3DS Touchscreen Unresponsive

Jesus Sarmiento

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Let me start by saying that this is a 3DS XL which i have not turned on for about 3 at least maybe 4 years. Reason being that the battery was just failing me and it would turn off even after a full charge. This 3DS has been hacked/modded/jailbroken, however you wanna call it, by myself back in maybe 2017 or 2016. It’s Luma but i don’t recall which one. The system firmware is 11.6.0-39U for reference i guess. Anyways with the coming end to 3DS eshop in march i thought it best to go back thru the old thing and see what if i might put everything i had on it onto a “New 3D XL” or 2DS XL, but then i find that i dont have the old sd card i used to use. I do have a spare one but it’s brand new so i’ve never used it before. Anyways let me get back to the point. This 3DS’s touchscreen doesn’t properly respond to touchscreen presses. What i mean is that if i press the bottom of the touchscreen, or anyway actually, it registers as if the top of the touchscreen is being pressed. I tried going into system settings to see if i ciuld recalibrate it but i cannot navigate it with the dpad, control stick, or face buttons. Only the touchscreen and even then the only thing it does is enter the Nintendo Network ID Settings even though i’m pressing Other Settings. Any help or advice would be appreciated.

IC_

GBAtemp's ???
Trophies
XP
Country
Antarctica
Hold the buttons L + R + X while powering on the system, it will take you directly to the touch screen calibration menu instead of the HOME menu. Try again if it doesn't work the first time, you have to hold the buttons before you press the power button and the entire time until you see the calibration screen.

If you're unable to finish the calibration, try giving a good clean to the touch screen. Remove any dust and unwanted substances stuck in the corners and sides of the touch screen. Peel off any old screen protectors.