Will factory reset brick my Wii

boris1

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Hi there. Just got another Wii (JPN version with 4.3J system menu). It has neogamma installed but no homebrew channel. Tried holding reset to power on but no priiloader screen appears, so I think priiloader is not installed. I want to install BootMii (hopefully to boot2 if it is a earlier hardware version) and make NAND backup first. Tried Wilbrand and LetterBomb with a 32GB, 16GB and 2GB SD card in FAT32 but the message does not appear in the mailbox. From the data manager, it cannot detect my 2GB card. For 16GB and 32GB card, I can copy the save files from internal memory to SD card so I guess the SD card is working and detected. The system date is correct too. Tried flipping few days earlier and later but still cannot find the exploit message. From my last softmod experience, factory reset can magically make the exploit message appear. Since I am new to Wii and my last Wii is clean and unmodded, I am not sure if factory reset is safe for a Wii with unknown mod/wad installed, is safe in this case? did I make any mistakes in my steps?

Next I may try bluebomb

Alexander1970

XP not matters.
Trophies
XP
Country
Austria
Good Morning.:)