Hardware Does playing Playstation Games (Or even emulators) damages battery ?

Andorin

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
France
Hi everyone !

I'm very new to the 3DS modding and I was wondering something:
I've read that playing PS1 emulator (retroarch) drained the battery quicker because it needs more CPU to run the games.

Does playing emulators in general damages the battery or even the 3DS itself ?

Thanks !

lone_wolf323

Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
Hi everyone !

I've read that playing PS1 emulator (retroarch) drained the battery quicker because it needs more CPU to run the games.

Thanks !
uhm....no? Its normal usage of the battery, there isnt anything thats doing nothing to hurt the battery in any way.

Andorin

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
France
Heya !

Thanks for your answer. I'm sorry, can't find the thread/website where I saw that, but I clearly saw some people complaining about the lifetime of the battery going down super fast when running RetroArch ReArmed PS1 Emulator.

In my newbie mindest, it immediately affraids me about my hardware and if it will damage it :(.

But anyway, I hope you're right !

Thanks

osaka35

Instructional Designer
Global Moderator
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hi everyone !

Thanks !
Batteries are easily replaced, and cheaply. Takes about 5 minutes. So even if your battery is damaged, it's really easy to fix.

But I'm guessing when people say "hurts the battery", they probably mean "the battery will run out of power more quickly". No actual damage beyond normal use.

Last edited by osaka35,

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
GBAtemp Patron
Trophies
XP
Country
Germany
Most 3DS games are designed to work on the old models (even newer games) and I highly doubt that they bring the much faster processor in the new series near 100% usage most of the time.