Hacking How might one get into Wii U hacking if they have no hacking experience?

Noah Hall

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hello! Just to get a small bit of background info out of the way: I'm known as Mr. Potatobadger around the smaller internet communities I hang around. I've been programming video games for over 10 years now. Currently, I'm working under Simon "Stealth" Thomley of Head Cannon. He's one of the 2 guys who created the Sonic 1 and 2 Remastered editions. You might also have heard of him if you know anything about the Sonic hacking community, he's the guy responsible for Sonic Megamix. Anyways, it's my first professional level job, and I'm excited about it. Enough about that, moving onward.

We're working on an independently developed video game with a team of 9 people. If you're curious about the project, feel free to check this tumblr post out.

The engine were using is HCGE, created by Stealth. You might have heard of it, there is a 3DS homebrew version of it (even though it's a bit on the slow side). It's kind of like 68K ASM, but modernized. Any coding changes are reflected the instant you reload a game, which is nice.The engine is free to use non-commercially, so download it and mess around with it if you're curious. That tumblr post should also give you a good idea of the dev environment.

Well, that's a bit more text than I expected, and this sentence isn't really helping either... Moving on now! Hopefully you understand that I know my shit. At least when it comes to games...

---------------------------------------------

My knowledge on hacking is very minimal. I really only know a little bit about Sega Genesis hacking, and that's really as far as it goes. However, I really want to get into hacking. Specifically, Wii U hacking, as you can probably guess.

But how. Where the hell do I even start? I'm already in the hole considering my Wii U is 5.4.0, so anything current seems out of the option, unless I buy a second Wii U.