How to play your GameCube games from SD or USB using DIOS-MIOS (Lite)

Discussion in 'Wii - Tutorials & FAQs' started by FIX94, Jan 14, 2012.

Jan 14, 2012
    • Member

    pyromaniac123 ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็(ಠ益ಠส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็

    Member Since:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Message Count:
    1,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's strange but my 16gb class 4 sandisk card didn't work but a lower capacity card did work.


    • Newcomer

    ♪Sebastian New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Message Count:
    37
    Country:
    Sweden
    EDIT: nvm, solved it.
    • Member

    pBullet Inflation Specialist

    Member Since:
    May 8, 2012
    Message Count:
    144
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    I tried using the GameCube ISO compress utility to make Animal Crossing smaller it's actual size (17MB opposed to 1.4GB), but after running it, it says it was a success, but there is no resulting compressed ISO file, and the ISO I put in is the same size.

    Is there a utility to actually shrink it in terms of file size on the SD card?
    • Global Moderator

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    5,250
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    It never overwrites the existing iso file, it will always create a new folder which contains the compressed game.
    • Member

    pBullet Inflation Specialist

    Member Since:
    May 8, 2012
    Message Count:
    144
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    Seems I figured it out, it's a bit convoluted, this process you have to use GCReEx to extract, then re-pack the game ISO, but it works.
    • Member

    Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Message Count:
    5,181
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    Actually, if the backup loader you're using supports it you should be able to just leave it un-packed (just a bunch of files in a folder) and it will actually run it faster that way.
    • Member

    Styles420 New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Message Count:
    248
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    Country:
    United States
    I'm actually curious about the answer to the quoted question (the reply tells us the answer to "where is BC?" instead of "what is BC?")

    I can't get DML to work, using the most up-to-date setup from ModMii. I can see my GC game (Zelda: Four Swords) in cfg usb loader and DML loader, but the system just resets to the main Wii menu instead of loading the game. I also used ModMii to update every system file, hoping the problem was caused by an outdated file, but no luck - still just rebooting the system. This is the only result I have received, whether trying to load with a disc or without, from real nand or a sneek environment.

    Does anyone have any tips or suggestions about what I must have overlooked?
    • Global Moderator

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    5,250
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    The BC is needed to boot the MIOS (DML) properly, without BC it doesnt work and most likely just returns to system menu because of a unknown channel title then.
    • Member

    Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Message Count:
    5,181
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    to build upon Fix's answer for you're curiosity's sake, BC means something like Backwards Compatibility. It's what tells the processor and GPU to slow down and changes a couple memory addresses so that the Wii basically BECOMES a GameCube. It's what actually loads the MIOS and when something wants to load something in GameCube mode it actually calls BC and not the MIOS directly.

    As far as your problems, just in case you actually updated EVERY system file with ModMii, you may have installed a clean MIOS by mistake which would overwrite DML so maybe you should install DML again. Also, depending on how you did it, last I checked, ModMii didn't actually include the BC as part of the the "all active IOS" option so you still may not have it. Just in case, when you install the WAD for DML, try installing the WAD for BC at the same time. There's no harm in being sure.
    • Newcomer

    Jinjo New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Message Count:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I figured I'd ask here.

    I have no problems at all running DML using Configurable USB Loader. But I was wondering: Is the blue disc tray light filckering randomly (usually at times to match audio) normal while playing a GCN game? And if so, is there a way to stop it? It kinda bothers me, lol.

    Otherwise everything else is great and so is this tut.
    • Global Moderator

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    5,250
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Thats just the activity light, if it annoys you then change it in cfg-loader source and recompile :P I added it long time ago because I like to know when something is working or not :P
    • Member

    pokioh243 New Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Message Count:
    101
    Location:
    Behind the FALCON PAUNCH!
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Whenever I start either A. a DML booter through homebrew or B. a DML booter channel from my wii menu, all it does is display a black screen with a little white text on it and then restart and go back to A. homebrew or B. the wii menu.
    As far as I know i have installed everything, I have also tried installing RVL-BC-v6.wad and trying again, however nothing seems to work. I have an original GC game in my wii as well.

    Anyone know how to fix this?
    • Newcomer

    Jinjo New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Message Count:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, then where in the source is it, and how would I go about doing that?
    • Member

    hdhacker New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Message Count:
    432
    Country:
    United States
    I updated to DIOS MIOS Lite v1.4b. I did this by downloading the WAD and installing it. I didn't bother with RVL-mios-v10.wad since I assume it's no longer needed. (The wad isn't being created anymore).

    I can't get any games to load anymore. I tried USB Loader GX, Configurable USB Loader, and I just tried DML Loader, which only saw Luigi's Mansion.

    Most games get stuck in the loading screen. A few can start, but fail to load saying there was a disc error and to consult the manual.

    I tried installing RVL-mios-v10.wad and then installing diosmioslitesv1.4b.wad. It didn't make a difference.

    EDIT: Just to clarify, it's getting stuck on "Loading main.dol"

    EDIT #2: I reverted to rev 58 and CFG Loader 70r27 and it's working again. Any ideas why the newest ones won't work?
    • Global Moderator

    FIX94 Global Moderator

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Message Count:
    5,250
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    The newer ones dont have the same sd card compatility, sounds like your sd card is not working properly with the new dml then.
    • Member

    hdhacker New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Message Count:
    432
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you. That makes sense. Will you be adding a list of best (benchmarked) SDHC cards to the first post?
    • Newcomer

    geocool New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Message Count:
    26
    Location:
    Greece-Athens
    Country:
    Greece
    I'm testing Metal Gear Solid Twin Snakes With DML 14b.
    I have a 2GB Kingston SD card.
    The sound in cutscenes comes faster than the video.
    Is it DML or maybe Card's class problem ? ( I don't know what class is it but it must be a low one)

    Also In compatibility I saw someone has posted that MGS Twin Snakes works and he swaped to disk 2.
    Does anyone know how did he manage to do that ? ("Swaps disc with r52 perfectly")i
    • Member

    mrpinkeye New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Message Count:
    713
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    with dml booter i get "fatal error apploader size is zero!" when i try paper mario and luigis mansion....
    and neogamma doesnt even list any games, just says "no games found"
    :(
    • Newcomer

    Dartinho New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Message Count:
    24
    Country:
    Brazil
    Can anybody tell me if this is a better method to play GameCube backups than using Swiss to play through Wiikey SD (SD Gecko)?

    There are some games that don't work on Swiss, others that have some annoying bugs (like the map bug on Zelda: Wind Waker) then I was hoping this DML method could be a better option, with more functional games and less bugs.

    I'm asking because I'm kind of a newbie when it comes to Wii hacking and it'll be difficult to me to go back to Swiss if I have to reinstall everything again after I try DML.
    • Member

    Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Message Count:
    5,181
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    I think DML actually has better compatibility now. At least the the Wind Waker bug got fixed. The only thing that comes to mind that Swiss goes better is being able to switch disks on multi-disk games while playing. (Not that I have a whole LOT of experience with Swiss or anything but DML seems to work quite well.)

    There's a compatibility Wiki here http://code.google.com/p/diosmioslite/wiki/GameIssues but it looks like there's only two games that simply don't work at all on the list. There's also a number that have minor audio issues due to audio streaming stuff but I think that's the same case with Swiss.

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page