[Tutorial] A9LH Users: Recover From Formatted/Deleted SD Card

Discussion in '3DS - Tutorials' started by bahamut920, Oct 6, 2016.

  1. bahamut920
    OP

    bahamut920 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    444
    105
    Jan 23, 2009
    United States
    You can do a System Format in your 3DS options to "start from scratch"; it will erase all software on your 3DS that did not ship with the system, and will unlink any linked NNID. It won't affect system software or firmware version, nor will it affect A9LH.

    In order to get rid of A9LH, you need Decrypt9, and a NAND backup made before you installed A9LH. Just put the Decrypt9 app in the "payloads" directory just like Hourglass9, rename it (I personally use either "X_Decrypt9.bin" or "Y_Decrypt9.bin", I don't remember offhand), and then restore your backup using the same method you would in Hourglass9. There are two options to restore a NAND backup in D9, obviously you don't choose "Restore (keep A9LH)".
     


  2. atin675

    atin675 Member

    Newcomer
    12
    1
    Aug 21, 2014
    United States
    Brooklyn, New York
    This process would work exactly the same if you did this on a formatted cfw 3ds right?
     
  3. bahamut920
    OP

    bahamut920 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    444
    105
    Jan 23, 2009
    United States
    The first part, at the very least, is A9LH-specific and completely unnecessary on a 3DS without A9LH. It's not even necessary with all installations of A9LH. Honestly, I don't know all that much about non-A9LH/Luma setups, aside from the fact that an EmuNAND is required somewhere along the line. I waited for the 3DS to be as "hacked" as the PSP was before really paying attention to the scene, so by the time I was ready to go with mine, the Plailect guide was well-established and I just dove all the way down the rabbit hole in one go.
     
  4. N1N

    N1N Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    98
    47
    Jul 20, 2016
    United States
    Rainbow Cruise
    Help? I'm using a USA N3DS on 11.2.

    http://imgur.com/a/5glTC

    EDIT: Never mind, I've managed to fix most of the problems by myself. I'm more lucky than I realize to have backups of mostly everything, albeit scattered all over my computer
     
    Last edited by N1N, Jan 31, 2017
  5. kiritomens

    kiritomens Newbie

    Newcomer
    3
    0
    Feb 23, 2017
    Netherlands
    i'm just fucking stupid i formatted with my sd not in my 3ds so nothing fucking work hs app FBI does't want to instal anything i can't boot in to HG9 or luma settings or GM9 for some reason so i thout lets just back up my shit and fallow this TT fallowd everything stil does't want to boot into HG9 for some reasom WTF am i supposed to do like shit
     
  6. bahamut920
    OP

    bahamut920 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    444
    105
    Jan 23, 2009
    United States
    Honestly, it sounds like you don't have the Luma files on your SD card, or they're in the wrong place. Did following the tutorial at least get FBI and/or Luma settings (hold Select on boot) working? If they work, check the name on your HG9 bin file. It needs to be "start_HG9.bin", "x_HG9.bin", or "y_HG9.bin".

    If none of that works, try reformatting and following the tutorial again.
     
  7. TheArcaneArtyst

    TheArcaneArtyst Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    0
    Mar 11, 2017
    United States
    When I did Step 16, I got a message:

    "Code / Crypto: CTR-N-HACE / 7x
    slot0x25KeyX not set up
    This won't work on O3DS < 7.x or A9LH"
    Health&Safety Dump: failed!"

    I'm not 100% sure what I should do...

    EDIT: Wait, nvm. This question was asked already
     
    Last edited by TheArcaneArtyst, Mar 11, 2017
  8. cow

    cow Member

    Newcomer
    20
    1
    Nov 10, 2016
    Belgium
    hello guys!

    i have a issue i have done this with my n3ds xl i don't know what to do now?!
    what are my option what kan i do?

    Updating/Formatting a New 3DS via System Settings on 2.1


    Since there's no New console that officially supports versions lower than 4.x, updating via System Setting after the 2.1 downgrade will brick your console for sure. Why this bricks is because you're running a Old3DS-exclusive version, and if you try to update or format the system
     
  9. bahamut920
    OP

    bahamut920 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    444
    105
    Jan 23, 2009
    United States
    So are you saying you're "stuck" on 2.1 because if you do a System Update, you'll brick, or are you saying you've already bricked due to updating while on 2.1 OFW?

    If the former, you should be able to use whatever system downgrader the Plailect guide is using nowadays to install the 9.2 OFW files, which will allow you to update normally. If the latter, try the "hard update" button shortcut. I forget what the exact button combination you need to hold on boot is, but you can shortcut directly to the system update, which may allow you to recover from brick. Otherwise, you might be screwed.
     
  10. JacksonWillis

    JacksonWillis Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    0
    Apr 30, 2017
    Canada
    When Also did Step 16, I got a message:

    "Code / Crypto: CTR-N-HACE / 7x
    slot0x25KeyX not set up
    This won't work on O3DS < 7.x or A9LH"
    Health&Safety Dump: failed!"

    I

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —
     

    Attached Files:

  11. bahamut920
    OP

    bahamut920 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    444
    105
    Jan 23, 2009
    United States
    I should probably add that to the guide when I get time; it seems to be a fairly common issue.
     
  12. SirGetsDeleted

    SirGetsDeleted Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    0
    May 7, 2017
    United States
    Hi, I'm stuck on the third step. I got up to the part where I press the H&S icon w/ the FBI icon, but for some reason it says FBI has encountered a fatal error.
    Failed to set syscore cpu time limit: D900182F. Please send help!! Thanks!
    Edit: I fixed it.
     
    Last edited by SirGetsDeleted, May 7, 2017
  13. diablereine

    diablereine Newbie

    Newcomer
    4
    1
    Jun 16, 2017
    United States
    !
    I have this problem, but i cant even get past step 1... can you pleease please update this tutorial? thank youuu!!!!!!1
     
  14. bahamut920
    OP

    bahamut920 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    444
    105
    Jan 23, 2009
    United States
    It looks like the newest Luma release (8.0 as of the time of this post) is exclusive to boot9strap, which is an alternative to a9lh that I haven't done much research on. Download 7.1 instead, which should still work on a9lh, AFAIK.
     
  15. 8-BitBen

    8-BitBen Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    0
    Jun 24, 2017
    United Kingdom
    Hi I'm having a major problem with my new 3ds model. Recently I sent my 3ds to someone who installed custom firmware on my 3ds to have luma and ntr. I tried to update it but I did it in the wrong order and when it installed it was supposed to reboot but it hasn't turned on again since. Can I fix this. These are the files I currently have and can I get my new 3ds to work again? upload_2017-6-24_14-5-53.png
     

    Attached Files:

  16. bahamut920
    OP

    bahamut920 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    444
    105
    Jan 23, 2009
    United States
    An important question to lead off; when you attempt to turn on your 3DS, does the power indicator LED turn on for a second and then turn off? That's a sign of a problem this tutorial is intended to fix. If the LED doesn't turn on at all, or turns on and stays on while the screen stays off, I can't help you with those problems, as they most likely relate to hardware or actual device firmware problems. Also, you said you had custom firmware installed, but haven't specified the method used. This tutorial is intended for users of a method called Arm9LoaderHax. Luma can also run through the Homebrew Launcher (IIRC) and another method called Boot9Strap. Homebrew Luma likely wouldn't cause your booting problem, due to not actually affecting anything on that level AFAIK, but Boot9Strap could be affecting your ability to boot your 3DS, and I know almost nothing about it.

    I don't see the arm9loaderhax.bin file in the root of your SD Card. It's not necessary in some a9lh installations (especially newer ones AFAIK), but try downloading a Luma build from the link in the OP (7.1 preferably, if that doesn't work try an earlier build), grabbing the file from the archive, and putting it on the root of your SD.
     
  17. 8-BitBen

    8-BitBen Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    0
    Jun 24, 2017
    United Kingdom
    I was able to fix this with downloading an older version of luma 7.1. text came up on the screen again and fixed the problem. the led did turn off after 1 second when it didn't work.
     
  18. FeelinLucky12

    FeelinLucky12 Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    0
    Jul 21, 2017
    United States
    Still having the problem with a9lh probably next I will do the guide that makes it where when I take the Sd card the 3ds can turn on. If you don't know what I'm talking about, I'm talking about the a9lh problem that if you take the sd card out it won't turn because the 3ds needs a9lh on the sd card or it won't turn on. Will people keep saying to fat32 my sd card so the 3ds can read it. They also said the only thing you need to do is put arm9loaderhax.bin on the sd card and it will boot up. Well I accidentally formatted the sd card and didn't back up. Causing the 3ds power light go blue and fades off. They also said to use Luma 7.0.5 or lower which I did it and it still won't turn on. Well I'm screwed for Life. Note: I've tried all what they told me any suggestions


    ive tried to do step one which that was putting luma 7.1 sd card and it did the same thing which when I try to turn it on the blue led light fade away please help
     
  19. bahamut920
    OP

    bahamut920 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    444
    105
    Jan 23, 2009
    United States
    Try placing the "3ds" folder in the 7.0.5 Luma archive on the root of your SD card as well. If that doesn't work, try another SD card, just in case.

    Just making sure, you're absolutely certain that your SD card is formatted to FAT32, correct? The Windows format tool will not format an SD Card more than 32GB in size as FAT32; it defaults to exFAT. If you have an SD card larger than 32GB, you need a different format tool to format it as FAT32. I don't seem to have bookmarked the site I downloaded the tool I use to do so, but try Googling it.
     
  20. FeelinLucky12

    FeelinLucky12 Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    0
    Jul 21, 2017
    United States
    Well I've been using mac. And I'm sure I formatted but I'm going to use the format tool. I think I gotta get another ad card to make it work I'll update you. Also I've tried the 1st method didn't work