How to "hack" an AR cheat code (DS)?

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Nazosan, May 12, 2009.

May 12, 2009
    • Newcomer

    Nazosan New Member

    Member Since:
    May 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, so I rolled a character all wrong in The Dark Spire, but absolutely couldn't get it to roll right even after spending probably a good thirty minutes at it. I'm trying to create a certain type, so the stats are important and there's no reasonable way to "buy" enough stats later on. So I decided I'd at least take a look into cheats even as much as I hate cheating. Basically I want to just give this character enough EP to buy stats just high enough to be where I want them and then leave it at that. Unfortunately, it seems to be an all or nothing thing. I thought, no big deal, I'll just use the "max EP" option, update the stats appropriately, then turn it off. Unfortunately, it doesn't go away. The game remembers the amount of EP when saved even with the cheat, so I end up with WAY too much EP. So, my thought is to maybe modify the cheat to set the EP to 0. Unfortunately, it doesn't seem to be working.

    Here is the original cheat:
    0202E130 E584004C
    0202E134 E594104C
    This seems to set the EP to 999,999,999. My guess is that it is going over because the hex value for that would be 3B9A,C9FF. Even assuming different endianness, those numbers aren't in there in that form.

    From what I read on a guide, the syntax for this sort of AR code is:
    This would seem to be consistent with other mentions of the syntax I've found through googling. So, my thought is just to write all zeros to both of those locations like so:
    0202E130 00000000
    0202E134 00000000

    Well, this doesn't work right at all. I also tried putting a 1 at the end in case something has a problem with all zeros, but still no good. In fact, the value once again locks at 999,999,999 with this code! I saved it with a bit less than 999,999,999 EP and if I load the savegame with no cheats enabled, it shows the lower value, but if I use the modified "minimum EP" cheat, it goes back to 999,999,999...

    Does anyone with perhaps a bit more code "hacking" knowledge have any idea what to do here? It doesn't even have to be zero or one or something. Just really low. For example, 100 would do. Heck, 1000 would be ok. I want to keep this character otherwise right with the rest of the party or at least as close as is reasonably possible. (I'm not setting the stats all at max or something, just increasing a couple a few points to be within reason.)
    • Member

    elixirdream New Member

    Member Since:
    May 27, 2008
    Message Count:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    NO! that is an ASM code! changing the value without any knowledge will FREEZE the game or have no effect at all

    Without explaining things in detail, this is the my simple explaination of ASM code and AR code:-
    ASM changes the game behaviour
    AR code changes the surface

    seriously, before you think of changing anything
    go to this thread learn the basics yourself! LEARN THE BASIC HERE
    any question post there and i will answer to your question personally
    • Newcomer

    Nazosan New Member

    Member Since:
    May 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    That would explain a few things. However, I REALLY do not want to have to create a whole new code if I can help it. Someone has already done all of the grunt work and found the applicable address and everything needed. The only thing missing is the correct value. Rather than reinventing the wheel just because I want a smaller one, surely it is possible to reuse the existing design?
    • Member

    elixirdream New Member

    Member Since:
    May 27, 2008
    Message Count:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    When you are talking about ASM
    i would say it is possible as long you know the game mechanics/engine and good knowledge of ASM [IMG]

    anyway, i remember i have an AR code for the MAX EP

    !All Character Stats Related Codes
    • Newcomer

    Nazosan New Member

    Member Since:
    May 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, so that code simply writes a direct value where the other uses more complex means then? I'll give this one a shot.
    • Member

    elixirdream New Member

    Member Since:
    May 27, 2008
    Message Count:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    YES [IMG]
    just make sure you off the ASM code while using this and it should be fine
    you can change to any values as you like but it affects the whole party (4 of them)
    • Newcomer

    Nazosan New Member

    Member Since:
    May 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    So far it's not working. In fact, I tried the original unmodified code and it didn't work either. Basically nothing seems to happen. Is this for the US version of the game? I don't have the European version so the code may differ.

    Unfortunately, the only place I had to get the codes has only a code for max EP on status screen rather than on select so I don't have the US version atm.
    • Member

    elixirdream New Member

    Member Since:
    May 27, 2008
    Message Count:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    this is for the US version
    did you press "SELECT"

    what is the flash card you are using?
    well if thats the case try use the modified code via an emulator
    then convert the save back to suit your flash card

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=154076
    • Newcomer

    Nazosan New Member

    Member Since:
    May 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    • Member

    elixirdream New Member

    Member Since:
    May 27, 2008
    Message Count:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    cheats.gbatemp.net is down
    the latest is 5/5/2009 [IMG]

    for your info, cycloDS cheat engine ain't the best [IMG]

    go to SD card just look for dark spire .sav
    if you are using no$gba put it inside the battery folder
    make sure .nds and .sav has the same name
    after playing it just save as usual
    go to the battery folder retrieve the save and go to this site to convert your save back to cycloDS version -> http://www.shunyweb.info/

    EDIT: i just tested it on r4+yasumenu, it works [IMG] ! where did i press select?
    i press select in the guide itself! where you see the menu for CREATE STATUS PARTY LEARN INFO LEAVE


    These are the codes i got from the 5/5/2009 database
    CODE
    !!!Dark Spire, The (U)
    !!YEAE 73BBDDC0

    !Misc Codes

    ::Max Money
    02202E68 0098967F

    ::EP Max on Stats Menu
    0202E130 E584004C
    0202E134 E594104C

    !Battle Codes

    ::HP Never Decrease
    520DFE3C E8BD80F8
    120CBB5A 0000EA00
    020DFE40 E1A00000
    D0000000 00000000

    ::1 Hit Kill
    520E0174 E1500003
    020E0178 E1A00000
    D0000000 00000000

    ::Infinite Magic
    520D465C E7D20001
    020D4660 E1A00000
    D0000000 00000000

    !Character Creation

    ::Max HP
    520BD20C E3A03001
    020BD210 E59F1004
    020BD21C 0000270F
    020BD224 E1A00001
    D0000000 00000000

    ::Max Stats
    520BFF94 E5922000
    020BFF98 E3A02063
    020C004C E3A02063
    020C0104 E3A02063
    020C01BC E3A02063
    020C0270 E3A02063
    D0000000 00000000

    ::Max Skill Stats
    520BD0D0 908FF106
    020BD130 E3A03063
    020BD138 E3A02063
    120BD0D4 00000014
    E20BD0D8 00000010
    EA000013 EA000012
    EA000011 EA000010
    D0000000 00000000

    :Experience Multiplier

    ::x2
    520C6E34 E59A1C10
    120C6E38 00004080
    D0000000 00000000

    ::x4
    520C6E34 E59A1C10
    120C6E38 00004100
    D0000000 00000000

    ::x8
    520C6E34 E59A1C10
    120C6E38 00004180
    D0000000 00000000

    ::x16
    520C6E34 E59A1C10
    120C6E38 00004200
    D0000000 00000000

    ::x32
    520C6E34 E59A1C10
    120C6E38 00004280
    D0000000 00000000

    ::x64
    520C6E34 E59A1C10
    120C6E38 00004300
    D0000000 00000000

    ::x128
    520C6E34 E59A1C10
    120C6E38 00004380
    D0000000 00000000

    ::x256
    520C6E34 E59A1C10
    120C6E38 00004400
    D0000000 00000000

    !Gallery Codes (Select)
    :::USE EITHER READ OR NOT READ!

    ::Monster Gallery as Not Read
    94000130 FFFB0000
    C0000000 00000008
    022149C0 AAAAAAAA
    DC000000 00000004
    D2000000 00000000
    94000130 FFFB0000
    222149D0 000000AA
    D2000000 00000000

    ::Monster Gallery as Read
    94000130 FFFB0000
    C0000000 00000008
    022149C0 FFFFFFFF
    DC000000 00000004
    D2000000 00000000
    94000130 FFFB0000
    222149D0 000000FF
    D2000000 00000000

    ::Item Gallery as Not Read
    94000130 FFFB0000
    C0000000 0000000A
    022036B8 AAAAAAAA
    DC000000 00000004
    D2000000 00000000

    ::Item Gallery as Read
    94000130 FFFB0000
    C0000000 0000000A
    022036B8 FFFFFFFF
    DC000000 00000004
    D2000000 00000000

    !All Character Stats Related Codes

    ::Max AC v1 (Select)
    :::Credit mrfatso
    94000130 FFFB0000
    C0000000 00000003
    022404B0 63630063
    022404B0 63636363
    DC000000 000000C0
    D2000000 00000000

    ::Max HP (Select)
    94000130 FFFB0000
    C0000000 00000003
    12240482 0000270F
    DC000000 000000C0
    D2000000 00000000
    94000130 FFFB0000
    C0000000 00000003
    12240484 0000270F
    DC000000 000000C0
    D2000000 00000000

    ::Max HP Always On
    C0000000 00000003
    12240482 0000270F
    DC000000 000000C0
    D2000000 00000000
    C0000000 00000003
    12240484 0000270F
    DC000000 000000C0
    D2000000 00000000

    ::Max Stats (Select)
    94000130 FFFB0000
    C0000000 00000003
    022404B0 63630063
    DC000000 000000C0
    D2000000 00000000
    94000130 FFFB0000
    C0000000 00000003
    122404B4 00006363
    DC000000 000000C0
    D2000000 00000000

    ::Max EP (Select)
    94000130 FFFB0000
    C0000000 00000003
    022404AC 3B9AC9FF
    DC000000 000000C0
    D2000000 00000000

    :Backlight Codes

    :[IMG]S Lite Backlight Control
    :::Hold L+R+SELECT then press UP to increase brightness or DOWN to decrease brightness
    94000130 FCFB0000
    023FE074 012FFF11
    E0000000 000000A8
    E28F0001 E12FFF10
    A21AB5F0 88234C24
    80138811 D02A428B
    25803490 F0002000
    1C06F82A F0002004
    2703F826 21404007
    D003420B 420B2180
    E018D00C 4231210C
    2F03D006 1C79D013
    F0002004 E00EF816
    E0094331 438E210C
    2F001C31 1E79D004
    F0002004 E002F80A
    F0002000 BCF0F806
    4718BC08 30800000
    88222100 D1FC422A
    80224A08 88208060
    D1FC4228 80220C12
    88228061 D1FC422A
    21FF8860 47704008
    04000130 80028802
    023FE074 E3520003
    D2000000 00000000
    • Newcomer

    Nazosan New Member

    Member Since:
    May 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    That's one of the many places I pressed select, yes. Still doesn't work in No$GBA or my DS.
    • Member

    elixirdream New Member

    Member Since:
    May 27, 2008
    Message Count:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    arghhhhhhh
    i will do both of us a favour
    SEND ME YOUR SAV! i will take a in depth look
    tell me whats the value you wish for all your characters

    [IMG]

    EDIT: i might come back to you later~@ right now am a little busy
    • Newcomer

    Nazosan New Member

    Member Since:
    May 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I suppose that would be just fine. I don't care much about the value. 0 is fine for this purpose. If you really really wanted it all to be as perfect as possible, the original values are in save slot 1. It's save slot 2 I'm trying to fix (though if you do successfully modify it, please put the new one in save slot 3.)

    Here's my current save: http://www.sendspace.com/file/wrq3w2

    Let me know if you figure out whatever's going on btw. I have to admit it's odd.

    PS. Thanks for all of your help in this btw. I must admit that I try to stay away from AR as much as I can really. In fact, there's only one other game I've ever used AR in...
    • Member

    elixirdream New Member

    Member Since:
    May 27, 2008
    Message Count:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    How about the rest of the character?
    do you want me to reset their EXP to 0?

    EDIT: i will fix it back to the value on your slot1

    http://www.savefile.com/files/2101418

    EDIT2: save file tested on cyclo is working [IMG]

    as per why codes aren't working! i will take a further study and fix it [IMG]
    THANKS alot
    • Newcomer

    Nazosan New Member

    Member Since:
    May 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Looks like that's working.

    BTW, it's not possible that the ROM image being trimmed could be related is it? I don't even have my original backup atm and really don't want to deal with getting the original untrimmed image just to test that. I don't really think that could be it anyway though since I really don't think it should be possible. (Just, it's the only thing I can think of unless this is one of those games that had multiple releases in the same region or something... Otherwise they should be exactly the same.)

    Oh, and for the record, before you wonder if that's the problem, I noticed right away that one 0 was missing from the very end of the originally pasted code (and even if I hadn't I would have noticed when adding it since the CycloDS cheat editor won't accept an incomplete line.) I compared the code you originally pasted and that in the quote and that one zero is the only single difference I could see.
    • Member

    elixirdream New Member

    Member Since:
    May 27, 2008
    Message Count:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Nazosan,
    it is not the problem! i think the game uses pointer code! although this is a little pain in ass to fix but i will still fix it [IMG]

    the problem is i didn't know this until you told me codes not working on no$gba!

    before these codes were added to the database, i had tested it more than 10 times on the following cards ak2i, DSTT and r4!

    seriously, thanks for highlighting this issue to me [IMG]

    EDIT: just tried it on my cycloDS, it is working [IMG]
    • Newcomer

    Nazosan New Member

    Member Since:
    May 12, 2009
    Message Count:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    Np and good luck. Let me know when/if you fix it and I'll test the fix for you if you'd like. In the meantime, thanks for your help. I'm completely set on this game now with the party right where I want it to play the rest of the way through without cheats.
    • Member

    elixirdream New Member

    Member Since:
    May 27, 2008
    Message Count:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I will see whether i can fix it by today, if not would be weekend [IMG]
    like i said it is a little pain in ass [IMG]

    i even get those codes work on my CycloDS but your report is valid for sure
    lol
    • Member

    elixirdream New Member

    Member Since:
    May 27, 2008
    Message Count:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page