Homebrew Visual Studio req squiggly lines?

T3GZdev

head of T3GZdev
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
1,034
Trophies
1
Website
sites.google.com
XP
434
Country
United States
hi so far iv always used programmers notepad for ds/dsi(libnds) & some 3ds/new3DS(libctru) stuff.
iv been looking into using visual studio 2017 because im using that alot this semester.

i was previously having problems but have since found a fix. the problem i was having is in the spoiler. the fix is below.
i'm having problems? for example starting a 3ds or ds homebrew with visual studio.
im using this link for reference.
https://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/3DS_Homebrew_Development
"scroll down to the Visual Studio part"
i did steps #1 through #7 adding devkitarm & libctru(libnds if im making ds homebrew)

things compile but the red squigglies wont go away.

fR2ZSMAXOh-7S-nbyprTNjoJs_0bw_soX3fBfnDkN9ca3ctM4O2ycEhPelDF7GewxaaFdV_vOElqqdD-XxCulNXISQK8h6nnlL9AyupEWzSkSiJ3q1jS59y5yCf7_eAvYjHl7F2iAgVBAB7kIQBw3K_NLWdi7uBvdN-qXQsH6aulnQqBFO8F8c_17ciXKFIYdyZRlZ9v5cclyP4E3Dwhcd--VU_adqkSGRwMLn98WtRlkMGuPmsks38S9AqoNP4HaXMVh-cq5gHU7FoDUB-KAbZ7W4UkXBFZMDXu-uMjdWxJYJ0y-9QdZwbJVNrAAIKGlf_ovPEaeP_lNJ5cg5z6bkwcMdbnL3-UE6kMVx9afWDJW-fw0x6wLG96Maf0fkHSQc_XJmBDv6BWATnrtLqlLHsBPjZvkZmghcS3oAfNPVeNRPAZHT0h_4Y32rG7GnoRCZeb2KD8Vij9QzUX0EFrxiR5x6N_8XnevyYQFs3tvx_M67-CNFQcRJaXhOacntjBPpolU2BO1bU3H207tQRzd_Z9Zh_i3WWbl9m8bqBpFKdWj4EoeOI4KqAwJLTNWHjyg0Zd3uTN2LcxMDpyk-1hkdEDm2JTNPMwgQ-h6DoSFg=w1752-h960-no



so i iv found a fix for this as of 10/16/17 that works for both DS(libnds) & 3DS(libctru) homebrew.
so following the instructions here(with some edits in): https://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/3DS_Homebrew_Development

1) File > New > Project From Existing Code...
2) choose Visual C++ & click Next.
3) Project file location, navigate to your projects folder. Enter a name for the project & click Next.
4) Use external build system, click Next.
5) Build command line: make
Clean command line: make clean
Output: "name of game".(3dsx if 3ds or .nds if ds)
Click Finish.

6) Right click project (in the solution explorer) > properties...
7) Under NMAKE > preprocessor definitions clear everything, click ok.
go back into NMAKE > add the devkitARM & ctrulib locations to preprocessor definitions (change if needed):

C:\devkitPro\devkitARM\include
C:\devkitPro\libctru\include

Click OK


suddenly it works? :blink:
 
Last edited by T3GZdev,
  • Like
Reactions: CatmanFan

elhobbs

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
1,044
Trophies
1
XP
3,033
Country
United States
for the project properties
VC++ Directories: clear everything (including the inherit from parent checkbox) except Executable Directories.
NMake->Preprocessor Definitions: ARM11;__STDC__;_3DS
NMake->Include Search Path: add the directories for devkitarm, libctru, etc.
this is what I use (probably needs to be updated for newer devkitpro releases, but you should get the idea)

$(ProjectDir)include;C:\devkitPro\devkitARM\arm-none-eabi\include;C:\devkitPro\devkitARM\lib\gcc\arm-none-eabi\6.3.0\include;C:\devkitPro\devkitARM\arm-none-eabi\include\c++\6.3.0;C:\devkitPro\libctru\include;C:\devkitPro\portlibs\armv6k\include

create a include file that you add before all other includes and add this:
#ifdef _3DS
#undef WIN32
#endif

#ifdef __INTELLISENSE__
#define __attribute__(...)
#endif
 

T3GZdev

head of T3GZdev
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
1,034
Trophies
1
Website
sites.google.com
XP
434
Country
United States
hi sorry for the late reply, i the things from hobbs. but it still shows.
also edited original screenshot from 1st post. was wrong screenshot.
ifyou want i can zip a copy of it
muHStW-7Ly2iosEi6OQibnCi45Rgel3mLBzcdT6FZTfrLi_sqRMW2nSU8XtteJZaqPVTZaW2tSuGb7QG1OQD68DfJ8ciLpFO2WD2OWmvRQvb1TiQJDEAzPCZQV7clF3ZjBnT-fSp1zsK8938NnqBdZU4xJuyFohoOtidi8EoETscRpSIpX-_F_eesBOBdV6HykTbALEbTfzrhhHpzznxRos0-SQ2sGJDTCq02L8TccWulpudNi9I4cCxQsZLNK3EXs34jESjoRtt22_n4wp6xpIvblxANcV-rV2FqfY1Zv-pwDWEAua63GIiGToByhUS6y1IvRGpLzrIjoAh81S19BmHFonmCodlGTwy-oepRJzgR0kNehoejuySAYOvpWHqSBp_VEjn25or3vG99-Psmri6_4vYwvam8eQLPmmC4KUnVTNxU0FU08hq_bGiN6MRjLErBxm0GSe9Q7sqV1KyuIQ5lnfHo6tTAV6xbXgdhiJef1FCtsmGCaStzwoXUjJ5S8YKD4nKP5mP8o1mwtwy8qcPI4Bvkv0j4bjERZLjuDpPpAoznxhbQxrh_ALX3Hu-weltfIaKb6aGxbcfyXuaM9p3sqPR6Or96cQMUOV0cQ=w1912-h841-no

nsCYtiyoE1oa1F8fy3AvQ79UFXFxxiE7E5Sre7kbad-AsHgBKCTTgLaBD7IF2tMO7acxuxBx2L_4-6RrLpV-EESruQkcZV0BWMlnhaEMzfxrQ1oqggss2bkvbnLBMV4-vtM3b6JG6mJ9aZC60oYpBwCJp9gqp-SYApDaKeCPdA9lVFxm2PELokiZfbPUJfdrpLE6vaGSt6bKjHvaxr0CwWy1DQQLQXGWBKxzhH_efj3iiKBz0ZlUGqrd7sF_cueZvu14xvwt7C27KNKBTPWYOfHvkzk7q05bPiuiYCcit4YAYPBzjER20cZbFaS3Q-Vziy0YC22r-2nIr6aynu_9Zh1InNSLAONEwEk8EzqTeS828G_aqDW-OQuIKjws84OuwbhCk1WNXjY6tK3RrRxVQtd4Qfr8ij5Ri5kb2oVxU8HDAXHatx76zbaRl1BmCryHlQvxBOFcbVFOzpi8v4MM6CVbX_uqUu6bkkbcPYayPTRfmgzgU5BGYp04j94I-bKX7W3dtNNNe6A5qHIW9UX9E9H-D-5kGhmyuezFgMGFjH3I1G-_lF5b9qnHcYnvSo5ciFU1AUEmrcKyQX5EczYjAWP6XPlqptcm4YlM4zYEyg=w1912-h841-no
 
Last edited by T3GZdev,

elhobbs

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
1,044
Trophies
1
XP
3,033
Country
United States
hi sorry for the late reply, i the things from hobbs. but it still shows.
also edited original screenshot from 1st post. was wrong screenshot.
ifyou want i can zip a copy of it
muHStW-7Ly2iosEi6OQibnCi45Rgel3mLBzcdT6FZTfrLi_sqRMW2nSU8XtteJZaqPVTZaW2tSuGb7QG1OQD68DfJ8ciLpFO2WD2OWmvRQvb1TiQJDEAzPCZQV7clF3ZjBnT-fSp1zsK8938NnqBdZU4xJuyFohoOtidi8EoETscRpSIpX-_F_eesBOBdV6HykTbALEbTfzrhhHpzznxRos0-SQ2sGJDTCq02L8TccWulpudNi9I4cCxQsZLNK3EXs34jESjoRtt22_n4wp6xpIvblxANcV-rV2FqfY1Zv-pwDWEAua63GIiGToByhUS6y1IvRGpLzrIjoAh81S19BmHFonmCodlGTwy-oepRJzgR0kNehoejuySAYOvpWHqSBp_VEjn25or3vG99-Psmri6_4vYwvam8eQLPmmC4KUnVTNxU0FU08hq_bGiN6MRjLErBxm0GSe9Q7sqV1KyuIQ5lnfHo6tTAV6xbXgdhiJef1FCtsmGCaStzwoXUjJ5S8YKD4nKP5mP8o1mwtwy8qcPI4Bvkv0j4bjERZLjuDpPpAoznxhbQxrh_ALX3Hu-weltfIaKb6aGxbcfyXuaM9p3sqPR6Or96cQMUOV0cQ=w1912-h841-no

nsCYtiyoE1oa1F8fy3AvQ79UFXFxxiE7E5Sre7kbad-AsHgBKCTTgLaBD7IF2tMO7acxuxBx2L_4-6RrLpV-EESruQkcZV0BWMlnhaEMzfxrQ1oqggss2bkvbnLBMV4-vtM3b6JG6mJ9aZC60oYpBwCJp9gqp-SYApDaKeCPdA9lVFxm2PELokiZfbPUJfdrpLE6vaGSt6bKjHvaxr0CwWy1DQQLQXGWBKxzhH_efj3iiKBz0ZlUGqrd7sF_cueZvu14xvwt7C27KNKBTPWYOfHvkzk7q05bPiuiYCcit4YAYPBzjER20cZbFaS3Q-Vziy0YC22r-2nIr6aynu_9Zh1InNSLAONEwEk8EzqTeS828G_aqDW-OQuIKjws84OuwbhCk1WNXjY6tK3RrRxVQtd4Qfr8ij5Ri5kb2oVxU8HDAXHatx76zbaRl1BmCryHlQvxBOFcbVFOzpi8v4MM6CVbX_uqUu6bkkbcPYayPTRfmgzgU5BGYp04j94I-bKX7W3dtNNNe6A5qHIW9UX9E9H-D-5kGhmyuezFgMGFjH3I1G-_lF5b9qnHcYnvSo5ciFU1AUEmrcKyQX5EczYjAWP6XPlqptcm4YlM4zYEyg=w1912-h841-no
you did not quite follow the directions. here is a sample project - it is configured to use the current versions of devkitarm and libctru - installed to the default location (ie c:\devkitpro). make sure you extract the zip contents to an empty folder (make sure there are no spaces anywhere in the folder name or path).
 

Attachments

  • 3ds-template.zip
    5.5 KB · Views: 161

elhobbs

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
1,044
Trophies
1
XP
3,033
Country
United States
sorry for the late reply but i actually found a fix that doesn't require the extra file. :O
i will be updating the original post in a sec.
edited:^
Does the go to definition/right-click functionality work correctly? I tried something similar to this in the past and it would end up using the windows versions of the files.
I want to say the separate file was only needed for .c files - .cpp files were not a problem. I did see a different solution somewhere for .c files that made intellisense parse them like c++ files but I don’t remember where I saw it.
I have not had a chance to try your latest edit, but I will later this evening.
 

T3GZdev

head of T3GZdev
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
1,034
Trophies
1
Website
sites.google.com
XP
434
Country
United States
Does the go to definition/right-click functionality work correctly? I tried something similar to this in the past and it would end up using the windows versions of the files.
I want to say the separate file was only needed for .c files - .cpp files were not a problem. I did see a different solution somewhere for .c files that made intellisense parse them like c++ files but I don’t remember where I saw it.
I have not had a chance to try your latest edit, but I will later this evening.
yes go to appears to work.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight: :ninja: