Zelda Phantom Hourglass randomly freezes

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by wiithepeople, Oct 22, 2007.

Oct 22, 2007
  1. wiithepeople
    OP

    Member wiithepeople ^^didn't play it that much, but I love it =D

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    the banned
    Country:
    United States
    I just started Zelda: PH a few days ago. Yesterday when I was playing it on my r4, it kept on freezing randomly. Once, I just went in a cave and it froze before the picture of the cave came. Once, I was battling monsters and it froze. Is this a bad dump? I heard Zelda doesnt need arm7 fixer on the r4.. so what's wrong? [​IMG]

    EDIT: And also every other game I tried, which is like 20, have worked perfectly.
     
  2. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    did u trim it? maybe trimming causes the freez1n.
     
  3. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    I wouldn't think so because trimming just takes out the empty space in ROMs...

    It's most likely a bad dump. Just redownload it from somewhere else.
     
  4. urfage

    Newcomer urfage Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Don't you need to ARM7 patch this game? It is on the ARM7 patch list.
     
  5. imyourxpan

    Member imyourxpan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    more than likely a bad dump, because i have played mine for hours if you know what i mean and i haven't had one single problem. i've had it freeze on me, but my r4 does that with any game.
     
  6. Ad_Enuff

    Member Ad_Enuff GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need to verify all the roms you download using clrmamepro (http://www.clrmame.com) and ADVANsCEne's (http://www.advanscene.com) latest DAT file.

    that way you will know if its a rom issue or its a hardware issue.

    Potentially it could be a slow microSD card or as someone has suggested a bad rom but to really find out of its the rom there is only one way.

    and you should do that to ALL your NDS rom collection not just this one.
     
  7. Wii_DS.

    Banned Wii_DS. ウォリアー

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    681
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope. and if you did it wouldn't be causing wii_will_rule's problem.
     
  8. thomasroberts6

    Member thomasroberts6 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    496
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It doesnt freeze with me... just slows down sometimes.
     
  9. xSmileCrushx

    Newcomer xSmileCrushx Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    Oh really? I once trimmed a Rune Factory ROM only to have it freeze on me while I was exploring the mountain area. When I replaced it with the untrimmed ROM it worked perfectly fine.
     
  10. wiithepeople
    OP

    Member wiithepeople ^^didn't play it that much, but I love it =D

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    789
    Location:
    the banned
    Country:
    United States
    ok thx guys [​IMG] I'll try your suggestion Ad_enuff and I'll try downloading from another site too.
    And also, I did trim this rom with ndstokyotrim v0.50. But I used the same trimmer on all other roms as well, and they all worked perfectly...
    Also, Zelda download play works flawlessly, but just the main game screws up sometimes.
     

Share This Page