Can an unpatched hacked switch still be banned?

buwannn

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Philippines
So.. I'm planning to hack my switch. I've been doing some research and I got all the parts. My switch isn't patched and I have all the resources I need. I am however, still worried about my console getting banned, especially since I still use this to play with my family and friends. Can unpatched hacked switches still be detected and banned by Nintendo? And if so, how do I avoid it? This might seem like an incredibly stupid question, but I'm still pretty new to this and I really can't find an answer for this elsewhere.

belliq

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
What I do for myself is I have two SD cards. One for regular Non-CFW use, the other for CFW/EmuMMC use.
This is also what I do, one SD card from before I hacked it that has all of my screenshots and games that I don't use CFW on and one SD card that has CFW, and whenever I'm done what I'm working on (dumping Splat3 data, ACNH hacking etc.) I immediately swap back to my normal one. Pretty much removes the potential of human error which is what most people get banned for.

Imo the easiest way to not get banned is just... don't use RAM cheats in competitive games (Splat3, MK8DX, Smash, Mario Party, Pokemon battles), don't pirate, and don't use emuNAND. Things like model swapping and save dumping are safe* to do in sysNAND even online, and because Ryujinx can play nearly everything at this point often with better performance than the Switch unless your PC is a clunker there's no reason to take the ban risk by playing pirated games on Switch hardware.

* "safe" meaning that there's no record of anyone being banned for that action, rules could change at any time but there's years of precedent of it being fine

Reactions: jeffyTheHomebrewer

mikefor20

Trophies
XP
Country
United States