Apple 4.0.2 jail break or downgrade

admotonic

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
New Zealand
I acidently updated to 4.0.2 firmware. Is there any way to downgrade to an earlyier firmware of jailbreak this firmware. I have an Ipod touch 3G and I also did not install the SHSH files with cydia before I updated. Can anybody help?

raulpica

With your drill, thrust to the sky!
Former Staff
Trophies
XP
Country
Italy
If you do not have the SHSH blobs saved, you're stuck at 4.0.2.

I'm relatively new to the iDevices scene, but as far as I know, it should be like that.

I guess you should just wait for a new exploit, comex has already promised one for 4.1.

If I'm wrong, feel free to correct me.

431unknown

VR Gaming Enthusiast
Trophies
Website
gbatemp.net
XP
Country
United States
I think your right raulpica, I'm pretty sure he's SOL until the next jailbreak is released.

Forgot to mention I'm typing this on my jail broken iPad with Internet piggybacked off of my jailbroken iPhone 3GS.

Dialexio

Trophies
Website
twitter.com
XP
Country
United States
Ignore what everyone just said. Apple is still giving out the SHSHs for iOS 4.0 on iPod touch 3G, so you can still downgrade to 4.0 (and maintain the capability to downgrade to 4.0). They'll probably stop when iOS 4.1 is released.

Put your device into DFU Mode. Plug it into your computer, and turn it off. Press and hold the Sleep and Home buttons for ten seconds, then release the Sleep button (keep the Home button down). The iPod's screen should be off and your computer should recognize an "Apple Mobile Device (DFU Mode)."

Open up iTunes and Option-Click (Mac) or Shift-Click (Windows) to restore to iOS 4.0.

Don't forget to save your SHSHs so you can downgrade in the future (instructions available on the jailbreaking guide I'm maintaining *shameless plug*), and good luck!

admotonic

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
New Zealand
Dialexio said: