YSMenu0805200255

Discussion in 'DSTT' started by Bri, May 20, 2008.

May 20, 2008

YSMenu0805200255 by Bri at 4:44 AM (7,627 Views / 0 Likes) 45 replies

  1. Bri
    OP

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    There is a new version of YSMenu:

    For those who don't know, YSMenu is a homebrew menu for the DSTT and Acekard 2 by Yasu. Yasu doesn’t want anyone to link to any pages other than his home page. Yasu’s home page is http://home.usay.jp/. It's mostly in Japanese, but to get YSMenu, follow these directions:[*]Click the "ETC" button in the main menu near the top beneath the title.[*]Select "Nintendo DS" (second item) from the table.[*]Search for "DS(T_T)DS" (CTRL-F) or just scroll about 2/3 of the way down until you see the heading in blue.[*]There is a scrollable text area beneath that heading. Select the first item in the scollable list (currently "2008/05/20 02:55") to download the latest version.-----

    To install YSMenu for DSTT:[*]Make sure you have the newest version of YSMenu and the latest version of the official TTMenu firmware.[*]Unzip the YSMenu archive.[*]Place a copy of "TTMENU.DAT" from the original menu into the same folder as the "ttextract.exe" program on your PC. Run "ttextract.exe" on your PC. Place the two resulting files ("ttdldi.dat" and "ttpatch.dat") into the "TTMENU" folder on your microSD card.[*](a) If you want YSMenu to be your default menu, rename "TTMENU.DAT" that is on your microSD to "TTMenu.nds", then place a copy of "YSMenu.nds" on the root (top level) of your microSD card. Make a copy of "YSMenu.nds" named "TTMENU.DAT" on the root of your card. You should now have "TTMenu.nds", "YSMenu.nds", and "TTMENU.DAT" (a copy of "YSMenu.nds") on the root of your microSD card.
    (b) If you want TTMenu to be the default menu, place a copy of "YSMenu.nds" onto the root (top level) of your microSD card. Then make a copy of "TTMENU.DAT" named "TTMenu.nds" on the root of your card. You should now have "TTMENU.DAT", "YSMenu.nds", and "TTMenu.nds" (a copy of "TTMENU.DAT") on the root of your microSD card.[*]Place the skin files "YSMenu1.bmp" and "YSMenu2.bmp" into the "TTMENU" folder.[*]Edit "YSMenu.ini". Place a semi-colon in front of the line that says "LITERALS=LITERALS_JPN". Remove the semi-colon from the line that says "LITERALS=LITERALS_ENG". Save your changes to "YSMenu.ini" and place it into the "TTMENU" folder on your microSD card.That should be it. If you are using TTMenu as your default, simply run YSMenu.nds. Otherwise, it should launch directly into YSMenu.

    -Bri
     


  2. genuisgeek

    Member genuisgeek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Country:
    United States
    awesome news and great tutorial this should be semi-pinned for new DSTT users wondering about the use of YSMenu

    This sub-forum should have a stickied YSMenu tut/thread to have no questions or such
     
  3. helpme

    Member helpme GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ive got a a couple of questions
    whats the r4patch.dat for? ive never seen it in past versions of YSmenu
    what format should txt be in to use the Simple Text Viewer? ive tryed txt, doc & rtf but none will show up in menu
     
  4. Bri
    OP

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Where are you seeing r4patch.dat? I'm looking at YSMenu0805200255.zip and there is no file with that name in it.

    I would assume that if you click on a .txt file it would load into the simple text viewer, but I haven't tried it yet.

    -Bri
     
  5. helpme

    Member helpme GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ive put a .txt, .rtf & a .doc on my card & none would show up on my YSmenu
    ive looked in the YSMenu.ini & there does not seem to be any reference to txt files

    EDIT
    the txt viewer maybe just for the acekard2!!??
     
  6. khan

    Member khan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,320
    Country:
    Pakistan
    @helpme

    Have you tried r4patch.dat yet? Let us know...
     
  7. Bri
    OP

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    helpme,

    OK, I tried the text viewer (on the AK2, not on the DSTT, but I'm guessing it works the same on the DSTT). You have to press the "select" button twice to view all files, then you can see text files. Click on one and it will display it on the top screen.

    I also ran ttextract on the newest version of TTMENU.DAT (1.10) and it didn't create a r4patch.dat file (only ttdldi.dat and ttpatch.dat). So I have no idea where you got that file.

    -Bri
     
  8. helpme

    Member helpme GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    im using the 1.10 but ive tryed a few times & it keeps making the r4patch.dat file

    EDIT
    ive compared the r4patch.dat & ttpatch.dat with CRC32 tool & there different
    & ive used a hex editer to compare them but they look the same

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Bri
    OP

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Odd. It doesn't create that file when I run it.

    [​IMG]

    I would think that "r4patch.dat" would be a patch file for the R4 cart, but it wouldn't make sense for it to create that from TTMENU.DAT.

    -Bri
     
  10. helpme

    Member helpme GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    uk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just had an email of yasu & he says its for the R4

    nice to see yasu taking an interest in this thread LOL

    [​IMG]
     
  11. sidneyyoung

    Member sidneyyoung GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    895
    Country:
    Bermuda
    I just chucked the r4patch.dat file in the ttmenu folder along with the other usual dats, all seems to be working fine on both DSTT and SCDS1.. great stuff
     
  12. Bri
    OP

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    I'm almost positive you don't need that file, so it's just taking up extra space.

    I wonder why it's creating the file for you and not for me. I wonder why it's creating the file at all since you're running ttextract on TTMenu, not on the R4 menu.

    -Bri
     
  13. apocalypticvisio

    Member apocalypticvisio GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    United States
    it created the file for me as well when i ran "ttextract.exe ttmenu.dat"...figured i wouldn't need it so i didn't put it on the card....but maybe it's hiding the r4 file or it just isn't creating it...not a threat if you're not using the r4...
     
  14. Nakura

    Member Nakura GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    254
    Country:
    United States
    It created it for me, and thanks for making this thread, I didn't know how to get YSMenu. I want it for when I get my GBA Expansion Pack, it can run GBA Roms off of the Micro SD right?
     
  15. Bri
    OP

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, YSMenu can run GBA roms (and Opera) without a loader. However, I've had some problems with some GBA games before although it may have been an older version of YSMenu. If you run into any problems, you can always run them with GBA ExpLoader.

    -Bri
     
  16. Nakura

    Member Nakura GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    254
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, does GBA ExpLoader run them off of the Micro SD or does it put them on the EZ Flash? Thanks again.
     
  17. Bri
    OP

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Both GBA ExpLoader and YSMenu handle GBA games similarly with the 3in1.

    The 3in1 only has enough memory to store 1 game at a time, so in general your GBA games are stored on the slot1 microSD and loaded to the 3in1 to play them. The memory is also volatile, meaning that the game is lost from the 3in1 if you turn off your NDS (it has a battery and SRAM memory which allows it to retain your save file though).

    The 3in1 also has an additional non-volatile NOR flash memory which can be used to store one game even when you turn off your DS. In other words, you can load a game to NOR and then play it multiple times without having to re-load it. Unfortunately, the NOR memory is extremely slow at saving (it's faster at loading) so storing the game to NOR can take 1 to 2 minutes (but playing the game from NOR is faster). Frankly, it only takes a few seconds to load a GBA game into the volatile memory, so I'm not sure what advantage the NOR memory gives you.

    Unfortunately, the 3in1 has more NOR memory than volatile memory, and so if you want to play a very large GBA game you're stuck with using NOR memory. The good news is that there relatively few large GBA games that won't fit in the faster volatile memory.

    -Bri
     
  18. Nakura

    Member Nakura GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    254
    Country:
    United States
    So lets say I shut the DS off, can I get the save on my Micro SD?
     
  19. Bri
    OP

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Yes.

    In fact, that's how it works. The SRAM is only big enough for 1 save file at a time. For technical reasons, the save file cannot be stored directly to the microSD card while the GBA game is running. The save file is stored in the SRAM of the 3in1 while you play your game. It remains there when you shut off your NDS (thanks to the battery in the 3in1) until after you turn your DS back on, then the save is automatically stored to the microSD card.

    -Bri
     
  20. Nakura

    Member Nakura GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    254
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you very much, you're very helpful. I like backing up my saves, so I'd like to be able to save it. Thanks =D
     

Share This Page