OP
Trophies
Website
www.deltabeard.com
XP
Country
Hi dudes,
I have some questions about btrfs.
1) Lets say i did a basic command-line install of ubuntu on a BTRFS drive, how would i be able to enable compression on it?
2) If i enable compression, would it compress the files allready copied in the installation?
3) By enabling compression it would make loading off a usb much faster, but what about the "ssd" command?
4) If i enable "nobarrier" , to make the performance faster, is it even worth it?

I got some info here: BTRFS Commands
and here: BTRFS wiki

Thanks dudes!

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
I am not overly familiar with this file system (indeed I have not used drive/FS level compression since I was rocking a 486- it was also about this time I started playing with video and things like that anyhow) but giving it a go. I am assuming your data is worth compressing- video and images (be they pictures or isos) are rarely worth it at the drive level although unless you force it to it seems BTRFS will not touch files like those.
Equally I am not quite sure what you expect this file system to do (or indeed what your requirements/intentions are).

I assume you mean you want to install your distro onto a BTRFS drive using said drive as a root drive (and for that matter if you kick the usr folders to another drive/partition).

1) First it is important to make sure your kernel and anything like that support the file system (it hit mainline a while back) as a root file system (mounting and using as root may not be that far removed but it is a distinction worth observing in this case).
I know ubuntu is something of an all in distribution (as of maverick meerkat apparently it is available as a choice for a root install) but it is worth making sure it does.
Assuming that is all good you need to mount it with the -o compress added on (give or take the -o if you already have one), some commands