BEST HDD for Wii USB-Loader

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by cocoman, Jan 31, 2010.

Jan 31, 2010

BEST HDD for Wii USB-Loader by cocoman at 8:24 PM (5,768 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. cocoman

    Newcomer cocoman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Germany
    Hi guys,
    which HDD would you recommend me for Wii USB Loaders? I actually have a Verbatim Portable 2,5" 320 GB HDD which has some lockup issues in many games (LEGO Batman, New Super Mario Bros. Wii, Animal Crossing, Wario Ware, Rabbids Go Home and so on...). It's definitely the Hard Drive, the games lock up at the same points and don't when using USB flash drives, it could be some spindown issues, I don't know. I tried many different configs and loaders, IOS', FAT32, WBFS... IT IS the HDD. [​IMG]
    So guys, with which HDD is it possible to play for hours and hours and never experience a lockup? Should be 2,5" and around 320GB.
    Thanks in advance.


    PS: I looked at the compatibility page and it doesn't really help me.


    Edit: I've read that the Seagate FreeAgent is good, because you can edit the spindown settings.
     
  2. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,950
    Country:
    United States
    Most HDs usually don't have a problem. I use a Hitachi 500GB an a Macally USB/IEEE1394 enclosure
     
  3. Toader

    Member Toader GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Location:
    Mushroom Kingdom
    Country:
    United States
    I also use a hitachi and it works like a charm
     
  4. Vattu

    Member Vattu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    use the slowest hdd with longest seek-times and shitty catch. oh, and try to find a PATA-to-ESATA-to-USB converter too. [​IMG]
     
  5. mistajase

    Newcomer mistajase Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I just chucked an old 3.5 120GB IDE Maxtor internal drive from my old PC into a cheap HDD enclosure off E-Bay (£9.99 buy-it-now price).

    Works. No problems at all! [​IMG]
     
  6. smf

    Member smf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    738
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Western digital scorpio blue 500gb works fine. I'm got it in a cheap white no name caddy and that works fine too.
    Some problems can be caused by the drive, others by the caddy. I've never bought a bundled drive & caddy at the same time because they are much more expensive here & recently they seem to come with extra software embedded on the drive that you have trouble getting rid of.

    You might want to pick up a cheap caddy to try the drive in.
     
  7. cocoman

    Newcomer cocoman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Germany
    This one sounds really good. Are you really able to play many hours without any lockups? I don't want to buy a new HDD which has issues you know. Shitty Verbatim Portable Drive...
    Any other 'ultimately awesome' HDDs?

    Edit: Come on guys, just post which HDD you're using, it might help others too who google this a.s.o.
     
  8. screamq3

    Member screamq3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Seagate 1TB works flawless [​IMG]
     
  9. pacha69

    Member pacha69 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    173
    Country:
    Belgium
    I'm using a 1 terra lacie hdd, works fine, i had another version of a lacie drive, wich wasn't compatible.
     
  10. Raisouli

    Newcomer Raisouli Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Freiburg
    Country:
    Germany
    I use a Western Digital Portable 320GB, no problems, but in the first Level of Super Mario Galaxy, (if the video sequenze start), my wii crashed (black screen), but after some tries, it works, another games works too, i think, it was the spindown of the HDD.

    The HDD has 2 years warranty and cost 55 € (Amazon Germany)
     
  11. Gobnoblin

    Member Gobnoblin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    Cambodia
    anything from the compatibility list would be great... I use the iomega 500 .... before that I used my xbox hard drive lmao both work great now my xbox hdd is going to be for triiforce and emulators hahahaha
     
  12. FragAguy

    Member FragAguy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Location:
    Behind you.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I have a western digital my passport 320GB and I never got any problems^^
     
  13. Vattu

    Member Vattu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    I use a WD my passport 2.5". very nice enclosure and perfect gaming. a bit slow at booting at wii start, though.
     
  14. richy

    Newcomer richy Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Make this another vote for Western Digital My Passport (320GB). I had a 160GB Essentials before but most of it was still partitioned for my PC stuff so I decided to buy a dedicated drive. Works fine and not had any issues with it. Only thing you might want to do (assuming it's one of the latest versions) is to turn off the auto-backup feature which a lot of people (including myself) find irritating when you plug it into a PC. Very easy to disable and instructions are on WD's website.
     
  15. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,847
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    I have a 1TB WD Essentials and it works good
    So 320GB should work good too [​IMG]
     
  16. metroid4life14

    Member metroid4life14 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    United States
    320gb toshiba works great [​IMG]
     
  17. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    buffalo drivestation has never given me any problems.
     
  18. gotchapt

    Member gotchapt GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    Portugal
    [​IMG]

    fo shizzle
     
  19. cocoman

    Newcomer cocoman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Germany
    thank you guys, as i saw most of you use a 3,5" hdd, so i bought some cheep one from our pc store. it works freakin great!!! thank you so much guys, hope that will help others, too.
     

Share This Page