Zelda widescreen

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by RIPRAW, Dec 8, 2006.

Dec 8, 2006

Zelda widescreen by RIPRAW at 8:19 PM (1,533 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. RIPRAW
    OP

    Newcomer RIPRAW Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I set up my wii today on a 4:3 TV, so did all the settings accordingly and began playing Zelda. I then wanted to see what it was like on my widescreen TV, so I changed the setting to 16:9 (and 60 Hz) in the dashboard. However, I'm pretty sure it's still in 4:3. For one thing, the wii isn't sending the signal to my TV to automatically adjust to widescreen. When I look at the TV adjust options in the zelda options, the middle box is a narrow rectangle, while the outer two are square. When I Z-Target my TV adjusts, and cuts off the top and bottom borders you get, but this looks wrong and the switching is very annoying.

    Is it because I started playing the game in 4:3, or is my TV/Wii crap?
     
  2. gixxaman

    Newcomer gixxaman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    United States
    My widescreen looks fine on my 56" and 42" TV's. But is your tv a true wide screen? I would say get a better TV and component cables and enjoy Zelda to its fullest [​IMG]
     
  3. Firon

    Member Firon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    You have to set the Wii AND your TV to 16:9.
     
  4. RIPRAW
    OP

    Newcomer RIPRAW Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have selected 16:9 on the Wii dashboard settings.

    My TV is an 8 year old panasonic. There is no manual widescreen option. I just have to change the aspect to automatic. All my other products, including DVD players, send a signal that tells my TV it's a widescreen signal. This allows my TV to adjust automatically and is confirmed when the "WIDE" logo appears on the TV briefly. I guess the Wii doesn't send this signal.
     
  5. science

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    Don't worry. Z-targeting does that. It's part of the game.
     
  6. wabo

    Member wabo GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,082
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Do you have the component cables? Because if you don't you can't access 16:9 mode.
     
  7. Strokemouth

    Member Strokemouth GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    279
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    Someone should tell my Wii and plasma tv that.


    16:9 works fine on composite cables.
     
  8. science

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    Weird, it doesn't work on mine...
     
  9. Lukeage

    Member Lukeage GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Australia
    The panasonic sets have a display mode called JUST. This mode is designed to display 4:3 pictures in a 16:9 mode and looks reasonably accurate (and it works rather well 98% of the time, usually only failing when the camera pans sideways and you see the algorithm in action). It acheives this by leaving the centre of the image natural, and slowly stretching out the sides. This is why the centre square looks squashed (as this part of the image is unchanged) and the edge squares look adjusted. It also removes a bit of the top and bottom of the images to make the picture look correct.

    I'm surprised your tv doesn't allow you to select. Both these sets allow you to select from AUTO (4:3/JUST), 4:3, JUST, ZOOM, S-ZOOM, 16:9 and 14:9 (yes, 14:9, is pretty much 4:3 with the top and bottom cropped slightly and less black bars at the side) if my memory serves correctly. You are definitely going to need to get your set to know its in 16:9 to get the image displayed correctly.

    EDIT: 16:9 should work fine over any cables because the image is still 640x480 (or 720x576 for us PAL users), all they do is modifiy the pixel aspect ratio.
     
  10. RIPRAW
    OP

    Newcomer RIPRAW Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Lukeage, that was very informative. It made me wonder why my TV didn't have a 16:9 setting. So I took another look, and scanned through the aspect options while on the Zelda TV settings to see how the squares were affected. Turns out that it does have one, but panasonic decided to call it "FULL" instead of 16:9. My excuse is that I've always used the automatic setting, and have never had a problem. Thanks again for your help, and sorry for the bother.
     
  11. sgrstck

    Newcomer sgrstck Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    While we're on the topic. Can you tell me whether PAL TVs and Wiis support progreesive scan? On wikipedia it said that the wii could only support 480i, 480p and 576i but I really hope it's wrong.
     
  12. rabbit1654

    Newcomer rabbit1654 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Germany

    true! Wii only support 480i, 480p and 576i - in the Wii Menue settings
     
  13. Lukeage

    Member Lukeage GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    178
    Country:
    Australia
    If your PAL tv supports progressive input, I can assure you that it will hand 480p perfectly. In fact, it seems less likely that a devices can do 576p even when they are sold in PAL regions.
     
  14. unusername

    Member unusername GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    Viña del Mar
    Country:
    Chile
    I have in my 19"Samsung Widescreen Monitor 16:9 without component cables.... just an A/V capture card...
     

Share This Page