Going from kmeaw 3.55 to Rogero 4.30.

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Trickydick, Nov 23, 2012.

Nov 23, 2012
  1. Trickydick

    Newcomer Trickydick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States


  2. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    953
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    SOURCE
     
  3. Trickydick

    Newcomer Trickydick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Crap im actually on hermes 3.55. Am I screwed?
     
  4. xbones090

    Newcomer xbones090 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Just switch from hermes to kmeaw or ofw and you will be fine.
     
  5. Trickydick

    Newcomer Trickydick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    thanks. ive downgraded to 3.55 OFW. i was looking and it looks as though there is a rogero 4.3 v 2.00 out now. anyone tested it to see if its safe?
     
  6. xbones090

    Newcomer xbones090 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yep i did its safe, i'm on it right now.
     
  7. Trickydick

    Newcomer Trickydick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    So i should be able to go straight from 3.55 OFW to Rogero 4.30 v 2 without dehashing since i was only on hermes 3.55 and never went past that? also do you have the MD5 for the rogero 4.30 2.0? i just don't want to brick my system. TIA
     
  8. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    953
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    116ecceb79b2adde8479fd24951a5a90
    You have to install latest multiman before installing v2 because theres no install package file in this version.
     
  9. Trickydick

    Newcomer Trickydick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    yes i have completed that step. im currently reinstalling the 3.55 ofw and then i guess im going to take the plunge and go rogero 4.3 v2 cfw
     
  10. Trickydick

    Newcomer Trickydick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    i downloaded the file but its named Rogero_CEX_4.30_v2.00.pup instead of ps3updat.pup. im guessing i need to rename it? the md5 checked out ok btw. thanks for all the help.

    *edit* NM i see where you have to change the name but still hoping i can go straight from 3.55OFW to 4.30 v2 CFW
     
  11. Trickydick

    Newcomer Trickydick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Update. im now on rogero 4.30 v2. thanks for all the input guys. =)
     
  12. xbones090

    Newcomer xbones090 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
  13. mechadylan

    Member mechadylan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    774
    Country:
    United States
    I too am looking to go from kmeaw 3.55 to Rogero 4.30 and this thread has been very insightful. My PS3 shipped with 3.40 and I upgraded to 3.41 so as to use my TI-84 to jailbreak. I eventually upgraded to OFW 3.55 and subsequently installed CFW kmeaw 3.55 and have been here ever since. Is dehashing necessary for my situation?

    When I first read this thread, the QA flagging step seemed almost "optional" as there is no need to migrate from CFW 4.30 back to OFW 3.55. I have now come to understand that in order to move from Rogero 4.30 rev.1 to rev.2, etc., one must first downgrade back to OFW 3.55 first which is easier with a QA flagged PS3.

    I'm not looking to hijack this thread; I honestly feel that there are many of us sitting on kmeaw 3.55 right now waiting for some direction and/or tut.

    Cheers.
     
  14. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    12,628
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    I'm even still sitting on ofw 3.41 with hermes v4 dongle.
    I may have to update soon too, I plan to buy ni no kuni and I may require new version of multiMAN (patching the boot.bin need a special fw version?) and go to 4.30 (for convenience, no need to wait for a patch and play the game from disc).

    I have to say that even if I followed PS3 scene a little, I'm still afraid of doing changes and updates.

    What I understood:
    Dehashing is only a step to "reset" the downgrade information.
    I'm on ofw 3.41 and didn't came from a downgrade so I don't need to dehash.
    But installing QA flag is needed for easy downgrade once I've updated, to do that I fisrt need to install Rogero (kmeaw too?) 3.55cfw and rebug QA toggle.
    Am I right?

    The QA doesn't prevent any features to work? no games are checking for its presence?
     
  15. mechadylan

    Member mechadylan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    774
    Country:
    United States
    Hi Cyan,

    My current itinerary is such:

    1. Dehash current console
    2. Update multiMan to 4.14
    3. Create NAND/NOR Dump
    4. Install OFW 3.55
    5. Install Other OS++
    6. QA Flag
    7. Turn on QA Flagg
    8. Install CFW (Rogero 4.30 v. 2.03)

    I have skipped step 1 and updated multiMan to 4.14. It's been months since I've updated it and at last attempt received a curious prompt stating that, "Online attempts to update from 4.06 or lower are unavailable as of October 2012" or such. I manually updated to multiMan 4.14 and am currently considering QA flag techniques currently available. I'm leaning towards Other OS++.
     
    Cyan likes this.
  16. Trickydick

    Newcomer Trickydick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    i did not dehash or set the QA flags. it is important you install the latest version of multiman before you upgrade though. good luck.
     
  17. ankc

    Member ankc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    Mauritius
    what the heck is de-hashing?
     
  18. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    12,628
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    It's used to delete/hide the fact that you downgraded.
    Some cfw need the deshashing step before installation. (I'm not sure if it's like the E3 Flasher downgrade, it could brick the console if you install a new cfw after downgrading without doing it).

    I don't know the technical details on what it does.
     
  19. ankc

    Member ankc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Country:
    Mauritius
  20. lenselijer

    Member lenselijer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,491
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Just upgrade directly to rogero 4.30cfw 2.03, dehashing is not needed anymore with this cfw :)
     

Share This Page