[Tutorial] Updating from rxTools to Luma3DS

Discussion in '3DS - Tutorials' started by MattKimura, May 23, 2016.

  1. Vinceology

    Vinceology Member

    Newcomer
    22
    0
    Aug 22, 2015
    United States
    Can someone help me update to Luma3ds? Here's a summary of my situation. I have rxTools.

    1. I have 8.0 sysnand
    2. To load my rxTools, I got to a website and then i tap on a button to load rxtools.
     
  2. KunoichiZ

    KunoichiZ GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    8,415
    3,523
    Mar 16, 2012
    United States
    Look in the thread you posted in first please as you've already gotten 2 answers.
     
  3. Vinceology

    Vinceology Member

    Newcomer
    22
    0
    Aug 22, 2015
    United States
    Sorry bro, I was just eager. Lemme read them. THANKS so much!
     
  4. OzzyTygon

    OzzyTygon Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    0
    Dec 14, 2016
    Cote d'Ivoire
    Is this a thing with newer versions? in the original post you said the Version should say "EMU xx.x.x"
    I followed the instructions and it seems to work since I have all my CIAs installed, but when I go to the Settings it displays the version like a regular 3DS instead of EMU like it should
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by OzzyTygon, Dec 14, 2016
  5. OzzyTygon

    OzzyTygon Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    0
    Dec 14, 2016
    Cote d'Ivoire
    nvm, fixed it
     
  6. slasher7amad

    slasher7amad Member

    Newcomer
    18
    0
    May 27, 2016
    I updated my emunand to 11.1 will it still work
     
  7. ZanDan001

    ZanDan001 Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    1
    Dec 24, 2016
    Mexico
    I have the mset exploit on my 4.2 sysnand and after do this just got an autobootable RX tools without UI
    Any suggestion?
     
  8. Hythz

    Hythz Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    0
    Dec 27, 2016
    France
    Hello, i have a problem to go from rxtools to luma3ds. My n3ds is 9.2.0 and my Emunand 11.2.
    I tried to use this part :

    Steps for MSET users:
    1. 1. Put your 3DS SD card into your computer
    2. Open the Luma3DS zip file you downloaded above
    3. Extract the arm9loaderhax.bin file to the root of the SD
    4. In the Luma3DS zip, go into the "MSET" folder and drag and drop the Luma3DS.dat file to the root of your SD, replacing any that exists.
    5. Rename Luma3ds.dat file to launcher.dat
    6. Delete the rxTools folder


    but when i go on settings -> others profile -> ds profile, it's not booting on Luma and i get an error software message. The tutorial is all wrong or what ?
     
  9. snejk

    snejk Member

    Newcomer
    28
    1
    Jan 18, 2016
    Poland
    After installing luma on RX tools (deleted the rx tools folder and placed the launcher.dat file and arm9loaderhax.bin) I keep getting the purple flashing screen showing "Err: Couldn't load arm9payload.. Press any key to continue). Could you please advice? Besides what is the Luma3ds.nds file needed for?
     
  10. Kyzuth

    Kyzuth Member

    Newcomer
    15
    0
    Jan 16, 2017
    United States
    can you help me what you did? i got Luma and my game does not past the N3ds screen when booted. is it my CIA?
     
  11. Geofonos

    Geofonos Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    1
    Jan 15, 2016
    Greece
    Greeting everyone.
    I'm on 9.2 sysNAND and 11.2 emuNAND with rxTools and menuHax. I hadn't really used my 3DS for a while, so I used it last night
    and updated to the latest firmware (was playing Fire Emblem Awakening and needed to update firmware for it to show me DLC maps). I'm not having any problems with my 3DS, its working like a charm and even loads up and plays Animal Crossing New Leaf too without any problems. So far so good.

    I am thinking about updating to Luma3DS since rxTools seem outdated, just for the heck of it. My major "problem" is that I have to hold the Select button every time I turn it on in order to boot into emuNAND. Does Luma3DS have any methods for resolving that? Also, how does someone install/unistall CIA files when using Luma3DS?

    Thanks in advance for any possible answers.
     
  12. gnmmarechal

    gnmmarechal Kirigiri > Naoto

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    gnmmarechal is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    4,775
    2,907
    Jul 13, 2014
    Portugal
    https://gs2012.xyz
    EDIT: I'm blind
     
    Last edited by gnmmarechal, Jan 25, 2017
  13. rody2k6

    rody2k6 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    224
    2
    Dec 30, 2009
    United States
    Guys I've followed this topic and got Luma running perfectly. Thing is I haven't touched my 3ds for the last 2 months. Is Luma still good? Can I safely update my emunand?

    Sent from my ASUS_Z00LD using Tapatalk
     
  14. Nariod

    Nariod Member

    Newcomer
    10
    0
    Nov 20, 2016
    I used the last method to do this, worked like a charm! I actually accidentally updated to 11.3 on my EmuNAND when running RxTools. This was obviously a bad idea, as when the system restarted and I tried to get into EmuNAND I git naught but a flashing black screen on launch. This guide was my saving grace. So if you've encountered the same problem as me just follow the "For those who Don't have menuhax installed" part of the guide.
     
  15. tomazzzi

    tomazzzi GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    259
    37
    Jul 13, 2007
    this is the perfect way to update from rxtools to luma without ah9l

    thx a lot !!!
     
  16. Ominous66521

    Ominous66521 GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,169
    299
    Feb 7, 2016
    United States
    Yeah it should still work for emunand users on 9.2.You could update to a9lh if you want the faster bootrate and NAND protection along with chainloading when your ready to make the jump,or you can wait for sighax which won't require any downgrading.
     
  17. Line

    Line Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    65
    17
    Feb 20, 2017
    Brazil
    Guys, I got my 3DS last month and it had 9.2 sysNAND and 11.2 emuNAND using MenuHax+rxTools (according to my boyfriend).
    I used FreeShop a lot and since the last update came it stopped working, but I heard rxTools died on 11.3?
    If I follow this guide, will it be safe to update emunand to 11.3 and keep on using FreeShop?
     
  18. kaizerz09

    kaizerz09 Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    May 20, 2010
    i follow this guide
    and im on emu11.2 luma(RXtools) sys 9.2
    can i update my 11.2 to 11.3 emu?luma(RXtools)?


    another question
    can i removed all rxtools related files in the sd card after getting luma3ds??
     
    Last edited by kaizerz09, Feb 28, 2017
  19. NarcissusX

    NarcissusX Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    0
    Mar 6, 2017
    France
    I followed this guide and everything worked great.
    Now I got a question, when a future nintendo update comes out, how do I install said update? (with luma)
    PS: I do not have A9LH
     
  20. Dothackjhe

    Dothackjhe GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    155
    15
    Dec 29, 2013
    Philippines
    *See next page*
     
    Last edited by Dothackjhe, Mar 13, 2017