Can't Play US Virtual Console On A Japanese System?

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by skydancer93, Mar 19, 2017.

  1. skydancer93
    OP

    Member skydancer93 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    United States
    My Super Famicom N3DS came today and everything is set up with Luma Region Switcher.

    I downloaded a few US SNES games off of FreeShop and for some reason, even if I change the language and region, they will NOT boot, even if I set it to Japan region and English language. Download a Japanese Super Famicom game and it works like a charm.

    Is there ANY way to get US Virtual Console games working on my Japanese Luma 3DS?
     
  2. proflayton123

    Member proflayton123 just another user

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    5,280
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thats strange, you should be able to :v do you mean you region-changed the 3ds or?
     
  3. skydancer93
    OP

    Member skydancer93 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't change the region. I tried them and they didn't work and crashed after the VC menu opened on the bottom screen. I then tried to change the region of the game with LumaLocaleSwitcher-0.02 as well as the language. Still crashes. I should stress that I installed Smash Bros USA version and installed the 1.1.6 update and DLC and did the same thing. USA region, EN language. That works like a charm.
     
  4. Alex4U

    Member Alex4U 99.9% Trash

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    860
    Location:
    D.F, with Snivy and Braixen <3
    Country:
    Mexico
    Use Game patching in Luma3DS?
     
  5. skydancer93
    OP

    Member skydancer93 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    United States
    Smash is working fine and that's a US game. It's just the Virtual Console games so far
     
  6. pixelmasher

    Member pixelmasher Gaming Gamer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,322
    Location:
    Near N3DS.
    Country:
    Antarctica
  7. v18281

    Newcomer v18281 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    did you try setting the region to usa/eu and language to english?
     
  8. skydancer93
    OP

    Member skydancer93 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    United States
    First thing I did

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Luma 6.6 as I just hacked the unit yesterday. As for Locale Switcher, I'm using 0.02
     
  9. pixelmasher

    Member pixelmasher Gaming Gamer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,322
    Location:
    Near N3DS.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I'm assuming you're running 11.3.0-36J. Try the nightly with the other LumaLocaleSwitcher. If they don't work, I have no idea. Might ask in Luma3DS thread.
     
  10. skydancer93
    OP

    Member skydancer93 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    United States
    The other Switcher?
     
  11. pixelmasher

    Member pixelmasher Gaming Gamer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,322
    Location:
    Near N3DS.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The fork. It has the correct location and format for the locale file. You can also create them manually if you like.
     
  12. skydancer93
    OP

    Member skydancer93 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    United States
    i finally figured it out....I forgot to turn on region emulation in the Luma menu.......
     
  13. Alex4U

    Member Alex4U 99.9% Trash

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    860
    Location:
    D.F, with Snivy and Braixen <3
    Country:
    Mexico
    Same issue with you in New 3DS 11.2
    just use enable game patching in Luma3DS
     

Share This Page