bootmii.. always starts with Wii Startup?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by blueoakleyz, May 19, 2009.

May 19, 2009
    • Member

    blueoakleyz New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Message Count:
    237
    Country:
    United States
    everytime I turn on my Wii now it turns on Bootmii.. which is annoying since I can't even use the wiimote with it.

    Anyway to disable that?
    • Banned

    beegee7730 ITS PAAFEKUTO!

    Member Since:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,694
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Member

    oneleggedjack New Member

    Member Since:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Message Count:
    299
    Country:
    United States
    same problem here, I even tried changing the config file in the Bootmii folder on my SD..... I never knew protection was so irritating... kinda like safe sex
    • Member

    blueoakleyz New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Message Count:
    237
    Country:
    United States
    yes, please fix this!!
    • Member

    nabster92 New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Wait what? Just don't have the sd card in or take the bootmii folder off of it and it wont load at start...

    Edit: I think you may even be able to just rename the bootmii folder to something else, but not sure on that.
    • Member

    mercluke ‮҉

    Member Since:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Message Count:
    3,137
    Location:
    Perth
    Country:
    Australia
    just rename the folder to Boobmii then change it back if you brick
    • Member

    FRanatic New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Message Count:
    277
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I guess the solution lies in the config.ini.
    You should be able to autoboot the wii into bootmii or sysmenu.

    However, it doesn't seem to work as posted above. An other thing is, if the wii will autoboot into the sysmenu, how will you be able to access the bootmii menu when needed ?

    There's no documentation on that particular issue. On the other hand, it's the first beta release and newer version will follow. Those might fix these issues.

    But if anyone has managed to boot into the sysmenu and has a way to still access the bootmii menu on demand, please be kind and share it wiht us !
    • Newcomer

    maako New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Message Count:
    23
    Location:
    Helltown
    Country:
    Sweden
    Boot up without the SD card in..
    • Member

    blueoakleyz New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Message Count:
    237
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks..didn't realize that's how it worked
    • Member

    nabster92 New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Message Count:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States

    With the config.ini you can have it autoboot to the system menu or into the homebrew channel. It's not a direct autoboot though. It will still load up bootmii first, but after 5 seconds of no input from the user it will autoboot whatever you set it to (sysmenu or hbc).

    So all you have to do as mentioned above is rename the bootmii folder and it will go to the system menu with no bootmii menu at all and then just rename it back to bootmii when you need it again.
    • Member

    FRanatic New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Message Count:
    277
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yeah, I figured as much.

    Taking out the card, sucks imho, cause that would mean I have to actually stand up and walk aproxx 3mtrs to the console. Lazy as I am, that is not an option [IMG]

    I could live with the fact that it takes an additional 5secs before it redirects to the sysmenu. But I guess my wife will get confused at the sight of the bootmii menu. Resulting in a panic call to my cell-phone asking what to do... realising that when the connection is established, the wii is 'back to normal'. It's wrong to put a woman through that type of stress.
    I'll just rename the /bootmii to /bootmiinotuntillyouchangemynamebacktobootmii

    Thanks all !!
    • Member

    Mark McDonut New Member

    Member Since:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Message Count:
    450
    Country:
    United States
    damn, I'd tell her to chill the hell out that if something comes up for 5 seconds on the wii just ignore it, it'll boot into the health screen.

    Or just don't keep bootmii on your sd card until you want to use it. OR if you REALLY don't feel like getting up, fire up filezilla, run ftpii, establish a connection and use ftpii to rename the bootmii folder to _bootmii via ftp.
    • Member

    0M39A New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Message Count:
    374
    Country:
    Australia
    exactly what i did (rename that is). simple, and if you ever have a problem, rename back to bootmii
    • Member

    kedest New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Message Count:
    3,041
    Country:
    Netherlands
    what's so difficult about setting it in the options file?
    • Newcomer

    exilizer2k New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Message Count:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    sorry for being a smartass, but I don't get the point why ppl just don't invest 4 bucks for a SD card dedicated for Bootmii and the nand backup only and put this somewhere in a secure place. You could put it back into the wii when it is needed. For Homebrew-Browser and stuff just use another Card... This way you don't have to worry about someone messing around with your sensitive NAND data. Life could be so easy, but people intend to complicate things artificially...

    Just me 2 cents... [IMG]
    • Member

    0M39A New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Message Count:
    374
    Country:
    Australia
    quite simply, because loading bootmii adds a good 8-10 seconds to my boot time, and once in bootmii, another 5 seconds before it loads the system menu (when autoboot is set to system menu).

    when no bootmii folder is found, it boots straight into system menu. easy peasy and totally invisible to the end user. just the way i like it.
    • Member

    joshed New Member

    Member Since:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Message Count:
    174
    Location:
    PHXAZ
    Country:
    United States
    i'm picking up a few more sd cards for exactly this purpose
    • Member

    kedest New Member

    Member Since:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Message Count:
    3,041
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well ok that makes sense. 10 + 5 seconds of waiting is long.
    Fortunately, my sd card seems to be more compatible. It only takes 1 second to load bootmii and then comes the 5 second countdown. And sometimes I want to boot directly to hbc, so for me it's working great.

SPONSORED LINKS
 

Share This Page