Hacking 3DS Region change - what will get affected

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deleted member 672055

OP
Trophies
XP
So I decided to change my 3DS region from EUR to JPN, since europoor 3DS doesn't have the Japanese UI. I'm trying to figure out what will get affected by the region change, but I'm very unsure about it.

- I don't use an NNID at all, and eShop is closed anyways, so that's out of question.
- Will I have to wipe out the games on my SD that I installed before the region change?
- If not, will my saves be affected?
- Will I still be able to go online in the games?

It may sound like noob questions, but this is my first time with CFW (i'm happy i managed to install it on my own with just the guide from 3ds.hacks.guide), and I want to avoid bricking my console even if I have a NAND backup ready to blast

Ryccardo

Penguin accelerator
Trophies
XP
Country
Italy
- Will I have to wipe out the games on my SD that I installed before the region change?
Generally not (either you're manually installing the foreign operating system, in which case the identity doesn't change, or you're doing a ctrtransfer in which case you're probably backing up and restoring tickets)
In any case, even if this went wrong and you lost access to installed titles, it would not remove stuff from the SD per se, you'd want to do it afterwards to get the space back :)
If not, will my saves be affected?
These come together with installed titles, are you not keeping backups though? :unsure:

Deleted member 672055

OP
Trophies
XP
Generally not (either you're manually installing the foreign operating system, in which case the identity doesn't change, or you're doing a ctrtransfer in which case you're probably backing up and restoring tickets)
I'm using the CTRTransfer method - it's not a biggie if I will have to wipeout the games, I have them backed on my PC so a reinstall is only a matter of time.

These come together with installed titles, are you not keeping backups though?