Gaming Have a question about translation patches!

ahrimansiah

Digital Demon
OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Iran
Hi,

Well i have never done translate patches, patching before and im trying so hard to patch my Super robot taizen2 and i keep fail, so my question is:
For translation patching do i need a untouched iso?
my iso is a fixed iso which work with all CFW
inside it i have EBOOT.bin EBOOT.old and "UPDATE" folder which also have a eboot.bin in it!
my cfw is 5.50GEN d3 promoteous!
I cant change my CFW (long story) so i cant play untouched iso or other formats that are for higher CFW,

so is there anyway for me to apply patches? :(

EDIT: if you need a untouched iso for translate patching then do u have to patch ur iso again for CFW after u have applied the translate patch?...

CrashmanX

Current project: SD Gundam G Generation Overworld
Trophies
Website
boards.4chan.org
XP
Country
United States
1st, don't talk about downloading ISO's here. It's against the rules.
2nd, yes you will need a CLEAN ISO. Preferably ripped from your own UMD.
3rd, do you know Japanese fluently? If not I suggest you start there.
4th, as far as patching the ISO goes, update your CFW. The newest CFW does not require patches to run ISOs or UMDs.

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Trophies
XP
Country
United Kingdom
Are you trying to hack a ROM yourself or are you trying to use a hacked version from someone else so you can play it?

If it is from someone else then best if you use the original ROM or whatever ROM they suggest in their NFO/readme/release notes- as far as the PSP goes it will probably be the original ISO. Being filesystem based and with very nice tools like UMDGen there are a lot of things that can trouble things here or act in your favour, it will require you to appreciate a fair bit of ROM hacking if we are to discuss them so I will sideline that for now.