Hacking Playing from USB or HD? My take on WiiFlow vs USBLoader GX, and my missing partition tables

Night_Lion

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I am brand new to modding my Wii. My Wii has been shoved in a closet for the last 8 years and I decided to bring it back so i can play games with my daughter.

I am super technical, so that isn't an issue here. I hacked the device, did the usual bootmii and regular mod installs, etc.
For my external device, I first started with a 128gb USB card (amazon has them on sale right now for $19) formatted for Fat32.

Picked up a 64gb USB3 flash drive. Fat32. Split and copied the games with Wii Backup Manager for windows. No issues.

I went with WiiFlow to play off of USB. WiiFlow is sllllllooooooooowwwwwwwwww. I have no idea what it is doing, but it is like Wiiflow has to verify the ENTIRE image before starting the game. I had something small like Mario baseball take 6 minutes to load. That's insane.
Tried a bunch of mods/settings changes, no dice. Uninstalled Wiiflow and went with USBLoader GX.

LOVE GX!!! Games play instantly.

Now that i have that working, i tried installing the forwarder so i could have GX as a channel.

I'm not sure what I did here, but all of a sudden, the files are missing from my USB drive. USBLoader can see that 40gb of space is in use, but no files. Has this ever happened to any of you?

I am going to try formatting the drive for NTFS and try again. But the thing that is occurring to me is most USB keys are not meant for heavy read-write operations. The drives that are designed for heavy read/write that can run Windows are not cheap.. Has anyone had success with using a USB key for their drive storage? Should i just get an external HD?

I'm also trying to figure out if somehow during the forwarder or gx process i may have wiped the data, but i don't see how.

Any feedback or guidance would be much apprecaited.

Thanks!

Reactions: Delirium666

Shadow#1