Going from kmeaw 3.55 to Rogero 4.30.

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Trickydick, Nov 23, 2012.

Nov 23, 2012
    • Member

    Chaossaturn ローレンス

    Member Since:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Message Count:
    213
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Few quick questions:

    1. If you update to Rogero 4.30/Rogero 4.30 v2, can you go back to 3.55 kneaw? (with out hardware?)
    2. So in Rogero 4.30 v2? you can't install .pkg files? so if you forget/don't install muitman before going to Rogero 4.30 v2, your pretty much stuck with a normal ps3?
    3. I read on another furom that monster hunter 3rd hd does not work on Rogero 4.30/Rogero 4.30 v2 is this true and is there a work around?

    Please answer what you can if you know the answer, thank you.


    • Member

    M[u]ddy New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Message Count:
    469
    Location:
    NRW
    Country:
    Germany
    1. Yes, there is a downgrade pup. You need to "update" with the downgrade pup first and then update to ofw3.55 or cfw3.55 Rogero v3.7. Always use the recovery menu for updating.
    2. Update to cfw4.30 Rogero v2.03. In that cfw the icon to load games can be used as pkg installer, as long as no game is mounted.
    3. No idea.
    chaossaturn likes this.
    • Member

    Chaossaturn ローレンス

    Member Since:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Message Count:
    213
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks muddy, if anyone has an answer to question 3, please post.
    • Global Moderator

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Message Count:
    10,497
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    1. You need the QA Flag to downgrade without hardware
    and the QA flag can only be activated on 3.55 (or less?), as the QA keys are known only on this firmware.
    So, enable the QA before upgrading.

    I don't know about Monster Hunter.
    The compatibility list doesn't have it either. (is it still updated now that there's a 4.x cfw?)
    mechadylan likes this.
    • Member

    Magsor I am watching you

    Member Since:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Message Count:
    953
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    The PSN version of monster hunter works fine and theres no reason the original disk wouldn't. For the backup version you would have to try it yourself.
    • Member

    mechadylan New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Message Count:
    767
    Country:
    United States
    This. I don't believe that upgrading Rogero's CFW 4.30 from revision to revision can be done without downgrading to 3.55 first. If you simply go from kmeaw 3.55 to Rogero 4.30 v.2.03, it's going to be very difficult to update to v 2.04 (or whatever) if you don't have the QA Flag activated. It's also important to note that Rogero isn't the only one with his hat in the CFW ring. If for some reason another CFW catches your eye down the road, it's going to prove just as difficult if you didn't activate the QA flag first.
    • Member

    ankc New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Message Count:
    101
    Country:
    Mauritius
    doesn't installing an OFW wipe all homebrew?

    @Cyan
    If QA Flag can only be activated on 3.55, doesn't updating beyond 3.55 CFW render it useless?
    Last edited by ankc, Dec 27, 2012
    • Global Moderator

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Message Count:
    10,497
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Installing Official Firmware doesn't delete anything you did on your drive while in custom firmware.
    The files/games/saves/trophy/etc. are still intact, but you don't have access to them because it can't launch unsigned eboot (unless you signed them correctly, it's possible with NPDRM)

    When you install a new custom Firmware, all your files can be accessed and used again.


    The QA Flag is not deleted nor rendered useless.
    It's a Debug menu for developers, allowing them (amongst a lot of other features) to test different firmwares quickly, if installing a firmware made the debug menu disappear it would defeat that purpose.
    To remove the QA you need to do something specific, but it shouldn't be needed.

    though, I've read that when QA is enabled the act.dat (for PSN activation) is deleted on every reboot of the console.
    I don't know if it's still a problem, it was posted on a forum in 2011.
    Anyway, if it's still a problem you can backup the act.dat (home/000000xx/exdata/act.dat) into (home/000000xx/exdata/backup/act.dat)
    then launch a homebrew when you want to restore and play a PSN game which needs your activation file.
    • Member

    M[u]ddy New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Message Count:
    469
    Location:
    NRW
    Country:
    Germany
    That shouldn't be a problem. Since 2.00, Rogero has deactivated the checks that would make problems.
    • Member

    ankc New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Message Count:
    101
    Country:
    Mauritius
    @Cyan
    How can you use QA toggle if you're on rogero 3.55+, as you said yourself it works only on 3.55
    • Global Moderator

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Member Since:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Message Count:
    10,497
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    QA adds a debugger menu to XMB.
    You can then use the menu on all firmwares/custom firmwares.

    But to enable this menu, you need to be on 3.55
    If you are already past 3.55, I think you need a hardware flasher to downgrade. (unless the QA key to unlock the secret menu is known on 4.x firmwares)


    I tried to read more information on this QA Flag, but I find it a little hard to understand.
    The Rebug homebrew to enable QA works only on 3.41 and 3.55
    Maybe you can do it on other firmwares if you can install linux.

    But at the bottom of the wiki, it says that 3.6x+ have changed the Authkey for QA flagging.
    I think it concerns both pkg and linux method.




    Edit:
    If you are on Rogero 4.21 CEX v01+, it seems you can downgrade partially to add QA flag (it's a mix of both 4.21 and 3.55, not a real downgrade). once the QA is installed, you can downgrade to the real 3.55
    • Member

    ankc New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Message Count:
    101
    Country:
    Mauritius
    So you need to enable it on 3.55 but it works on all OFW/CFW?

    thanks
    • Member

    M[u]ddy New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Message Count:
    469
    Location:
    NRW
    Country:
    Germany
    This partial downgrade should be the same as the downgrade pup I was talking about earlier.
    • Member

    mechadylan New Member

    Member Since:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Message Count:
    767
    Country:
    United States
    Wouldn't it be wise to enable QA flag just in case the scene moves to a different CFW? Suppose Ermac CFW becomes the "go-to" standard? Or, heaven forbid, Waninkoko jumps back in the CFW scene with his 4.3xx CFW? I haven't come across any tuts that describe going from one CFW 4.xx to a different CFW 4.xx, without downgrading to 3.55 first (which means QA flagging first or hardmodding after; apologies in advance if I'm wrong.)
    • Member

    Hero-Link Hero of Derrr

    Member Since:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Message Count:
    1,146
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    Oh god this is so confusing...

    there are so many tutorials, but i'm still confused with all this QA stuff...

    I'm currently in the Trueblue firmware... I kinda understood what the QA flag is (if i wish to downgrade after the update i can do it as long as the QA flag is activated, correct?)

    But the steps seem to fricking weird... also is Rogero 4.3 the best firmware at the moment? or is it the only one?
    Thanks all

    _________________________________________________________________________

    Update:

    So i did it already.... pretty easy actually. My steps were...

    1º Change to kmeaw CFW and use fix permissions from wanikoko
    2º Install and run Toggle_QA (Must hear the beep from the PS3, or else it wont have turned on)
    3º Install the most recent Multiman (i also installed the option to install PKGs outside Multiman)
    4º Updated to Rogero 4.30 v2.03..

    Nothing else, nothing more. Just had to search a lot to make sure i was doing everything properly.
    Last edited by Hero-Link, Jan 2, 2013

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page