Hacking cw cheats reading but crash PSP

Bonovox40

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
So I updated to 6.60 proc2 as recommended, and everything works great.
I'm new to all this but the only homebrew/mod stuff I installed was the CWCHEAT files, and it's in the right location, and it's set for PSP (with the line for PSP go removed)

When I get to a game, I wait till it's at a normal point in the game (non cutscene) and holding select brings up the cheat list for the game and it looks fine.

I've tried turning on ONE cheat, for a few different games, and the screen freezes as soon as I click the activate button, and after about 30-45 seconds, the PSP automatically does a self shutdown.

So what am I doing wrong? Running a somewhat recent cheat file from a few months ago on a PSP 2000 btw.

Thanks!

xist

ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ
Trophies
XP
Country
Odds are that the cheats are bad. I'd suggest getting a db file from a better source.

Bonovox40

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Shoot. Oh well. Strange how the correct game data and cheat list are showing for each game. This is the first time I started using CW CHEAT. Are the databases different for PSP models, or CFW types, or it should be all good2go regardless?

xist

ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ
Trophies
XP
Country
Shoot. Oh well. Strange how the correct game data and cheat list are showing for each game. This is the first time I started using CW CHEAT. Are the databases different for PSP models, or CFW types, or it should be all good2go regardless?

There's no way to tell if cheats are good...them showing up in the list is just due to them being named correctly. A bad cheat causes your PSP to shut down most of the time because the memory keeps working away trying to execute the cheat until there's nothing left.

If you got the database from an ISO site, then perhaps think about searching for your own so you know they're good. Half the time those sites just take content from other places without checking it works.