Do all emulators suck on xbox 360?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by irondoom, Feb 12, 2014.

Feb 12, 2014
  1. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene Feed Dino to the Sharks

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,574
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Mediocre at best.
    It's doable tho.
     


  2. atkfromabove

    Member atkfromabove GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    The state with lots of wives
    Country:
    United States
    The controller setup on the thing is confusing at first. I had a hard time getting it setup correctly for GBA
     
  3. XC-3730C

    Member XC-3730C GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    213
    Country:
    United States
    IMO, it is worth just getting an original XBOX for emulation. They are cheap and easy to mod.
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  4. tbb043

    Member tbb043 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    815
    Country:
    United States
    It was great, but there are some better options now. I'd even go with a Wii over it, for proper 240p support (if you're on an actual Wii, not Wii U's Wii mode).
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  5. XC-3730C

    Member XC-3730C GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    213
    Country:
    United States
    I agree with the wii and 240p mode, but which emus support that?
     
  6. elmoemo

    Member elmoemo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    543
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If your PC can handle it then emulators on it would be the best option
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  7. Jayro

    Member Jayro MediCat DVD Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3,951
    Location:
    Octovalley
    Country:
    United States
    I have an old xbox as well as a Wii, and the xbox can actually play a few N64 games quite well! Goldeneye and Super Mario 64 are the main two I play, and they run fine. (The sky is black in Goldeneye, which is a common problem for emulators, and the explosions are greyscale, but they don't lag like they did on the actual hardware)

    I got PS2 ISOs working on my non-BC PS3, but I had to convert the ISO into a "PS2 Classic" first, like you would download from the PSN Store. Then they ran just fine.
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  8. SickPuppy

    Member SickPuppy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,712
    Country:
    United States
    That's wierd, I installed a PS2 classics place holder and use MultiMan to boot my PS2 games in iso format from internal hdd, no converting needed.

    As for the xbox 360, I have two of them and found them useless. Perhaps if there was a softmod that wasn't blocked in 2009 then there would have been more homebrew devs in the scene.
     
  9. Jayro

    Member Jayro MediCat DVD Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3,951
    Location:
    Octovalley
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I was using an outdated method, but it worked for me, and I already knew the process. It was good for me to learn, and I love doing nitty-gritty work on my PC, it makes me feel good when I actually accomplish something. :P
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  10. SickPuppy

    Member SickPuppy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,712
    Country:
    United States
    I thought my method was outdated, I tried it two years ago and kind of forgot about it. Do you know how to play psp iso's on a ps3?
     
    Margen67 likes this.
  11. number_47

    Newcomer number_47 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can confirm 100% that emulators really don't suck on the 360.

    I use RetroArch 0.9.8 and will share with you the settings I use:

    double shaders enabled: yes
    Hardware filter 1: point filtering​
    hardware filter 2: linear interpolation​
    scale factor: x2​
    shader 1: HQ2​
    shader 2: scanline​
    gamma correction: on

    Wth those settings enabled it produces an excellent effect. The emulator runs very smoothly and i have not noticed any issues with framerates or gameplay..
    If i did notice any problems i would 100% not use the emulator as im a complete perfectionist :-D

    The only issues i have is the user interface is not entirely user friendly and you have to manually change cores every time you want to run a game on a different platform. Once you get used to it though and know what everything does its a breeze and its pretty simple

    I just wish it would get updated so the interface is better WITHOUT REMOVING SHADERS!! their latest update completely took away the option to use shaders which is completely laughable to be honest..

    More people need to start developing for the 360 homebrew scene as its got serious potential if the programmers weren't lazy
     
    pelago likes this.
  12. XC-3730C

    Member XC-3730C GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    213
    Country:
    United States
    Does Retroarch support scanlines?
     
  13. Tomobobo

    Member Tomobobo Champion.

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    986
    Country:
    United States
    So I just rgh'd a slim, hadden't played with a homebrew 360 since my first jtag RROD like 5 years ago. Back then homebrew was basically non-existent, but now xbins was full of emulators so I figured I'd give some a try. Downloaded and installed a few emulators, manually placed my roms in and... nothing worked. I searched around and found some pre-packed emulators distributed through various sites and torrents. Loaded those up into the xbox and again, nothing worked. XeBoy 360, a GBA emulator pack I found was the only out of NES, SNES, Genesis and GBA emus to show roms, but it displayed them in thier 8 character filenames, so like The Legend Of Zelda - The Minish Cap.gba shows as THELEGE~1.GBA. Fucking who the shit uses 8 character filenames post y2k? After some fiddling with .xml files the Genesis emulator started working, but there's some lame filter applied to the graphics making it look retarded and you can't turn it off. Fiddled with the .xml for the SNES emu, but still can't get that working, I think the file browser doesn't support opening directories..... NES emulator just freezes on launch, there's no option but A to select but there's nothing to select, and no .xml or .ini file to fiddle with. PSX emulator was lagging to shit trying to play Intelligent Qube, like seriously 15 frames per second, the original Xbox had a PSX emu that ran just fine, wtf. The one saving grace was the N64 emulator, which did work well (not xbins version but some mod from some spanish forum), but you have to boot Xell to launch it and that seems dumb af. Also Xell doesn't let you have analog or optical audio alongside an HDMI video connection, so I had no sound.. I think I'm just gonna load up the internall HDD with the original Xbox emulators I used to love.
     

Share This Page