Homebrew Official HID to VPAD

elk1007

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2017
Messages
365
Trophies
0
XP
1,001
Country
United States
@Maschell sorry if this has been asked before over the years. But is it possible to alter the config file for the settings that change the GamePad controls with Hid2Vpad, to only enable the changes to controls when you start a specific Wii U title? I want to change the GamePad controls, but ideally only when I enter one specific game I have installed.

I am no dev, but this is my simple idea.
Write a homebrew module that reads the title ID upon launching a game
and overwrites the HIDtoVPAD cfg file with one specifically for that titleID.
 
Last edited by elk1007,

TonyNESgri

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2021
Messages
175
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
510
Country
France
How to use HID to VPAD Lite (the plugin) ?

I'd like to use my Gamecube Controller as a Gamepad without having to go through the actual app, so I can load other plugins at the same time.


Also, can I use it for Aroma ?
 
Last edited by TonyNESgri,

johnhinckleyjrfan

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 14, 2023
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
15
Country
United States
I created a config for the new Retro Fighters Brawler 64 NSO edition. To use it you have to connect it to your PC and use the network client and the controller has to be in Dinput mode. This config maps the C buttons as the right stick so it works perfectly with N64 VC games.
 

Attachments

  • Brawler 64 NSO Config.zip
    952 bytes · Views: 30
  • Like
Reactions: fmhugo and elk1007

m_lance

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 13, 2022
Messages
42
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
48044
XP
144
Country
United States
Do i have to map my controller after every wii u start up? When I shut down and re-start, the mapping is not saved... ( i have a generic N64 usb, that I had to make a config file for)
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2022
Messages
176
Trophies
0
Location
my house
XP
842
Country
United States
Is there a plugin version of this app compatible WUPS so that I can use this and other plugins (such as SDcafiine or PureClient) at the same time? I keep seeing people talk about it but I’ve not found any releases except for the HBL .elf release.
 

emcintosh

On the internet, everyone knows I'm a cat
Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2016
Messages
460
Trophies
0
XP
2,371
Country
United Kingdom
  • Like
Reactions: TheDerpyDolphin

Ewpb

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2013
Messages
120
Trophies
1
XP
756
Country
I don't understand how the HID Test data can be so different to the data expected in the controller .ini file.

I maybe understand the PID and VID entry but the rest doesn't correspond at all.

Surely the .ini should have a list of commands - up, down, left, right, A, B. that I add the output from the HID Test to.


i.e press UP on pad in HID Test, write down output. Fd09

Go to .ini file on computer, look for the up line - add Fd09

Repeat for all inputs on the pad.
Post automatically merged:

I've created a config that goes in sd/wiiu/controller folder that works with Cthulhu Multi input circuit board that was popular with people building their own joysticks back in the late 00s.
//Toodles 2008 Cthulhu Mult (PS3)
[vid=0x14d8,pid=0xd908]

//DPad
DPAD_MODE = DPAD_HAT
DPAD_MASK = 0X0F
VPAD_BUTTON_DPAD_Neutral = 0x02, 0x0F
VPAD_BUTTON_DPAD_N = 0x02, 0x00
VPAD_BUTTON_DPAD_NE = 0x02, 0x01
VPAD_BUTTON_DPAD_E = 0x02, 0x02
VPAD_BUTTON_DPAD_SE = 0x02, 0x03
VPAD_BUTTON_DPAD_S = 0x02, 0x04
VPAD_BUTTON_DPAD_SW = 0x02, 0x05
VPAD_BUTTON_DPAD_W = 0x02, 0x06
VPAD_BUTTON_DPAD_NW = 0x02, 0x07

//Buttons
VPAD_BUTTON_A = 0x00, 0x04
VPAD_BUTTON_B = 0x00, 0x02
VPAD_BUTTON_X = 0x00, 0x08
VPAD_BUTTON_Y = 0x00, 0x01
VPAD_BUTTON_PLUS = 0x01, 0x02
VPAD_BUTTON_MINUS = 0x01, 0x01
VPAD_BUTTON_HOME = 0x01, 0x10
VPAD_BUTTON_L = 0x00, 0x10
VPAD_BUTTON_R = 0x00, 0x40
VPAD_BUTTON_ZL = 0x00, 0x20
VPAD_BUTTON_ZR = 0x00, 0x80

//Sticks
VPAD_L_STICK_X = 0x03, 0x80
VPAD_L_STICK_Y = 0x04, 0x80
Vpad_L_Stick_X_MinMax = 0x00, 0xFF
Vpad_L_Stick_Y_MinMax = 0x00, 0xFF
VPad_L_Stick_Y_Invert = true
Vpad_R_Stick_Y_Invert = true
PAD_COUNT=1

save that as an .ini
 
Last edited by Ewpb,

Robiniko

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 23, 2023
Messages
13
Trophies
0
Age
23
XP
109
Country
Peru
I found out about hidtest on PC in the network client pack and checked my fake switch pro controller (bluetooth, im also having issues with wired connection on PC) inputs there because on the wii U hidtest didn't react to it, it reacts to my DS4 but not the switch pro controller but hidtovpad does (despite being "weird" the inputs, that's why im trying to find out what's faulty), saw that the inputs im "pressing" on the WII u are making it so all the bytes are set to zero (on the hidtest SS im pressing the same inputs as in the hidtovpad photo)
im running out of ideas, i still have no idea what's going on, i suspect it may have something to do with the built in switch controller support, is there a way to get rid of it? or do i need to compule hidtovpad myself?
another cause may be because of the wired connection with the controller, but i still have no idea howw to check or fix that, many other users had the same the problem with these same inputs, is there really not a solution or known cause?

this is the ini using the data from hidtest, it should be okay? i keep getting the same result

[vid=0x057E,pid=0x2009]
[IgnoreDefault]
VPAD_BUTTON_A = 0x00,0x01
VPAD_BUTTON_B = 0x00,0x02
VPAD_BUTTON_X = 0x00,0x04
VPAD_BUTTON_Y = 0x00,0x08

VPAD_BUTTON_PLUS = 0x01,0x02
VPAD_BUTTON_MINUS = 0x01,0x01
VPAD_BUTTON_HOME = 0x01,0x10

VPAD_BUTTON_L = 0x00,0x10
VPAD_BUTTON_R = 0x00,0x20

VPAD_BUTTON_STICK_L = 0x01,0x04
VPAD_BUTTON_STICK_R = 0x01,0x08

VPAD_BUTTON_ZL = 0x00,0x40
VPAD_BUTTON_ZR = 0x00,0x80


DPAD_MODE = DPAD_HAT
DPad_MASK = 0x0F

VPAD_BUTTON_DPAD_Neutral = 0x02,0x00
VPAD_BUTTON_DPAD_N = 0x02,0x02
VPAD_BUTTON_DPAD_NE = 0x02,0x06
VPAD_BUTTON_DPAD_E = 0x02,0x04
VPAD_BUTTON_DPAD_SE = 0x02,0x05
VPAD_BUTTON_DPAD_S = 0x02,0x01
VPAD_BUTTON_DPAD_SW = 0x02,0x09
VPAD_BUTTON_DPAD_W = 0x02,0x08
VPAD_BUTTON_DPAD_NW = 0x02,0x0A

VPad_L_Stick_X = 0x04,0x80
VPad_L_Stick_X_MinMax = 0x00,0xFF
VPad_L_Stick_Y = 0x06,0x80
VPad_L_Stick_Y_MinMax = 0x00,0xFF
VPad_L_Stick_Y_Invert = True

VPad_R_Stick_X = 0x08,0x80
VPad_R_Stick_X_MinMax = 0x00,0xFF
VPad_R_Stick_Y = 0x10,0x80
VPad_R_Stick_Y_MinMax = 0x00,0xFF
VPad_R_Stick_Y_Invert = True

PAD_COUNT=1
1689573473446.png
1689573495960.png
 
Last edited by Robiniko,

funk192

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 22, 2020
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
61
Country
Australia
Anybody figure out the issue with logitech controllers(maybe others) where in game the last button pressed would be stuck on? I don't see any updates on the github for years now and nobody ever responds to this problem that others have lalso had.

The weird thing is the app that tests your controller it works totally fine, press a button and it lights up, let it go and it turns off, just whatever game you play it doesn't work that way.
 

MikeBeast12

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 4, 2018
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
644
Country
United States
I haven't bought them yet, but worth checking out. Logitech's USB WingMan flight controllers and USB game pads might be worth testing. They tested Logitech's F310 controllers though.
 

funk192

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 22, 2020
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
61
Country
Australia
I haven't bought them yet, but worth checking out. Logitech's USB WingMan flight controllers and USB game pads might be worth testing. They tested Logitech's F310 controllers though.
How did the F310s go? They're similar to the F710's and cordless rumblepad 2's that I have. Both exhibit the same behaviour with the always stuck on last button pressed when playing a game, and not in the testing button app.
 

MarbotheMapo

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jul 29, 2023
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
14
XP
31
Country
Brazil
Is there anyway to port this to the switch or is there any similar app? (I meant the client version on pc for unsupported controllers.)
 

bahamut920

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
584
Trophies
1
XP
2,118
Country
United States
There are several cheap USB adapters that will allow you to use other controllers on a Switch; just off the top of my head, 8BitDo has one and Mayflash has one (the Magic-NS). I also do remember seeing a homebrew app on this site a few years ago that supposedly did much the same thing as this one, but I didn't save the thread and can't find it easily. But if you go back far enough on the forums or use the right search terms you should be able to find it.
 

MarbotheMapo

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jul 29, 2023
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
14
XP
31
Country
Brazil
There are several cheap USB adapters that will allow you to use other controllers on a Switch; just off the top of my head, 8BitDo has one and Mayflash has one (the Magic-NS). I also do remember seeing a homebrew app on this site a few years ago that supposedly did much the same thing as this one, but I didn't save the thread and can't find it easily. But if you go back far enough on the forums or use the right search terms you should be able to find it.
I wanted it cause i was trying to play nintendo switch games with a friend via parsec, but i don't want to buy a Full priced game adapter controller emulator to do it.
 

FoxStorm1

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 16, 2023
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Website
bit.ly
XP
72
Country
United Kingdom
How do you get to the controller menu in Aroma?
Post automatically merged:

How to use HID to VPAD Lite (the plugin) ?

I'd like to use my Gamecube Controller as a Gamepad without having to go through the actual app, so I can load other plugins at the same time.


Also, can I use it for Aroma ?
The menu for hid-to-vpad doesn't show up on Aroma when doing the button combinations :( but sdcafiine, re_nfpii, evWii and other app menus show up @Maschell
 

patters

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2006
Messages
174
Trophies
1
XP
905
Country
I have just noticed that this doesn't seem to work with a Wavebird connected to the official Nintendo GameCube controller adaptor for Wii U. Yet the same setup works fine for Nintendont.
I see the receiver's LED when I press buttons, but HID to VPAD just doesn't detect the presses. Does this need rebuilding with a more modern (since 2018) controller library?
It works fine for wired GC controllers, just not Wavebird. Happens for both the latest stable release from 2018, and for the newest nightly build (from 2019).

EDIT - Never mind, it was me being an idiot and forgetting I need to press A on the Wii U's gamepad first, /before/ pressing A on the target HID controller. It does work fine.
 
Last edited by patters,

purplegreendave

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 6, 2014
Messages
39
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
227
Country
Canada
I just swapped from CBHC to Tiramisu. I was 99% sure that before I switched my Dualsense (PS5) controller was picked up in HID to VPAD, but I don't have a time machine to go back and double check that.

Now I can't get it to work at all.

I tried plugging it into HIDTest on Wii U HBC so I could fix the config file myself but got no output.
Plugged it into my PC and ran HIDTest-0.2.jar but the output was a constant stream of info in the terminal that was too fast to read.

Any ideas?
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I tell people I wrestled a 5 foot alligator and they get this smile like this guy is full of shit lol the reality is I am sad it got away.... I wanted a pet alligator lol
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    You live in Florida, so I believe it, you guys are crazy.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    At the time I would have probably fed it people lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Seriously cocaine not even once lol
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Not even once, but 100's of times
    +2
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    My girlfriend at the time, she had me stay up with her all night because some how the crazy bitch had spent like 12 hours snorting 2 8 balls, didn't use any water (gotta clean your nose) so she had so much crusted in her nose I was sure she was gonna blow up her heart. I mean this was the stuff right off the boat so absolutely pure. ugghh so annoying
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Also doing like 320 dollars worth of coke in half a day lol damn it
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    hmmm 360 even lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Well I was getting a discount so 320 is probably right
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    That is cheap, I used to pay $100 for a tine.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Tine? One gram?
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Sixteenth
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Also it was literally out of a kilo when I got it off the boat so absolutely pure
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Holy shiz that's a lot
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I was getting 3.5 Grams for 320 could have stepped on it and doubled my money easy lol
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I'd be afraid to it nowdays, my heart would explode prob. I just stick beers n buds nowdays.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I would get to drive from tarpon springs to like Miami a thousand bucks lol do that twice a week and back in 92 that was good money
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @BigOnYa,
    @Psionic Roshambo what are you guys talking about?
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Blew it on women and muscle cars lol
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    @Xdqwerty Hamster food, its pricey nowadays to keep PCs running.
    +2
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I don't do anything except cigarettes and gotta stop eventually lol
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I'd do shrooms again if could find, and I was outside camping/fishing, and had a cooler full of beer.
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I wouldn't mind some LSD, laughing until my face hurt sounds fun lol
    +1
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: I wouldn't mind some LSD, laughing until my face hurt sounds fun lol +1