Flashing an Arduino using a Top3000? Need it to build my own Snes to Gamecube adapter!

nashismo

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2013
Messages
520
Trophies
1
Age
43
Location
Home sweet Home (Mi casita)
XP
1,269
Country
Chile
Guys I know you are into software more than hardware, but here is my story!

Since march this year 2020 I have been trying to buy a Snes to Gamecube controller adapter from Raphnet. This is to play my GBA games on the Gameboy Player/Gamecube using an original SNES controller!!

I am from Chile, but still Raphael (Raphnet) was willing to sell me an adapter. He did in march, but after 3 weeks we was sent my product back to him. It was Virus time!! So I suck it up. Then he tried once more, but couldn't, because Canada simply isn't shipping to my country anymore because of the damn virus circus.

So... I opened a post to buy an adapter here on GBAtemp, to buy from someone from the USA, because the USA "is" shipping to my country Chile (only Canada isn't). But no one cared for my desperate struggle.



So now I will build an adapter myself, and I found a German guy who built his own using an Arduino Mini board, Atmel128p to be more precise.

BUT, you have to flash this chip, and I have no idea of what to use to do this! So... I thought of my brother's flashing tool called the Top3000, where I have flashed Snes games (I actually built my own Star Fox 2 if anyone is interested).

Could I flash the Arduino Mini using such a tool? Please guys I need someone to lead me in the right direction, thank you all! I will do this though, I will achieve it!

Thank you guys!
 

nashismo

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2013
Messages
520
Trophies
1
Age
43
Location
Home sweet Home (Mi casita)
XP
1,269
Country
Chile
Usually I just use arduino IDE:
https://www.arduino.cc/en/main/software

Otherwise the only other way I know of to flash is via an ISP programmer, but I’ve never done this TO an arduino (just using one to flash my 3D printer).

OK but how do I do that hardware wise? I don't see any USB or any conector to connect the Arduino to? This is the one I will be getting for the mod:
Hf391a6a1c30b443387b49dd25744b81fp.jpg
 

tech3475

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Messages
3,668
Trophies
2
XP
6,063
Country
Here’s the instructions from arduino:
https://www.arduino.cc/en/Guide/ArduinoMini

edit:

Just realised it's a different micro controller, but the concept would be the same.

edit2:

Do you have a source for your purchase? I just checked and for the 'Mini' it's only showing the Atmega328p and Atmega168 in Arduino IDE.
 
Last edited by tech3475,
  • Like
Reactions: IC_

nashismo

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2013
Messages
520
Trophies
1
Age
43
Location
Home sweet Home (Mi casita)
XP
1,269
Country
Chile
Here’s the instructions from arduino:
https://www.arduino.cc/en/Guide/ArduinoMini

edit:

Just realised it's a different micro controller, but the concept would be the same.

edit2:

Do you have a source for your purchase? I just checked and for the 'Mini' it's only showing the Atmega328p and Atmega168 in Arduino IDE.

All I could find with some degree of coherence is this: "TX/RX. These pins are used both for uploading new sketches to the board and communicating with a computer or other device."

Now the pictures they show, show a USB type of adapter connected to the Arduino Mini using a breadboard, without mentioning any of the soldering details and wich points go to wich points in the two circuits.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Here’s the instructions from arduino:
https://www.arduino.cc/en/Guide/ArduinoMini

edit:

Just realised it's a different micro controller, but the concept would be the same.

edit2:

Do you have a source for your purchase? I just checked and for the 'Mini' it's only showing the Atmega328p and Atmega168 in Arduino IDE.

Yes it can also be the Atmega328p

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

You need a serial to USB converter for it, if you're searching for them in some online store you should find those converters too

Something like this?:
modulo-convertidor-usb-a-ttl-D_NQ_NP_620120-MLC32779880715_112019-F.png
 
Last edited by nashismo,

IC_

GBAtemp's ???
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2017
Messages
1,569
Trophies
1
Location
The Forest
XP
5,470
Country
Antarctica
All I could find with some degree of coherence is this: "TX/RX. These pins are used both for uploading new sketches to the board and communicating with a computer or other device."

Now the pictures they show, show a USB type of adapter connected to the Arduino Mini using a breadboard, without mentioning any of the soldering details and wich points go to wich points in the two circuits.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------



Yes it can also be the Atmega328p

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------



Something like this?: View attachment 214779
Yeah something like this, just make sure it's compatible with the arduino you're getting or get one that's sold together with it
 
  • Like
Reactions: nashismo

nashismo

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2013
Messages
520
Trophies
1
Age
43
Location
Home sweet Home (Mi casita)
XP
1,269
Country
Chile
You need a CH340 or FTDI to serial usb programmer, or an arduino uno. Use arduino software to write and upload code .instructables.com has several good tutorials. This is exactly what you will be doing. https://www.instructables.com/id/Program-Arduino-Mini-05-with-FTDI-Basic/

Thank you very much JRobert! If all goes well, I will be opening a post to the "How to" make the Snes to Gamecube adapter in the future. Thanks everyone for your precious time and knowledge :yay:
 
Last edited by nashismo,
  • Like
Reactions: IC_

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    @Sicklyboy I am wanting to fully change the game and bend it to my will lol. I would like to eventually have the ability to add more characters, enemies, even have a completely different story if i wanted. I already have the ability to change the tilemaps in the US version, so I can basically make my own map and warp to it in game - so I'm pretty far into it!
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    I really would like to make a hack that I would enjoy playing, and maybe other people would too. swapping to the EU version would also mean my US friends could not legally play it
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    I am definitely considering porting over some of the EU features without using the actual ROM itself, tbh that would probably be the best way to go about it... but i'm sad that the voice acting is so.... not good on the US version. May not be a way around that though
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    I appreciate the insight!
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @TwoSpikedHands just switch, all the knowledge you learned still applies and most of the code and assets should be the same anyway
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and realistically they wouldn't

    be able to play it legally anyway since they need a ROM and they probably don't have the means to dump it themselves
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    why the shit does the shitbox randomly insert newlines in my messages
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It does that when I edit a post.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It inserts a newline in a random spot.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    never had that i don't think
  • Karma177 @ Karma177:
    do y'all think having an sd card that has a write speed of 700kb/s is a bad idea?
    trying to restore emunand rn but it's taking ages... (also when I finished the first time hekate decided to delete all my fucking files :wacko:)
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Karma177 that sd card is 100% faulty so yes, its a bad idea
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    even the slowest non-sdhc sd cards are a few MB/s
  • Karma177 @ Karma177:
    @The Real Jdbye it hasn't given me any error trying to write things on it so I don't really think it's faulty (pasted 40/50gb+ folders and no write errors)
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    run h2testw on it
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    when SD cards/microSD write speeds drop below a meg a sec, they're usually on the verge of dying
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Samsung SD format can sometimes fix them too
  • Purple_Heart @ Purple_Heart:
    yes looks like an faulty sd
  • Purple_Heart @ Purple_Heart:
    @Psionic Roshambo i may try that with my dead sd cards
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    It's always worth a shot
  • TwoSpikedHands @ TwoSpikedHands:
    @The Real Jdbye, I considered that, but i'll have to wait until i can get the eu version in the mail lol
  • I @ I-need-help-with-wup-wiiu:
    i need help with nusspli failed downloads, can someone respond to my thread? pretty please:wub:
  • Sheeba- @ Sheeba-:
    I can't wait to hack my 11.00 PS4 pro
    Sheeba- @ Sheeba-: I can't wait to hack my 11.00 PS4 pro