What are one's options in life after being cancelled?

Deleted member 681657

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
The example in this post is The Completionist but I'm asking about anyone who has been cancelled, not just him. In this post I am making some big assumptions about his future and only time will tell whether they happen. I'm not an expert on American law. Keep the discussion related to the thread title rather than moral judgements about his actions.

So now that some pretty damning allegations are out, The Completionist is being cancelled. He still lives and (as far as I know) currently does not have a criminal record but it looks like he will probably get one and spend some time in jail. His videos will always get less views and he will always have less supporters on Patreon. YouTube may never be a financially viable option for him again.

So what can he do when he's out? It takes 10 years for a criminal conviction to become spent (not show up on future criminal record checks) and even then there are exceptions depending on the job one is applying for and the length of the jail sentence. Even after the conviction becomes spent, the publicity surrounding this case means there will always be fraud allegations showing up when one searches "Jirard Khalil" online. When I think of jobs which don't require a police check and managers are unlikely to conduct their own background check, I think of restaurant jobs and farm work, neither of which are something you want to do for life. Or he could just fly to Sweden or Norway and beg to be locked up in a luxurious jail cell for life.

What options are available to someone who has been cancelled?

JuanMena

90's Kid, Old Skull Gamer & Artist
Trophies
XP
Country
Mexico
Also...
who.gif

Deleted member 681657

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
There's a difference between being "cancelled" on social media and being "found guilty of fraud and sentenced to prison" and I'm not sure which one you are referring to.