"You don't need to remove A9LH" The guide to proper troubleshooting

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by Crystal the Glaceon, Jan 10, 2017.

  1. Olmectron

    Member Olmectron GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    1,735
    Location:
    Material
    Country:
    Mexico
    It's a lot bothersome to check the integrity of the cards, specially when they are higher than 64GB.

    However, I think it's better to wait an integrity check than bricking your USD$200 (or USD$350 around here) entertainment device.

    I have done the integrity checks with several of the recommended apps to one card, and it's the one I use for every downgrade/CTR Transfer I've done. At least 10 consoles A9LH'd for friends and family without a single issue (5 of them using the OTPLess method after the 9.2 downgrade before fasthax of course).

    Good for this troubleshooting guide, sad that people who need it will simply "skip" it too.
     


  2. Nikki_swap

    Member Nikki_swap Cheers loves

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    307
    Country:
    United States
    You should put "i want to access the eshop! Please help me remove al9h" i have seen that more than once in here.
     
  3. cearp

    Member cearp the ticket master

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    7,205
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    strange, the customer service rep from nintendo told me the opposite...
     
  4. Majickhat55

    Member Majickhat55 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1,498
    Country:
    United States
    Rule of thumb: Correlation does not necessarily equal causation or troubleshooting would not exist.
     
    Crystal the Glaceon likes this.
  5. Hyoretsu

    Member Hyoretsu Itosugi Masahiro's Loyal Reader

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,369
    Country:
    Brazil
    I gotta state that I just wanted to be 100% sure of the process, I knew about the risks, yet I still was willing to take them and it was worth a shot. It's not like I haven't done worse in the past. (In case you were talking about me. If not, follow with your life)
     
  6. Crystal the Glaceon
    OP

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Gardevoir™ 169% lewd

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    15,475
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I am not catboy anymore.
    And it's worth trying. I even added it to my signature ^_^ If this something this section needs is a proper guide to troubleshooting. There are too many threads opening up with the same shit and the same answers, getting the same results. It's cluttering the forums.
     
    Last edited by Crystal the Glaceon, Jan 10, 2017
    ItsKipz likes this.
  7. MarioMasta64

    Member MarioMasta64 welcome~

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Messages:
    954
    Country:
    United States
    i always test my cards just in case (but usually you can just tell) just to be sure
     
  8. dkabot

    Member dkabot Better With Others' Systems Than Their Own

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    981
    Country:
    United States
    Oddly enough, both the cards I've ever seen that were uncooperative were the bundled 4GB cards with N3DSes.
    But yeah, when I was paranoid I used FTP to move everything over, copied it back off locally later and checked hashes. It all matched.
     
  9. MarioMasta64

    Member MarioMasta64 welcome~

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Messages:
    954
    Country:
    United States
    yea indeed
     
  10. Crystal the Glaceon
    OP

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Gardevoir™ 169% lewd

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    15,475
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Added the section for the eShop. I won't add the emuNAND part because I can really only find old threads connected to that one. I am trying to keep with the most brought up "issues."
     
  11. Sonic Angel Knight

    Member Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    5,593
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe also suggest moving it to CTRNAND so least they won't have to worry about the sd card not having the file. ^_^
     
  12. Crystal the Glaceon
    OP

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Gardevoir™ 169% lewd

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    15,475
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    That's not really the point of this thread. This thread is basic troubleshooting. Copying Luma to the CTRNAND is an optional method.
     
  13. Sonic Angel Knight

    Member Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    5,593
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I know, but it was just a idea, it would least help If is on the nand, then It wouldn't matter if the SD card has it or not. That or you can just add it as a suggetion to the solution to the method. You explained why it happened which was the point and offered a solution so is good though. :)

    Also it just seem sad this had to be added since the instructions in the guide says to copy the file to NAND anyway, so i mean that they just missed that part only shows how they didn't follow it all the way. :ninja:
     
  14. Crystal the Glaceon
    OP

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Gardevoir™ 169% lewd

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    15,475
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Eh~ I wish I could get that deep. But this thread was made for the same people who think removing A9LH will fix their problems. I am not going to overload them
     
  15. Sonic Angel Knight

    Member Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    5,593
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe add comments for people experiencing errors with installing cia files or something, probably caused by bad SD cards.

    "My sd card isn't being detected.
    "I can't download games from eshop."
    "I can't install cia files even though i have enough space."

    Just some suggestions, probably caused by a not properly formatted sd card with ones over 32GB or bad memory card with broken functions.
     
    ItsKipz likes this.
  16. Crystal the Glaceon
    OP

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Gardevoir™ 169% lewd

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    15,475
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Those suggestion are good and I will ponder me some good troubleshooting for them. I do most of my thinking at work now because I have like 8 hours of uninterrupted thought.
     
  17. Crystal the Glaceon
    OP

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Gardevoir™ 169% lewd

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    15,475
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Scrolling through the boards, I've actually seen less threads popping up. I don't know if my thread is really the cause or if the stupid has died down. Still, I really hope this guide is helpful.
    As are there any common topics I've missed? I really want to collect as much information as I can!
     
    daxtsu likes this.
  18. Sonic Angel Knight

    Member Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    5,593
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Did you use my idea yet :)
     
  19. aos10

    Member aos10 NEVER TRUST THE RABBIT, EVER!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,509
    Country:
    Saudi Arabia
    thanks for the guide
    my N3DS already had A9LH old method,and i copied armloaderhax to CTRNAND using FBI and i can start my N3DS without mSD card,so i don't need other tools or steps?
     
    Sonic Angel Knight likes this.
  20. Sonic Angel Knight

    Member Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    5,593
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    If you copy the file to ctrnand, then is good. If everything is working then no need to worry. :)
     

Share This Page