I am currently installing LXDE.
 

xXDungeon_CrawlerXx

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2015
Messages
2,092
Trophies
1
Age
28
Location
Liverpool
XP
3,724
Country
I added the link to @Gigaa 's rootfs to the OP - you can download it here https://0w0.st/rootfs.tar.bz2
I just extracted the Content of rootfs.tar.bz2 to my RootFS on SDCard
upload_2018-4-26_13-5-57.png

(of Course I wiped it before doing this)


Now I’m stuck at the Linux boot Screen with the following Messages:

systememd[1238]: Failed to execute /usr/lib/System-environment-generators/10-arch: Exec Format error

systememd[1237]: /usr/lib/System-environment-generators/10-arch failed with Exit Status 1.

systememd[1257]: System-udev-trigger.services: Failed to execute command: Exec Format error

random init done


nothing else happens from here on.
After some minutes, it shows a black screen (with backlight) and a blinking _-cursor on the top left corner.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars: its a game that came out a few days ago. Its on Game Pass too.