ZSnes for DS?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by DomeFossil, Jun 22, 2008.

Jun 22, 2008

ZSnes for DS? by DomeFossil at 1:18 PM (2,012 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. DomeFossil
    OP

    Member DomeFossil GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    Wherever you want me (no homo)
    Country:
    Australia
    I went on yahoo answers, and some newb asked about the best SNES emulator for DS. Somone said ZSNES and got best answer. Some other newb asked the same thing. Someone answered ZSNES again. He got the best answer! These were all different people, btw. May I ask: WTF? Is it possible for ZSNES to be on DS? Or are they all bullsh*tting?


    Could someone slap me awake from my fanciful daydreams of an emulator as good as ZSNES being on DS and tell me if this is true or not? I'd be ever so grateful! [​IMG]
     
  2. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden
    ZSNES isn't available on the DS. The one with best compability on the DS is SNEmulDS
     
  3. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    They're talking out of their a$$. ZSNES is written in a totally different programming language than the DS. You'd have to write the thing from scratch. Don't give up on SnemulDS! Archeid says he'll work on it again soon.
     
  4. DomeFossil
    OP

    Member DomeFossil GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    Wherever you want me (no homo)
    Country:
    Australia
    So then wtf were they tooting on? Thank so much for answering Minox_IX!
     
  5. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden
    They apperently know nothing about DS homebrew and emulators as it seems.
     
  6. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    I think I tried running the DOS version of ZSNES in the proof-of-concept port of DOSbox to the DS, but it failed horribly, which was to be expected.
     
  7. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    It works OK............... ITS ONLY FOR PC!!!

    Sorry, but just use SNEmulDS its still the best!
     
  8. Ferrariman

    Member Ferrariman Hip-Flop and cRap

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,357
    Location:
    Canader.
    Country:
    Canada
    What he said.
     
  9. juicemousezero

    Newcomer juicemousezero Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United States
    Really? That's freakin awesome news. [​IMG]
     
  10. SargeSmash

    Member SargeSmash GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    153
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, the problem with porting ZSNES isn't so much the language it was written in, but that some portions use inline assembly to improve speed. And that assembly is in Intel x86. So someone would have to rewrite all those routines. That's mostly why you see tons of ports of Snes9x (pure C/C++), but not really for ZSNES.
     
  11. matriculated

    Member matriculated GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    598
    Country:
    Canada
    Nope - I'm pretty sure ZSnes was written in assembly - not just portions. That's how they got such greater speed gains on Snes9x in the 90's. The menuing system was probably written in something else though.
     

Share This Page