Homebrew Lameboy Sound "glitch" reproduction

Anti

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
OK, you know that sound thing that happens when You use speedup in lameboy, then unspeed? It changes super low-pitched sounds into high-pitched sounds. How do I do this in a music editing software? I have goldwave, sony vegas, and can get audacity. I can change the pitch of the entire piece, but not just the low-pitched parts.

Any help would be appreciated. thanks.

Actually i think its the frequency... please help! thanks

RodrigoDavy

Trophies
XP
Country
Brazil
I am no sound expert, but I think this bug is possible because the gameboy has 3 separate monofonic sound channels. If you put many sounds in one or two sound channels you won't be able to alter the pitch of just the lower notes.

If you record the sounds you want to apply this effect separatedely, you can obtain lots of great effects like increasing/decreasing the pitch/tempo, apply reverbaration/echo/modulation effects/distortion. Whereas applying these effects in the music as a hole wouldn't be as good as applying them to only the instruments you mean to.

Fishaman P

Speedrunner
Trophies
Website
twitch.tv
XP
Country
United States
The pitch of the sound automatically changes when the sound changes speed.
The hard thing to do is to prevent the pitch from changing with the speed.

EDIT: I'm an idiot.
Though, if you know anything about programming, this task should be a piece of cake when you have the Audacity source available.

geoflcl

Permanent GBAtemp Newbie
Trophies
Website
loganderb.in
XP
Country
United States
Ah! I don't think you'll be able to reproduce that in a music editing software, I'm afraid! Because of the way the Gameboy processes its sound and music, it can't be manipulated in a sound file.