Hacking Zelda on N3DS: "System can not read game card"

Tyrantt

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
73
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Portland, Oregon
XP
63
Country
United States
So I just downloaded zelda, updated my template with a chip id and private header, wrote it on the sky3ds and then popped it in. The logo popped up with the 2 second audio, but a messaged followed that said "the game card can not be read." Does anyone know why? The wifi was on at the time
 

Tyrantt

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
73
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Portland, Oregon
XP
63
Country
United States
MHU4 is also not working. It's says the same thing when I press A to start the game: the game card can not be read. The wifi was off when I tested it out.

Pokémon Sapphire has the same header and chip id and works fine.
 

Ninoh-FOX

Otaku Gamer!!
Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2015
Messages
535
Trophies
0
Age
43
Location
Military base.
Website
colorslive.com
XP
640
Country
Spain
you may check that the ID header is correct for Chip ID if this is not correct it not works

What is the gamecard that you extracted your header? for MH4 and SSB it worked fine for me the header from RE REV and SSFIV respectively
 

SomecallmeBerto

The Anti-Hero
Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
1,097
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
USA
XP
636
Country
United States
Why wouldn't the chip id need to match the header? And anyways, no ban no sky automatically changes the chip id.


I don't understand why it would. I've never changed the chipID and my games and saves work fine. In fact sometimes when I do change the chipID it tells me that the game is NOT in the template( this is possible due to a mistake on my end)

I've used no ban no sky however sometimes I find that it doesn't over write the header correctly and cause the error above.
 

Fotonic

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
39
Trophies
0
XP
55
Country
Italy
I don't understand why it would. I've never changed the chipID and my games and saves work fine. In fact sometimes when I do change the chipID it tells me that the game is NOT in the template( this is possible due to a mistake on my end)

I've used no ban no sky however sometimes I find that it doesn't over write the header correctly and cause the error above.

I got a similar problem modifying headers in SKY3DS txt file.
I am quite sure that it depends of the CRC bytes at the end of the header, if you modify something and CRC is not corrected for the new data then the header is not accepted by the diskwriter and it gives a 'no header' error.

Can someone tell me where to find information on how the CRC of the headers is calculated? Thanks.
 

Tyrantt

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
73
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Portland, Oregon
XP
63
Country
United States
I don't understand why it would. I've never changed the chipID and my games and saves work fine. In fact sometimes when I do change the chipID it tells me that the game is NOT in the template( this is possible due to a mistake on my end)

I've used no ban no sky however sometimes I find that it doesn't over write the header correctly and cause the error above.

Well since they are banning people, wouldn't it be safer to have a chip id to match the header while online?
 

SomecallmeBerto

The Anti-Hero
Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
1,097
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
USA
XP
636
Country
United States
Well since they are banning people, wouldn't it be safer to have a chip id to match the header while online?


Maybe however maybe I'm doing something wrong but for some games changing the chipID tells me that the game I'm trying to burn is not in the template.
 

SomecallmeBerto

The Anti-Hero
Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
1,097
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
USA
XP
636
Country
United States
Well since they are banning people, wouldn't it be safer to have a chip id to match the header while online?


Maybe however maybe I'm doing something wrong but for some games changing the chipID tells me that the game I'm trying to burn is not in the template.
 

Tyrantt

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
73
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Portland, Oregon
XP
63
Country
United States
Maybe however maybe I'm doing something wrong but for some games changing the chipID tells me that the game I'm trying to burn is not in the template.

I'm able to write the game to the microsd card just fine, but when I pop the game in, the logo pops up and when I press A to start, I get a message on the bottom screen that says the game card can not be read.
 

SomecallmeBerto

The Anti-Hero
Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
1,097
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
USA
XP
636
Country
United States
I'm able to write the game to the microsd card just fine, but when I pop the game in, the logo pops up and when I press A to start, I get a message on the bottom screen that says the game card can not be read.


Sorry about all the post...I have no idea what happened.

What game are you having issues with?
 

SomecallmeBerto

The Anti-Hero
Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
1,097
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
USA
XP
636
Country
United States
Only mhu4 and majoras mask. Only other game I've tested is Pokémon Sapphire with the same chip id and private header and it works just fine


Well for MM you don't NEED to change the Chip ID as it has no online. As for MH4 I would try another chipID...you can use the GW Rom patcher to view all the chipIDs(not unique) and see which ones work for you or leave it as default and see what happens.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    You can still do live backgrounds theirs a program that takes YouTube clips and loops them for you all you do is drop the YouTube url inside it
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Now we have cheap 8 core 16 thread CPUs and GBa of RAM and GPUs that frankly could do that in their sleep lol
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I've seen decent i7s 14 cores for around $200
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    It's my goal in life to get a better benchmark score than psi :teach:
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Lol my next machine will have DDR5 :P
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Pretty sure current gen boards already support ddr5 under $200
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    I'm still stuck on DDR2...
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Chrome can run 2 seconds faster!
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    It took 8gbs lddr4 to run mobile chrome decent :tpi:
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    It takes up all of your RAM
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    So a shit ton of RAM is required
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    yes, do continue in feeding the google botnet, get more RAM for chrome!
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I see an explosion coming
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    facebook & chrome.... barf
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Discord and Chrome
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    And even Spotify
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Spotify is great if you know which version to get :tpi:
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    You don't have 32GBs? What's your problem!!!! Lol
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    latest
    MOAR!
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    What a pleb doesn't have a 4090 a threadripper and 128gbs of ram
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I know I'll buy a ps vr2!
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://youtu.be/qpMvS1Q1sos