YouTube question.

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by test84, Nov 22, 2007.

Nov 22, 2007

YouTube question. by test84 at 12:26 PM (2,426 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    hi,
    i was thinking about getting ADSL and my concern was the speed that i need.
    what speed do i need in order to watch stuff from youTube at proper speed?
    TIA.
     


  2. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1mbps should be fine for streaming
    512kbps is probably the lowest , anything below that and youll need to buffer a lot before watching anything
     
  3. TaMs

    Member TaMs Randomizer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,126
    Country:
    Finland
    Yea 1mbps is enough for youtube imo. but faster is always better.
     
  4. Samutz

    Member Samutz Wet Tissue Sample

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    See that hole in your wall?
    Country:
    United States
    I had 512k for a while. I wasn't even maxing out that speed, and YouTube loaded fine as long as I didn't have other stuff downloading.
     
  5. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    Is the speed u talk about, MegaBYTE per second or MegaBIT?
     
  6. Samutz

    Member Samutz Wet Tissue Sample

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    See that hole in your wall?
    Country:
    United States
    bps = bit per second
    Most ISPs refer to Kbps/Kbits and Mbps/Mbits when talking about what speeds they offer.
     
  7. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    yes, its stand,ard to talk about KiloBits per second when we refer to speeds, but i just wanted to make sure.

    it seems that still ADSL is so expensive at my country, and i was thinking about 128kbps at most, which their download is much lower than 128kbps and they say THE MAX SPEED IS 128kpbs [!], fuck.

    my friend got 256kbps and she said that she had to disable sound and wait for youtube to load it all, then play back.

    shit.

    btw, u can check prices here: http://www.datak-telecom.com/id/fast_internet_price_
    its Farsi but u can get the idea.

    EDIT:
    for 64kbps, i have to pay 20$.
    plus 55$ for modem and 10$ for setup.

    how fuck is that?

    128 is 25$ and 256 is 30$.
     
  8. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    64... thats almost as slow as Dial-up. Hell, even 128 is almost dual-band dialup. Definitely go for 256Kbps. Or 512 if you can afford it.
     
  9. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Move to a different country, those prices are ridiculous. Im in the US and I pay 25$ for 768kbps down and I can watch youtube videos at a steady speed :S
     
  10. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    no, even getting 128 needs lots of considerations from me.
    i think i'll have to use dial up, again.
     
  11. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Try to upgrade to dual-band dialup
     
  12. HBK

    Member HBK Clover - Fearless to Speak Now. ;)

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,813
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    Lol, I get 2Mbps down and 256Kbps up, YouTube streams fine, and I pay 23 euros (around 30 dollars) per month.
     
  13. hollabackitsobi

    Member hollabackitsobi GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    536
    Country:
    United States
    Do you live in Kazahkstan, per chance? I've heard of the terrible pricing of internet over there, and Telecom or something like that was the only business liscensed to provide internet access. I have Sprint/embarQ DSL and I can stream Youtube rather easily, videos download in a couple seconds for me. Don't know how much it costs though, I have parents [​IMG]
     
  14. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    I know Verizon rips me off :*( I can't get Fios but I might get Optimum Online's 15mbps down and 2mbps up for 30$ [​IMG]
     
  15. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    it doesnt worth it.
    55$ + 10$ + 20$ for 10kbps?
     
  16. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Dual band dialup = 112Kbps
     
  17. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    That is still far too slow imo.
     
  18. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lol i pay £25 a month for 4meg connection and you pay how much for 128k? o_o
     
  19. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    its 14 kilo bytes per second maximum and they talk about 50 for not-bad you tube.
     
  20. Taza

    Member Taza GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    257
    Country:
    Finland
    You can use youtube with a dialup, but yeah, you need AT LEAST the 256kbps to have an experience any way enjoyable.
     

Share This Page