Computer not shutting down

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by Yepi69, Feb 1, 2013.

Feb 1, 2013

Computer not shutting down by Yepi69 at 12:07 AM (459 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. Yepi69

    Member Yepi69 GBATemp Pokemon, EarthBound, Mother3 Proud Fan Boy

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,674
    Location:
    Onett and Tazmily Village
    Country:
    Portugal
    I have Windows XP SP3 and some days ago was shutting off fine by either the computer's power button or the tradicional Shut down from the Start menu.

    However now it doesn't do anything, neither from the power button neither from the shut down button.
    Its like the computer didn't even got the command, the only way I could get it to shut off was to press and hold the power button until it turns off or just end svchost process to force it to shut down, however instead of shutting it reboots back on.

    This is getting really annoying, any tips?
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Does it shut down properly if it's in safe mode?

    Is the power button stuck internally?
     
  3. Maxternal

    Member Maxternal Peanut Gallery Spokesman

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    5,210
    Location:
    Deep in GBAtemp addiction
    Country:
    Costa Rica
    does it shutdown if you type
    shutdown -s
    in "run" on the start menu?
    if not, try it with the -f option and see what happens.

    If either of those work you could always just put a shortcut or a batch file on your desktop so you can have that command readily available.
     
  4. Yepi69

    Member Yepi69 GBATemp Pokemon, EarthBound, Mother3 Proud Fan Boy

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,674
    Location:
    Onett and Tazmily Village
    Country:
    Portugal
    Both don't work, the -s one just closes my applications and appears a message saying its gonna shut down in 30 seconds, after that it doesn't do anything.

    the -f one doesn't do anything also.
     
  5. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,733
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sounds like its having trouble killing one of the background processes.
     
  6. Pingouin7

    Member Pingouin7 Ammako

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4,460
    Location:
    Canada, Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    When in doubt, run scans with Malwarebytes and/or other scanners, maybe there's something messing with your computer.
     
  7. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG]

    Problem solved.
     
    EZ-Megaman and Zetta_x like this.
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States



    </buzzkill>
     
  9. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well to be honest under the circumstances I'd rather that than 200W of power being consumed 24/7.
     
    EZ-Megaman likes this.
  10. Yepi69

    Member Yepi69 GBATemp Pokemon, EarthBound, Mother3 Proud Fan Boy

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,674
    Location:
    Onett and Tazmily Village
    Country:
    Portugal
    That is what I'm trying to avoid, system corruption due to forced shutdown.
    I did a complete scan and it found 33 viruses (including adware, malware, trojans and win32 viruses).

    All viruses were removed and the computer is now virus free, however that didn't fixed the shut down problem.

    Fun fact: The computer DOES shut down normally if in safe mode.

    EDIT: Even funnier fact: Windows XP only closes the web browser if I try to shut down the Windows XP.
     
  11. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Malwarebytes isn't a virus scanner, it's a malware scanner. Do a scan with your anti-virus too.
     
  12. Yepi69

    Member Yepi69 GBATemp Pokemon, EarthBound, Mother3 Proud Fan Boy

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,674
    Location:
    Onett and Tazmily Village
    Country:
    Portugal
    Actually I did the scan with AVG, not malwarebytes.
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    In the start menu go to "run", type "msconfig" with no quotes and hit enter, in the new window go to the "startup" tab and uncheck everything that's there, then OK the changes and restart, then once it's done reloading try to shut down.
     
  14. Yepi69

    Member Yepi69 GBATemp Pokemon, EarthBound, Mother3 Proud Fan Boy

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,674
    Location:
    Onett and Tazmily Village
    Country:
    Portugal
    Problem is it doesn't restart either.
     
  15. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Like, power it off so you can test it.
     
  16. ouch123

    Member ouch123 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    You could also try using End It All to force all non-essential processes to exit. This would probably be a good clue as to whether or not it's a background process causing the issue. Also, if that doesn't work then maybe your kernel has been altered somehow. Though I haven't had to use it myself, I've heard TDSSKiller does a fairly good job with rootkits, so it's something you could consider.
     

Share This Page