MediCat DVD: A Multiboot Linux DVD

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by Jayro, Feb 2, 2014.

Feb 2, 2014

MediCat DVD: A Multiboot Linux DVD by Jayro at 8:27 PM (158,080 Views / 68 Likes) 636 replies

  1. Jayro
    OP

    Member Jayro MediCat DVD Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4,060
    Location:
    Octovalley
    Country:
    United States
    Does the machine have at least 3GB of RAM and a 64-bit CPU? It's the minimum requirement.
     


  2. jordy12345

    Newcomer jordy12345 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes it does, it actually has more than enough, windows normally runs just fine.
    See my setup here: http://prntscr.com/dokjxs
     
  3. DarkRioru

    Member DarkRioru YamiRioru

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1,770
    Location:
    In azuril's nightmare
    Country:
    United States
    is mini windows 10 good for making windows 10 portable if I were to make a gpd win replica? or is it just a dumb downed version of windows 10??
     
  4. Jayro
    OP

    Member Jayro MediCat DVD Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4,060
    Location:
    Octovalley
    Country:
    United States
    It's a "LiveCD" version that's bootable from USB, not installable.
     
    DarkRioru likes this.
  5. GuyInDogSuit

    Member GuyInDogSuit I ain't your pa.

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,320
    Location:
    Antelope, CA
    Country:
    United States
    This is amazeballs.

    Thank you, Jayro. What Win10 build does this currently have?
     
  6. Jayro
    OP

    Member Jayro MediCat DVD Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4,060
    Location:
    Octovalley
    Country:
    United States
    10.0.10586, the next build is based on Redstone 1, and releasing in April just after Lubuntu.
     
    GuyInDogSuit likes this.
  7. pstein

    Newcomer pstein Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Germany
    Where can I put additional programs?

    I downloaded and inspected the MediCat ISO archive.
    I found two sub-directories

    /Programs/
    and
    /PortableApps/

    Assume I want to add some more programs (=Not programs from PortableApss but portable anyway): Where (into which directory) should I copy them?

    Is the /Programs/ subfolder reserved for system tools?

    And one more related question:

    Can I add these additional programs with 7zip-Manager or do I have to use UltraISO (in order not to destroy the embedded boot code)?

    Thank you
    Peter
     
    Last edited by pstein, Jan 21, 2017
  8. Jayro
    OP

    Member Jayro MediCat DVD Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4,060
    Location:
    Octovalley
    Country:
    United States
    PortableApps is where you add more portable applications. Programs is just where Windows loads installed software from, externally of the boot.wim. This keeps boot.wim as small as possible, and makes for shorter boot times. The app's .exe can only be 1 folder deep, or PortableApps.exe won't find it, so keep that in mind. Unless the application you have is supported by PortableApps officially, it will show up under the "Other" category. And yes, you can use the UltraISO app included in the PortableApps directory to edit the image. z7ip and other ISO editors ruin the boot code for whatever reason. (Until proven otherwise, I blame SARDU. It's the app I used to generate the initial ISO image, and it's closed-source commercial software now.)

    Personally, I would write the ISO to USB first, and then app additional apps and such if you're just wanting your own version with more apps. It's generally faster and easier. Hope this helps. :yay3ds:
     
    Last edited by Jayro, Jan 21, 2017
    pstein likes this.
  9. pstein

    Newcomer pstein Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Germany
    Ok thank you.

    Just another question:

    When I go to download page: http://gbatemp.net/threads/medicat-dvd-a-multiboot-linux-dvd.361577/

    then there are two type of downloads:

    - "MediCat DVD"

    and

    - "Mini Windows 10 x64"

    Both contain a mini Windows 10 WinPE Boot Environment.

    So whats the difference between them?

    Can I put them both (with Rufus) on an USB flash drive?
     
  10. Jayro
    OP

    Member Jayro MediCat DVD Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4,060
    Location:
    Octovalley
    Country:
    United States
    Yes. The main difference between them is all the extra bootable utilities that come with the full DVD. The other ISO is just Mini Windows 10 and portable apps. So you don't need both, the Full DVD IS both.
     
    Last edited by Jayro, Jan 22, 2017
  11. pstein

    Newcomer pstein Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Germany
    The DVD works. However I am searching for a bit more customization.

    I have multiple additional programs which need (after start) some customization (resize window, adding some columns, setup default folders, adjusting some user options,....).

    Doing this manually every boot is uncomfortable.

    As far as I can see the changes are written to the Registry of running Win10 system ON THE RAMDISK but not onto the original "master" Registy on the USB flash drive.

    Is there a way to tell the current MediCat system "hey Medicat, push the registry changes to the original Registry base as well"?

    If this is not possible: Maybe I could store appropriate *.reg files somehow in the MediCat ISO.
    After booting of the core system MediCat could look for additional user *.reg files in a certain user directory (e.g. \userfiles\*.reg) and apply all the found *.reg files to the registry on the Ramdisk.

    Is this possible somehow...?

    Thank you
    Peter
     
  12. Jayro
    OP

    Member Jayro MediCat DVD Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4,060
    Location:
    Octovalley
    Country:
    United States
    You can! If you have your registry settings ready and the latest version of 7zip, you can open boot.wim with 7zip. Paste the registry data into \Windows\System32\Startup.reg within the boot.wim file, and it loads Startup.reg each time.
     
  13. Hewell

    Newcomer Hewell Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Tonga
    I coudn't put NTFS format with the last Medicat ISO, I had tried with another one from Gandalf's and it works
    Am I doing somthing wrong?
    [​IMG]
     
  14. Jayro
    OP

    Member Jayro MediCat DVD Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4,060
    Location:
    Octovalley
    Country:
    United States
    Try FAT32, it worked for me. Odd that NTFS doesn't work. I'll bring it to the Rufus dev's attention.
     
  15. Hewell

    Newcomer Hewell Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Tonga
    But I had a super fast USB SAVAGE 64GB, I prefer not to sacrifice it. And I had read NFTS could work, if not i'll try another.
    Thank U!
     
    Last edited by Hewell, Jan 26, 2017
    Jayro likes this.
  16. jordy12345

    Newcomer jordy12345 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Great tool! However I am wondering if we are able to add more ISO's up there, I would LOVE to add a windows 10 installation ISO up there as well so I don't need a separate USB stick for my installation files. My USB is 64GB so space is not a problem for me, is this possible? Or do you really need a seperate USB for this to make sure the installation is bootable?
     
  17. Jayro
    OP

    Member Jayro MediCat DVD Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4,060
    Location:
    Octovalley
    Country:
    United States
    You can add more ISOs to the ISO folder (without spaces in the name) and edit the .cfg file to point to the ISO.
     
  18. jordy12345

    Newcomer jordy12345 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks for your reply! I played a bit with it and managed to find out how it worked, however the WIN10 installation disc just won't work, it keeps going to this screen. http://imgur.com/J1VD0kK Do I need to do anything with the ISO to make it work? I copied the exact same code from the recovery disks and just replaced the ISO file name. The ISO file name is Win10_1607_Dutch_x64.iso which should work just fine right? (no spaces etc)

    NVM: my USB was formatted as FAT32 instead of NTFS, this fixed the problem.
     
    Last edited by jordy12345, Jan 28, 2017
    Jayro likes this.
  19. paranoid7

    Newcomer paranoid7 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    India
    Dude hats off! You HAVE literally saved my day thrice! So lucky to have seen your form
    However can you please give me detailed steps on how to add an ISO to medicat? Tried 7 times and failed. Thanks in advance
     
    Jayro likes this.
  20. Jayro
    OP

    Member Jayro MediCat DVD Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4,060
    Location:
    Octovalley
    Country:
    United States
    Are you using it on USB, or booting from the ISO on DVD?
     

Share This Page