Zune

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by leonheart_a, Jun 4, 2008.

Jun 4, 2008

Zune by leonheart_a at 6:40 PM (2,684 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. leonheart_a
    OP

    Member leonheart_a GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Im thinking of buying one, but since i live in the UK would there be much problems?
    All i really want to do is use it for videos and music pretty much

    Thanks! [​IMG]
     


  2. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    As long as you use XP or Vista you should be fine
     
  3. FireEmblemGuy

    Member FireEmblemGuy Finally hit 1000 posts

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,271
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Country:
    United States
    They only come with USB chargers, so you don't need to worry about AC adapter voltage if it's from out of country. Other than that the only problems that might arise would be video out... I dunno how it would work for PAL, since it sounds like you plan on buying one outside the UK.
     
  4. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,185
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    yea, I dont think they even make the A/V kits for PAL TV's
    only NTSC it seems

    im getting this one my self
    http://www.amazon.com/Zune-Home-A-V-Pack/d...0303&sr=8-6
     
  5. silent sniper

    Member silent sniper !dennaB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
  6. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
  7. silent sniper

    Member silent sniper !dennaB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    but you do get the most GB/$ by buying the 160 one.
     
  8. shajal

    Newcomer shajal Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Country:
    United States
    dude i have 2 zune 30gbs black ones and they are awesome no problems and works perfect. also very convinnent and u can put a lot of stuff i mean a lot. also u can do wirless sync on it its kool.
     
  9. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,185
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    ok got a question

    anyway to prevent the software from deleting a video for the zune because it doesn't see it in your library ? (I dont have the space for all these video, I have them all backed up on DVD's but didnt know if it cant find the video it deletes the vid off the zune...)
     
  10. leonheart_a
    OP

    Member leonheart_a GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The Archos seems a bit expensive for me =/
    And a question about the zune:
    Does it use a software such like Itunes to put music and videos etc onto it?
     
  11. Alerek

    Member Alerek GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    I've had my zune since launch, loved it to death until I lost my USB cable, and can't find one by itself in a store for a reasonable price...Yeah, I'm sure I can find one on the interwebs but not too worried about it.
     
  12. Pyrofyr

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    Take this advice from a Zune owner, if you can find something that isn't an iPod for cheaper, don't get one. However, if you can't just get a Zune. If you expect to buy ANY peripherals be prepared to pay a lot more than it's actually worth since they don't have any third party dealers... I'm talking 30~50 dollars for a car charger, dock, AC Adapter, or any other peripheral. A USB cable alone can be 20~ dollars. I've never even considering buying a single peripheral besides a USB->AC adapter that's third-party and works on anything USB.

    It dies fast with Video, so don't load it up. 15 GB free space and it lasts 20+ hours for me. 5 GB free space and it barely runs 7 hours.

    I have a 30GB, got it when they came out rly, only broke it once (Really durable) and they sent me a new one. If you crack the screen they refuse to service you, so if you drop things a lot, be very wary.

    Another thing to note is that any case for the Zune third party or not costs at least 50~100 dollars for something that either looks good or is durable.
     
  13. leonheart_a
    OP

    Member leonheart_a GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wait...are you serious?
    Having less space means less Battery Time?
    What the hell...
     
  14. Pyrofyr

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, they warn you of that. I got pissed cause I loved having near all my music on it, but when I reformatted and got down to like 10~15 GB from having 25~28GB my battery life dramatically improved. If you read the fine print they'll give you specifics for their quotes on battery life too, like 'only playing music 128 kb/s with 20GB free space' or what not.


    P.S. It was only the second MP3 player I've owned. I hate iPods as they cost way more than they're worth compared to other products.

    My original was a Sandisk Sansa, and from that I moved straight to the Zune. I was going to get a Dell DJ because it's also simply drag-n-drop making it in other words pretty much a portable external HDD that plays music.

    Awesome, yes, awesome. Although the Zune can do so with some mods, the mods stop it from working on newer versions. :[
     
  15. leonheart_a
    OP

    Member leonheart_a GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ahh, all these bad stuff, this isnt good [​IMG]
    i think i am better off with an Ipod....
     
  16. juggernaut911

    Member juggernaut911 GBAtemp Slut!

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,153
    Country:
    United States
    archnos sux, u must pay for the plugins to browse the web, watch movies, specific codecs, etc
     
  17. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
  18. fischju

    Member fischju Rehabilitated Jaywalker

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940
    Country:
    United States
    Fits in my pocket fine...
     
  19. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    Really? I've always thought it was rather large from looking at floor models but I've never tried putting one in my pocket.
     
  20. silent sniper

    Member silent sniper !dennaB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Umm... not necassarily. You could get them from a torrent site.

    But leonheart_a, don't go with an iPod unless you are completely convinced it is what you want. Try looking some stuff up about Creative Zen and Sandisk Sansa (if I were you, i'd save up and get an archos 605 - the 705 isnt that great).
     

Share This Page