Zelda: is arm7 fix required?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Trel, Oct 8, 2007.

Oct 8, 2007

Zelda: is arm7 fix required? by Trel at 3:46 AM (3,127 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. Trel
    OP

    Newcomer Trel Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United States
    I've been playing it for a while. I didn't apply the arm7 fix and I havn't had any problems with it.
    Will I encounter problems later if I don't?
     
  2. lostsoulktash

    Newcomer lostsoulktash Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    United States
    I don't think so, because i've also been playing it for awhile. Unlocked third sea chart so far and running smooth.
     
  3. JacobReaper

    Member JacobReaper I Love You....

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    Spoomo
    Country:
    United States
  4. AshuraZro

    Member AshuraZro Belongs in a museum.

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,409
    Location:
    Stoney Creek, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    The ARM7 fix is only required for carts that lack any official update. Or I guess I could say cart at this point since I think only one cart out there still needs it performed on a regular basis. Anyways if you needed to swap the arm7.bin, you'd notice instantly when you either booted the game and it went directly to a save initialization failure screen or if it happened when saving.
     
  5. Trel
    OP

    Newcomer Trel Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, thanks. There was another topic here which mentioned arm7 fixing zelda, so I wanted to be sure. [​IMG]
     
  6. Regiiko

    Member Regiiko GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    326
    Location:
    Örebro
    Country:
    Sweden
    You only need to upgrade the firmware to at least 1.10.

    Arm7 fix = HATE.
     
  7. zeppo

    Member zeppo change my avatar!

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    982
    Country:
    United States
    the only good game that the arm7 fix is actually needed for is worms open warfare 2.
     
  8. Wii_DS.

    Banned Wii_DS. ウォリアー

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    681
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You'll know when a game needs a ARM7 patch when you first start up the game and it says a error about save/data.
     
  9. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah. Depends on the card. I've never had to use ARM7 on my old Supercard CF. I got the Japanese version of Zelda right when it was dumped, didn't need that patch.
     
  10. JacobReaper

    Member JacobReaper I Love You....

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    Spoomo
    Country:
    United States
    well, im still waiting for 1.12 [​IMG]
     
  11. dydy

    Banned dydy Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    457
    Country:
    for me zelda work fine with the 1.11 R4 and save work
     

Share This Page