Tutorial  Updated

How to edit Memory and change in-game values (NSwitchDebugger)

NSwitchDebugger tutorial
original post
The goal is to check addresses until we find the correct one with the value we want to change. we do this by starting game multiple time and with process of deduction we can find it

prerequisites

Download above file
  1. extract SDfiles to your sd card (if you already have latest hekate skip this step)
  2. extract NSwitchDebuger to sd card overwriting files
  3. enter RCM mode and select "NSDebugger"
Once in game note what items you wish to edit (coin count) then hit home
  • Start homebrew menu and run NSwitchDebugger
image.png
  • Now use UP and Down to select the game by title id
    • flip threw until you see Application name where it says Apllication in image
keep in mind a game may have multiple processes running you may have to try bellow a few times until you find results
  • Hit A, should show Success
image.png

The next screen will appear
image.png
  • If you know the address this is where you would enter it...
    • Also if you see below We are our of range
Code:
XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX
XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX
XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX
XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX
XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX
XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX
XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX
XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX
XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX
XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX XX
  • We dont know the address for this guide so we will need to search for our value
    • note: we now need to know how wide are the offset is lets say we are editing coins we note that coin count can go up to 9999999 so we use 8 bytes, lets say we are editing a item that can go up to 9999 so 4 bytes, 99 would be 2. we would change between them by hitting L and R
  • Hit X to search for value so lets say we are editing 1234 coins in SMO
  • use L and R to change byte size 2,4,8) use d-pad LEFT and RIGHT to move between digits and UP and DOWN to match 1234
    • it is easier to hit d-pad left a few places to change numbers to higher values instead of going from 1 to 1234
image.png
  • Now hit A to do the search
you will see below as searches through addresses
image.png
If you only found one or two offsets you do not need to exit and restart
  • After the search hit home
    • we will now spend coins and re-search the stored offsets from prior search
If you find more than one addresses you will want to open game again and spend a couple coins re-search with Y.
  • Restart nswitchdebugger repeat above but hit Y instead of X to repeat search
    • this should narrow search down to a couple or one hit
  • If you still getting many hits open game up again and spend more coins and re-search again with Y
When your search is done and narrowed down it will take you to first found address hit (hit L and R to change addresses if multiple hits). Now we can do our edit
(I was only looking for number 1 for this screenshot to write this guide, assume I spent 1233 coins)
image.png
  • The following is now where we do our value changing
    • note: write down the address listed as you will use it in future to do this mod without doing the whole searching method
  • We will now press A to change 4D2 to 5F5E0FF (again for guide i did 1 to 2)
we will now see bellow
image.png
  • press up or down to change number left or right to change column
    • note: we can also change byte size here but keep in mind this could break game if writing back a too large value
image.png
rinse and repeat until you see your coins in-game change, continue the same for other values to get the result's desired

Here is a Video Tutorial



Congratulations you have now patched memory, Enjoy!:grog:
 

Attachments

  • 2018062719292500-DB1426D1DFD034027CECDE9C2DD914B8.jpg
    2018062719292500-DB1426D1DFD034027CECDE9C2DD914B8.jpg
    44.6 KB · Views: 912
  • 2018062719294000-DB1426D1DFD034027CECDE9C2DD914B8.jpg
    2018062719294000-DB1426D1DFD034027CECDE9C2DD914B8.jpg
    49.7 KB · Views: 727
  • 2018062719295000-DB1426D1DFD034027CECDE9C2DD914B8.jpg
    2018062719295000-DB1426D1DFD034027CECDE9C2DD914B8.jpg
    78 KB · Views: 713
  • 1234.jpg
    1234.jpg
    24.7 KB · Views: 709
  • searching.jpg
    searching.jpg
    109.1 KB · Views: 689
  • address_after_found.jpg
    address_after_found.jpg
    102.3 KB · Views: 675
  • changing_value.jpg
    changing_value.jpg
    24.4 KB · Views: 676
  • seccessful_changed.jpg
    seccessful_changed.jpg
    57.4 KB · Views: 731
Last edited by Type_O_Dev,

Bedal

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 28, 2016
Messages
26
Trophies
0
XP
152
Country
Gambia, The
I use ReinNX v1.7 and Hekate v4.2 and NSwitchdebugger v0.5.9.
So when I run NSwitchdebugger in Homebrew Menü it makes all the other apps unusable. It deletes all the images of the apps and if I try to start for the example AppStore, it says I have to push 12 sec the start button. Is there any other memory app as .nro like this https://github.com/jakibaki/sys-netcheat ?
 

aos10

Yuuki chan
Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
4,756
Trophies
2
Age
38
XP
4,031
Country
Saudi Arabia
then, I don't know. I don't use ReiNX
the file i should edit is hekate_ipl.ini?
this is what inside

Code:
[config]
autoboot=0
bootwait=3
customlogo=0
verification=2
{-- NSwitchDebugger --}
[NSDebugger]
kip1=modules/newfirm/*
kip1patch=nosigchk
atmosphere=1
debugmode=1
fullsvcperm=1
[NSDebugger_kip]
kip1=modules/nsdebugger/loader.kip
kip1=modules/nsdebugger/nsdebugger.kip
kip1=modules/newfirm/sm.kip
kip1patch=nosigchk
atmosphere=1
debugmode=1
fullsvcperm=1
[NSDebugger_fs_mitm_kip]
kip1=modules/nsdebugger/loader.kip
kip1=modules/nsdebugger/nsdebugger.kip
kip1=modules/newfirm/sm.kip
kip1=modules/newfirm/fs_mitm.kip
kip1patch=nosigchk
atmosphere=1
debugmode=1
fullsvcperm=1
{ }
[stock_DANGEROUS]
[PreventGCUpdate]
kip1patch=nogc
 

dsrules

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2005
Messages
8,789
Trophies
2
XP
6,357
Country
the file i should edit is hekate_ipl.ini?
this is what inside

Code:
[config]
autoboot=0
bootwait=3
customlogo=0
verification=2
{-- NSwitchDebugger --}
[NSDebugger]
kip1=modules/newfirm/*
kip1patch=nosigchk
atmosphere=1
debugmode=1
fullsvcperm=1
[NSDebugger_kip]
kip1=modules/nsdebugger/loader.kip
kip1=modules/nsdebugger/nsdebugger.kip
kip1=modules/newfirm/sm.kip
kip1patch=nosigchk
atmosphere=1
debugmode=1
fullsvcperm=1
[NSDebugger_fs_mitm_kip]
kip1=modules/nsdebugger/loader.kip
kip1=modules/nsdebugger/nsdebugger.kip
kip1=modules/newfirm/sm.kip
kip1=modules/newfirm/fs_mitm.kip
kip1patch=nosigchk
atmosphere=1
debugmode=1
fullsvcperm=1
{ }
[stock_DANGEROUS]
[PreventGCUpdate]
kip1patch=nogc
yes, that is where you choose which cfw to boot
 

aos10

Yuuki chan
Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
4,756
Trophies
2
Age
38
XP
4,031
Country
Saudi Arabia
hmm, managed to edit the options in bootloader folder, but when launching the game it gives me error.
tried with rajnx with debug mode and managed to edit, however when i enter the room and it autosave, the switch freeze.
 

dsrules

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2005
Messages
8,789
Trophies
2
XP
6,357
Country
hmm, managed to edit the options in bootloader folder, but when launching the game it gives me error.
tried with rajnx with debug mode and managed to edit, however when i enter the room and it autosave, the switch freeze.
for me hekate payload + [NSDebugger] error on boot game, +[NSDebugger_kip] game works fine on NSwitchDebugger 0.58
 

dsrules

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2005
Messages
8,789
Trophies
2
XP
6,357
Country
The messenger always crashes on me on all option, maybe sigpatch?
are you using the newest SDFiles 9.0.4 and hekate 4.2?
here is what mine looks like

{-- NSwitchDebugger --}
[NSDebugger]
kip1=modules/newfirm/loader.kip
kip1=modules/newfirm/sm.kip
kip1=modules/newfirm/fs_mitm.kip
kip1patch=nosigchk
atmosphere=1
debugmode=1
fullsvcperm=1
[NSDebugger_kip]
kip1=modules/nsdebugger/loader.kip
kip1=modules/nsdebugger/nsdebugger.kip
kip1=modules/newfirm/sm.kip
kip1patch=nosigchk
atmosphere=1
debugmode=1
fullsvcperm=1
[NSDebugger_fs_mitm_kip]
kip1=modules/nsdebugger/loader.kip
kip1=modules/nsdebugger/nsdebugger.kip
kip1=modules/newfirm/sm.kip
kip1=modules/newfirm/fs_mitm.kip
atmosphere=1
debugmode=1
fullsvcperm=1
{ }
 

aos10

Yuuki chan
Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
4,756
Trophies
2
Age
38
XP
4,031
Country
Saudi Arabia
are you using the newest SDFiles 9.0.4 and hekate 4.2?
here is what mine looks like

{-- NSwitchDebugger --}
[NSDebugger]
kip1=modules/newfirm/loader.kip
kip1=modules/newfirm/sm.kip
kip1=modules/newfirm/fs_mitm.kip
kip1patch=nosigchk
atmosphere=1
debugmode=1
fullsvcperm=1
[NSDebugger_kip]
kip1=modules/nsdebugger/loader.kip
kip1=modules/nsdebugger/nsdebugger.kip
kip1=modules/newfirm/sm.kip
kip1patch=nosigchk
atmosphere=1
debugmode=1
fullsvcperm=1
[NSDebugger_fs_mitm_kip]
kip1=modules/nsdebugger/loader.kip
kip1=modules/nsdebugger/nsdebugger.kip
kip1=modules/newfirm/sm.kip
kip1=modules/newfirm/fs_mitm.kip
atmosphere=1
debugmode=1
fullsvcperm=1
{ }
yes, newest SDFiles 9.0.4 and hekate 4.2.

i will try this config

edit: i am getting "the software was closed because an error occurred."
maybe the sigpatch path is wrong?

only in the messenger i get that message.
 
Last edited by aos10,

dsrules

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2005
Messages
8,789
Trophies
2
XP
6,357
Country
does this work with SX OS?
no, but SX OS has it's own cheat engine now

yes, newest SDFiles 9.0.4 and hekate 4.2.

i will try this config

edit: i am getting "the software was closed because an error occurred."
maybe the sigpatch path is wrong?

only in the messenger i get that message.
yes, like I said before, you need to use [NSDebugger_kip] for the Messenger
 

carlskie

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 21, 2017
Messages
42
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
224
Country
Philippines
its so hard to use... i thought it would be like using cheat engine. search for values like gold and edit it to 99999
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I think I have a 256GB card in my 3DS lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    It's a New 3DS XL so it's still under warranty... If it ever breaks gonna make Nintendo fix it lol You said it was new.... For eternity!!!
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    But my 3DS is loaded with emulators and 3DS games and DS games and GBA games probably thousands of games in total lol
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Brb going with my dad
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @Psionic Roshambo, are most of those games shovelware?
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Nah gotta buy 3 1tb SD cards for 3ds the entire libraries need archived in my home
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    >buys x3 1TB SD cards
    >stores the entire 3DS library on them
    >installs CFW
    >realised why I wasted loads of money and resources
    +2
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Lol no I clean my sets
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Cause it's in my home ready to go
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Like uremum
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    But 100 games on SNES and Genesis and GBA then TG16 and NES and GB and GBC then all the other random systems and arcade games it all adds up lol
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Virtual Boy alone has probably 5 games!!! Lol
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I won't mention any names in chat but some of us wastes $300 on preloaded hdds :tpi:
    +1
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    @Psionic Roshambo, The PS5 had none.
    +2
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Lol I spent more than that on a stuffed 4TB drive lol
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Honestly I've yet to fill the 1tb internal drive on my ps5
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    @SylverReZ, 1) except final fantasy 16. 2) why would I have a console's whole catalogue if most of the games are either shovelware or terrible games?
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Kind of a waste, but the allure of all those games over 100,000
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Some shovel ware with low ratings you might enjoy more than the ratings would sugest
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Cruisn on the Wii is one of my personal examples of that, it's considered one of the worst games of all time, I loved it and completed it several times.
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    The trick for me was to go into the settings and crank up the Wiimote sensitivity to the max and it gets twitchy but you can win that way lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Lots of other games I enjoyed that reviews would say otherwise lol
  • btei @ btei:
    lethal company servers are down rn
  • btei @ btei:
    my pocket pikachu is going crazy rn
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Pocket Pikachu sounds dirty lol
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Pocket Pikachu sounds dirty lol