Hacking Upgradable or not upgradable?

Costello

Headmaster
OP
Administrator
Trophies
XP
Hi everyone,

there are many clones for the PS3 Jailbreaker now and I'd like to know which are updatable and which aren't.
We cannot rely on manufacturers claims. ShopTemp was selling the PS3BREAK from http://www.ps3break.com which claims to be upgradable.
I have a few questions, since I'm not an expert I'm hoping a few of the clever and knowledged guys around here will be able to help
smile.gif

1. How to make sure that a PS jailbreak is upgradable or not?
I heard something about ATMEL chips and PIC chips. Who can provide more information?

2. Which PS jailbreaks are upgradable and which aren't?
- Original $150 PS Jailbreak ?
- PS3BREAK http://www.ps3break.com ?
- USBBREAK http://www.usbbreak.com ?
- PS3KEY http://www.ps3key.com/en/ ?
- ecliPS3 http://www.eclipsemod.com/ DEFINITELY UPGRADABLE (comes blank, needs to be flashed before use)
- [insert more here] ?

3. Why are upgrades important?
Of course the easiest answer is: to bypass future protections that Sony inserts in its newer PS3 firmware updates.
Though I wonder: hackers have been able to find such an important breach on the PS3 like 5 years after its release. Is it likely that they'll just find another breach, that will be installable on a simple USB drive? I'd say it's unlikely. So I believe that if USB jailbreakers get updates, it likely wont be to bypass new protections from Sony. So are jailbreaker updates THAT important? Perhaps sceners are now going to focus on modifying firmwares such as 3.42 disabling the new protections. Or they'll just modify games that come with updates to remove said updates.
I think the "upgradable firmware" feature of most PS jailbreakers was just meant as a selling point but obviously the manufacturers have no idea if there's ever going to be updates that will allow bypassing future protections.