Hacking Error when attempting to rebuild DLC as .cia using ctrtool

Foxes

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 30, 2016
Messages
22
Trophies
0
XP
189
Country
United Kingdom
EDIT: Title should say makerom, not ctrtool

I've been attempting to follow this tutorial by @geddanof and this tutorial by @RainThunder in order to rebuild 3DS DLC as a .cia (the DLC for PMD: Gates to Infinity in my case), but I've been having trouble. I dump the DLC as a .cia using GodMode9 and extract it using ctrtool with the command
Code:
ctrtool "GtIDLC.cia" --content=c
which works perfectly fine. But when it comes to rebuilding it, I use the command
Code:
makerom -f cia -rsf rom.rsf -o DLC.cia -ckeyid 0 -major 0 -minor 1 -micro 0 -DSaveSize=0 -dlc -i c.0000.00000000:0x0000:0x00000000 -i c.000a.0000000a:0x000a:0x0000000a -i c.000b.0000000b:0x000b:0x0000000b -i c.000c.0000000c:0x000c:0x0000000c -i c.0001.00000001:0x0001:0x00000001 -i c.0002.00000002:0x0002:0x00000002 -i c.0003.00000003:0x0003:0x00000003 -i c.003a.0000003a:0x003a:0x0000003a -i c.003b.0000003b:0x003b:0x0000003b -i c.003c.0000003c:0x003c:0x0000003c -i c.003d.0000003d:0x003d:0x0000003d -i c.003e.0000003e:0x003e:0x0000003e -i c.0004.00000004:0x0004:0x00000004 -i c.0005.00000005:0x0005:0x00000005 -i c.0006.00000006:0x0006:0x00000006 -i c.0007.00000007:0x0007:0x00000007 -i c.0008.00000008:0x0008:0x00000008 -i c.0009.00000009:0x0009:0x00000009 -i c.0033.00000033:0x0033:0x00000033 -i c.0034.00000034:0x0034:0x00000034 -i c.0035.00000035:0x0035:0x00000035 -i c.0036.00000036:0x0036:0x00000036 -i c.0037.00000037:0x0037:0x00000037 -i c.0038.00000038:0x0038:0x00000038 -i c.0039.00000039:0x0039:0x00000039 -i c.0065.00000065:0x0065:0x00000065
which results in the error
Code:
[CIA ERROR] Content 0 Is Corrupt (res = -11)
[RESULT] Failed to build CIA
Can anyone help me figure out what I'm doing wrong?
 
Last edited by Foxes,

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
23,383
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
14,014
Country
Norway
EDIT: Title should say makerom, not ctrtool

I've been attempting to follow this tutorial by @geddanof and this tutorial by @RainThunder in order to rebuild 3DS DLC as a .cia (the DLC for PMD: Gates to Infinity in my case), but I've been having trouble. I dump the DLC as a .cia using GodMode9 and extract it using ctrtool with the command
Code:
ctrtool "GtIDLC (DLC)-decrypted.cia" --content=c
which works perfectly fine. But when it comes to rebuilding it, I use the command
Code:
makerom -f cia -rsf rom.rsf -o DLC.cia -ckeyid 0 -major 0 -minor 1 -micro 0 -DSaveSize=0 -dlc -i c.0000.00000000:0x0000:0x00000000 -i c.000a.0000000a:0x000a:0x0000000a -i c.000b.0000000b:0x000b:0x0000000b -i c.000c.0000000c:0x000c:0x0000000c -i c.0001.00000001:0x0001:0x00000001 -i c.0002.00000002:0x0002:0x00000002 -i c.0003.00000003:0x0003:0x00000003 -i c.003a.0000003a:0x003a:0x0000003a -i c.003b.0000003b:0x003b:0x0000003b -i c.003c.0000003c:0x003c:0x0000003c -i c.003d.0000003d:0x003d:0x0000003d -i c.003e.0000003e:0x003e:0x0000003e -i c.0004.00000004:0x0004:0x00000004 -i c.0005.00000005:0x0005:0x00000005 -i c.0006.00000006:0x0006:0x00000006 -i c.0007.00000007:0x0007:0x00000007 -i c.0008.00000008:0x0008:0x00000008 -i c.0009.00000009:0x0009:0x00000009 -i c.0033.00000033:0x0033:0x00000033 -i c.0034.00000034:0x0034:0x00000034 -i c.0035.00000035:0x0035:0x00000035 -i c.0036.00000036:0x0036:0x00000036 -i c.0037.00000037:0x0037:0x00000037 -i c.0038.00000038:0x0038:0x00000038 -i c.0039.00000039:0x0039:0x00000039 -i c.0065.00000065:0x0065:0x00000065
which results in the error
Code:
[CIA ERROR] Content 0 Is Corrupt (res = -11)
[RESULT] Failed to build CIA
Can anyone help me figure out what I'm doing wrong?
It's already a cia, why do you need to do this?
There is a better way not using makerom or a rsf file.
 

Foxes

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 30, 2016
Messages
22
Trophies
0
XP
189
Country
United Kingdom
It's already a cia, why do you need to do this?
There is a better way not using makerom or a rsf file.
Because when trying to install it in Citra it gives the error "This file must be decrypted before being used with Citra", but GodMode9's decrypt option does nothing to the file. I decrypted it using 3DS Batch Decryptor, and while that does allow the file to be installed in Citra, it only actually installs around 10MB of the 72MB DLC, and attempting to actually go to any of the DLC dungeons just kicks you out of the menu without loading the dungeon. So, I thought I'd try simply extracting it then rebuilding it to see if that made any difference.
 

Foxes

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 30, 2016
Messages
22
Trophies
0
XP
189
Country
United Kingdom
By looking online I found a download of a .cia for the DLC, but it includes a bunch of garbage data from the unused DLCs. However, this DLC does actually install properly, unlike my dumped DLCs. By extracting it and comparing it to my dumped DLC, I was able to find out which files were the garbage data and delete them, and I tested this by installing the DLC in Citra, going to the installed files and deleting the garbage data, then launching the game, and this works 100% completely flawlessly. But when I try to rebuild this DLC with the garbage data removed usnig the command
Code:
makerom -f cia -rsf rom.rsf -o DLC.cia -ckeyid 0 -major 0 -minor 1 -micro 0 -DSaveSize=0 -dlc -i c.0000.345057da:0x0000:0x00000000 -i c.000a.489a712c:0x000a:0x0000000a -i c.000b.429f4150:0x000b:0x0000000b -i c.000c.20a2030d:0x000c:0x0000000c -i c.0001.01b526b0:0x0001:0x00000001 -i c.0002.36813de7:0x0002:0x00000002 -i c.0003.66574657:0x0003:0x00000003 -i c.003a.604a53de:0x003a:0x0000003a -i c.003b.25db38e8:0x003b:0x0000003b -i c.003c.7402694d:0x003c:0x0000003c -i c.003d.4e6538f3:0x003d:0x0000003d -i c.003e.41a866ed:0x003e:0x0000003e -i c.0004.3983227e:0x0004:0x00000004 -i c.0005.6e4b7235:0x0005:0x00000005 -i c.0006.45e96935:0x0006:0x00000006 -i c.0007.425536a5:0x0007:0x00000007 -i c.0008.033b6e4d:0x0008:0x00000008 -i c.0009.43d9281f:0x0009:0x00000009 -i c.0033.61e81808:0x0033:0x00000033 -i c.0034.1f1b4be1:0x0034:0x00000034 -i c.0035.121c7a2e:0x0035:0x00000035 -i c.0036.7d74188e:0x0036:0x00000036 -i c.0037.6cdf7d3d:0x0037:0x00000037 -i c.0038.45f521b4:0x0038:0x00000038 -i c.0039.17336725:0x0039:0x00000039 -i c.0065.6e4d00c7:0x0065:0x00000065
it still gives the same error as above
Code:
[CIA ERROR] Content 0 Is Corrupt (res = -11)
[RESULT] Failed to build CIA
Installing it in Citra, removing the garbage data and then attempting to rebuild from the .app files using the command
Code:
makerom -f cia -rsf rom.rsf -o DLC.cia -ckeyid 0 -major 0 -minor 1 -micro 0 -DSaveSize=0 -dlc -i 345057da.app:0x0000:0x00000000 -i 489a712c.app:0x000a:0x0000000a -i 429f4150.app:0x000b:0x0000000b -i 20a2030d.app:0x000c:0x0000000c -i 01b526b0.app:0x0001:0x00000001 -i 36813de7.app:0x0002:0x00000002 -i 66574657.app:0x0003:0x00000003 -i 604a53de.app:0x003a:0x0000003a -i 25db38e8.app:0x003b:0x0000003b -i 7402694d.app:0x003c:0x0000003c -i 4e6538f3.app:0x003d:0x0000003d -i 41a866ed.app:0x003e:0x0000003e -i 3983227e.app:0x0004:0x00000004 -i 6e4b7235.app:0x0005:0x00000005 -i 45e96935.app:0x0006:0x00000006 -i 425536a5.app:0x0007:0x00000007 -i 033b6e4d.app:0x0008:0x00000008 -i 43d9281f.app:0x0009:0x00000009 -i 61e81808.app:0x0033:0x00000033 -i 1f1b4be1.app:0x0034:0x00000034 -i 121c7a2e.app:0x0035:0x00000035 -i 7d74188e.app:0x0036:0x00000036 -i 6cdf7d3d.app:0x0037:0x00000037 -i 45f521b4.app:0x0038:0x00000038 -i 17336725.app:0x0039:0x00000039 -i 6e4d00c7.app:0x0065:0x00000065
once again gives the same error
Code:
[CIA ERROR] Content 0 Is Corrupt (res = -11)
[RESULT] Failed to build CIA
I genuinely have no idea how I could possibly proceed from this point, does anyone else have any idea at all as to what might be causing the problem?
 
Last edited by Foxes,

The Real Jdbye

*is birb*
Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2010
Messages
23,383
Trophies
4
Location
Space
XP
14,014
Country
Norway
By looking online I found a download of a .cia for the DLC, but it includes a bunch of garbage data from the unused DLCs. However, this DLC does actually install properly, unlike my dumped DLCs. By extracting it and comparing it to my dumped DLC, I was able to find out which files were the garbage data and delete them, and I tested this by installing the DLC in Citra, going to the installed files and deleting the garbage data, then launching the game, and this works 100% completely flawlessly. But when I try to rebuild this DLC with the garbage data removed usnig the command
Code:
makerom -f cia -rsf rom.rsf -o DLC.cia -ckeyid 0 -major 0 -minor 1 -micro 0 -DSaveSize=0 -dlc -i c.0000.345057da:0x0000:0x00000000 -i c.000a.489a712c:0x000a:0x0000000a -i c.000b.429f4150:0x000b:0x0000000b -i c.000c.20a2030d:0x000c:0x0000000c -i c.0001.01b526b0:0x0001:0x00000001 -i c.0002.36813de7:0x0002:0x00000002 -i c.0003.66574657:0x0003:0x00000003 -i c.003a.604a53de:0x003a:0x0000003a -i c.003b.25db38e8:0x003b:0x0000003b -i c.003c.7402694d:0x003c:0x0000003c -i c.003d.4e6538f3:0x003d:0x0000003d -i c.003e.41a866ed:0x003e:0x0000003e -i c.0004.3983227e:0x0004:0x00000004 -i c.0005.6e4b7235:0x0005:0x00000005 -i c.0006.45e96935:0x0006:0x00000006 -i c.0007.425536a5:0x0007:0x00000007 -i c.0008.033b6e4d:0x0008:0x00000008 -i c.0009.43d9281f:0x0009:0x00000009 -i c.0033.61e81808:0x0033:0x00000033 -i c.0034.1f1b4be1:0x0034:0x00000034 -i c.0035.121c7a2e:0x0035:0x00000035 -i c.0036.7d74188e:0x0036:0x00000036 -i c.0037.6cdf7d3d:0x0037:0x00000037 -i c.0038.45f521b4:0x0038:0x00000038 -i c.0039.17336725:0x0039:0x00000039 -i c.0065.6e4d00c7:0x0065:0x00000065
it still gives the same error as above
Code:
[CIA ERROR] Content 0 Is Corrupt (res = -11)
[RESULT] Failed to build CIA
Installing it in Citra, removing the garbage data and then attempting to rebuild from the .app files using the command
Code:
makerom -f cia -rsf rom.rsf -o DLC.cia -ckeyid 0 -major 0 -minor 1 -micro 0 -DSaveSize=0 -dlc -i 345057da.app:0x0000:0x00000000 -i 489a712c.app:0x000a:0x0000000a -i 429f4150.app:0x000b:0x0000000b -i 20a2030d.app:0x000c:0x0000000c -i 01b526b0.app:0x0001:0x00000001 -i 36813de7.app:0x0002:0x00000002 -i 66574657.app:0x0003:0x00000003 -i 604a53de.app:0x003a:0x0000003a -i 25db38e8.app:0x003b:0x0000003b -i 7402694d.app:0x003c:0x0000003c -i 4e6538f3.app:0x003d:0x0000003d -i 41a866ed.app:0x003e:0x0000003e -i 3983227e.app:0x0004:0x00000004 -i 6e4b7235.app:0x0005:0x00000005 -i 45e96935.app:0x0006:0x00000006 -i 425536a5.app:0x0007:0x00000007 -i 033b6e4d.app:0x0008:0x00000008 -i 43d9281f.app:0x0009:0x00000009 -i 61e81808.app:0x0033:0x00000033 -i 1f1b4be1.app:0x0034:0x00000034 -i 121c7a2e.app:0x0035:0x00000035 -i 7d74188e.app:0x0036:0x00000036 -i 6cdf7d3d.app:0x0037:0x00000037 -i 45f521b4.app:0x0038:0x00000038 -i 17336725.app:0x0039:0x00000039 -i 6e4d00c7.app:0x0065:0x00000065
once again gives the same error
Code:
[CIA ERROR] Content 0 Is Corrupt (res = -11)
[RESULT] Failed to build CIA
I genuinely have no idea how I could possibly proceed from this point, does anyone else have any idea at all as to what might be causing the problem?
You might have an outdated version of makerom. Earlier versions might not support DLC. I remember it being hard to find the latest version, because it was updated unofficially after the original dev left the scene.
 

Foxes

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 30, 2016
Messages
22
Trophies
0
XP
189
Country
United Kingdom
You might have an outdated version of makerom. Earlier versions might not support DLC. I remember it being hard to find the latest version, because it was updated unofficially after the original dev left the scene.
Thanks, but it wasn't that. I did find the solution though (to this part of the problem at least). All I needed to do was just add -ignoresign to the command and after that it worked fine.
 
  • Like
Reactions: The Real Jdbye

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • light27 @ light27:
    call sps
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Hey mine helps me in the shower lol
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    We went to a place in a mall where they let you play with some consoles for like an hour
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    I choose the nintendo switch and I played smash ultimate and Mario wonder
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    It was fun
    +1
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    Also i'm back at my house
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Smash bros sounds like gay incest lol
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    And Mario Wonder sounds like a Mario with old timers disease walking the streets lost.
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Shove a gerbil through a tube
    +2
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Warp pipe Ken lol
    +1
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Ring actually helped and I didn't have to cuss out the guy in arabic
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    They help you delete some incriminating videos?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    No you asked for proof that your wife was finally leaving
    +1
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Nuh I had her chipped, I always know where she is.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I found where it was
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    If I could halucinAte this is what I imagine it would look like?
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Featuring Taylor swift
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    guys, pubg should've never blown up
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    Wut do you mean? Pubg is alright, I play it with a few buddies online.
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    the game itself is ok, but it's influence is the problem
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Call of duty is a good Fortnite skin
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    call of duty and fortnite, ex-fucking-actly
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    without pubg popping off, fortnite wouldn't add battle royale, and call of duty wouldn't go even shittier than it did before because of blackout, warzone and dmz
    BakerMan @ BakerMan: without pubg popping off, fortnite wouldn't add battle royale, and call of duty wouldn't go even...