Hacking Emulation Homebrew ROM Hack Trying To Get "DOOM 64: Complete Edition Hack" To Work In Wii U VC Inject.

CourierTX

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
The title states what I'm trying to do. I recently patched a DOOM 64 ROM with the hack that brings the changes (and new levels) from NightDive's 2020 release of the game to N64. The regular version works flawlessly through F-Zero X JP, but when I try the ROM Hacked ROM as well, it works but the frame rates are non-existent (1-5 FPS). I'm a newbie at VC inject and I was wondering if there are any tips? Should I try a new base or is this my best bet? Is there a way to speed up the game internally?

Edit: Downloaded the .ini file from the compatibility list, can the ROM and rendering option help with the slow framerate?

Last edited by CourierTX,
Reactions: Squid00

V10lator

Trophies
XP
Country
Germany
Edit: Downloaded the .ini file from the compatibility list, can the ROM and rendering option help with the slow framerate?
Maybe. Try setting the following values
RamSize: 0x800000
UseTimer: 0
bForce720P: 1
NeedPreParse: 1

Note that the name of the .ini file must match with the name of the rom inside of the inject. So at best connect to the console by FTP, then navigate to storage_usb/usr/title8/[TIDhigh]/[TIDlow]/content/ and have a look, then name the .ini file accordingly and upload it to storage_usb/usr/title8/[TIDhigh]/[TIDlow]/content/config/.

In case that won't help try playing with the values a bit: https://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/WiiU_VC_N64_inject_compatibility_list\Ini_Template also might be a good idea to check the in-game settings.

CourierTX

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Maybe. Try setting the following values
RamSize: 0x800000
UseTimer: 0
bForce720P: 1
NeedPreParse: 1

This is what I have on the .ini file so far:
Code:
;DOOM 64
[RomOption]
RetraceByVsync = 1
RamSize = 0x800000
MemPak = 1
UseTimer = 0

[Input]
StickModify = 1
STICK_CLAMP = 1
VPAD_STICK_CLAMP = 1