Gaming Jesus, do I need all this?!

ShadowSoldier

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
So I'm browsing my uninstall programs in Windows XP. And most of the stuff I know of. Some of it, I recognize, but don't know if I need. Mind helping me?
  • Homepage Protection Service
  • Microsoft .NET Framework 2.0 Service Pack 2
  • Microsoft .NET Framework 3.0 Service Pack 2
  • Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 SP1
  • Microsoft User-Mode Driver Framework Feature Pack 1.0
  • Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 ATL Update kb973923 - x86 8.0.50727.4053
  • Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Redistributable
  • Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Redistributable
  • Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable - x86 9.0.30729.4148
  • MSXML 4.0 SP2 (KB954430)
  • MSXML 4.0 SP2 (KB973688)
I also have a couple svchost.exe's running in processes when I ctrl+delete.

I just want to get rid of stuff that could be slowing down my computer, useless stuff. And I'm not tech savvy enough to know. So.. little help?

pocchama1996

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
pretty much all of that is used to run programs that need certain frameworks and codes to run. more than a few times I've been missing some of those when trying to run a program. Keep them It'll save you some time later if you run into a program that utilizes them.

except for Homepage Protection Service. I have no clue what that is.

ShadowSoldier

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
Neither do I. I recently shut off the guest account and selected the option so the computer boots directly to my profile without doing any of that "Welcome" stuff. But I don't know if that's what it is. I googled it, but came up with nothing.

pocchama1996

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
My guess is that it's something to stop websites from auto changing your browsers homepage.