your ISP traffic shaping you? well click here!

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by jalaneme, Apr 25, 2008.

Apr 25, 2008
  1. jalaneme
    OP

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    a few tips to stop your ISP from traffic shaping you.

    if anyone wants to secure their connection in Utorrent go to options, preferences, BitTorrent and go to protocol encryption, select outgoing: "FORCED" and then select apply and ok, that should encrypt your connection 100% and should stop the traffic shaping occurring.

    for usenet use this free client called Giganews Accelerator

    it's free, secure, and gets the job done without having to pay for anything which is great. [​IMG]
     


  2. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Most ISPs already figured out how to stop people from traffic encryption...
     
  3. Panzer Tacticer

    Member Panzer Tacticer veteran human

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,222
    Location:
    Right Here
    Country:
    Canada
    Most ISPs can't outperform truly smart users.

    Bit Comet is a great torrent program, but http://azureus.sourceforge.net/ allows you to adjust your port settings so that you can just ignoring throttling. That takes some knowledge though. I use Bit Torrent because a throttled anime fan sub isn't a problem, and I just download it mid day when I'm not hassled.

    Are you aware that Imageshack can thwart throttling? Hmm you want to look into that. My friend uses it to get maximum speed for torrents. A torrent at 500+k is not bad [​IMG] Yes Imageshack is not just for pictures.

    End of the month I will be giving Bell Canada the good news. Sit on this Sympatico and rotate.
    They are eventually ditching the grandfathered accounts. When that happens they become an over priced POS service.

    Anyone in Ontario or Quebec should be investigating Teksavvy. It's where the wise money is going for DSL.
     
  4. jumpman17

    Former Staff jumpman17 He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,972
    Country:
    United States
    Comcast just announced that it would stop throttling torrent downloads even though they said they weren't doing that.
     
  5. sk3tch

    Member sk3tch GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Messages:
    316
    Country:
    United States
    Nice! Although I already use NewsLeecher 3.9 beta 15 which has full SSL support along with Giganews and their port 443 SSL encryption. It's a great setup. [​IMG]
     
  6. wabo

    Member wabo GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,082
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Traffic shaping started last night for me. Man, that was some wake-up call. I had heard of rumors with sympatico but i wasn't having any problems but yesterday it was pretty clear.
     
  7. jalaneme
    OP

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thats why i am in the process to see if encryption works in utorrent and grabit atm, i'm hoping it will work, the giganews program does say it stops your ISP traffic shaping you.
     
  8. Panzer Tacticer

    Member Panzer Tacticer veteran human

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,222
    Location:
    Right Here
    Country:
    Canada
    First go to Imageshack naturally. Create an account.

    On front page there is a link labeled ImageShack Torrent Download Service!

    It's basically what you are looking for.

    I have not yet used it, but my friend who mentioned it to me has.

    Let me know if you have further troubles.
     
  9. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Virgin Media doesn't traffic shape. They don't really care about file sharing either.

    Seriously, if a "private" tracker needs to ban Azureus, its users have failed.
     
  10. darkgoth

    Newcomer darkgoth Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Gods Country
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Virgin media DO Traffic Share (or Throttle) which ever happens:

    at 4pm every day my internet goes to below 56k modem speed!!!!!!!!!!!! and doesn't come back until midnight!!!

    If you know of any way I can get around this then please let me know

    D
     
  11. Salamantis

    Member Salamantis GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,945
    Country:
    Canada
    Does the accellerator work with every usenet client?
     
  12. Little

    Member Little I r Little

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,227
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it shouldnt happen at 4? The official policy is if you download more than X gigs between 4 and midnight you get throttled back? it is proper annoying though [​IMG]
     
  13. darkgoth

    Newcomer darkgoth Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Gods Country
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wonder if I'm doing something wrong then!?!

    I do grab alot between midnight and ... and cannot even browse web pages properly after 4pm, even GBAtemp takes a minute to load!

    In fact, I don't think that I've been able to download anything after 4pm since this new policy came in.

    Not that I can complain too much, as I say, I grab alot in the early hours and get over 8meg speeds


    ... still if anyone knows how I can do better, please let me know ...
     
  14. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Try going for a day without downloading anything bandwidth consuming, then see what happens.
     
  15. Little

    Member Little I r Little

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,227
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i have no idea how cable works in terms of exchanges and stuff =/ but i know with adsl you'd see slow downs during peak times just because everyone is using it. dunno if thats the case with cable. but yeah mine connection is fine until i've downloaded quite alot... its proper visible too because usenet will suddenly drop loads like to around 200k. browsing is still normal if i turn off usenet though.
     
  16. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Over here, that feature is promised with ADSL, and it supposed to slow down with cable. However, I personally always get 660+KB/s speeds, and at max I've gotten 800
     
  17. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Virgin media UK do not throttle my downloads, Usenet or torrents.

    However, if you upload, your internet slows down. This is a token gesture to stop you running a web server, or torrenting lots.
    Stop uploading, and it goes back up instantly.
     
  18. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Virgin Media definitely doesn't throttle me lol

    I download gigs and gigs and gigs, every day ... getting 2.2Mbps download speeds, all the way [​IMG]

    However, if you have a lot of VM broadband users in your immediate vicinity, and they are all hitting the tubes pretty hard, then you will see wicked slowdown ... especially if the local mux needs a service ...

    You say that the slowdown occurs at 4pm every day?

    Guess what time people are getting home from work and school ...


    EDIT : Also, are you using a wireless router? How's your security? You using a MAC filter or anything? Somebody in a house nearby may be jacking your connection ...

    Plus, do you get your internet from a standalone modem, or from the cable box itself? If it's fro mthe cable box, you neve get the promised speeds ... you need to get them to put in a standalone.
     
  19. darkgoth

    Newcomer darkgoth Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Gods Country
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have tried the connections, changed router, Filters etc. I only have 6 neighbours, 3 of whom are over 70 and don't have PC's (or want them [​IMG] )

    I also live about 1 mile from the BT exchange, with about 20 houses connected to the same box (so I was told by a BT engineer)

    I have uploaded a bit in the past, but, with the exception of torrents, mainly go down the usenet avenue for my downloads, of which,
    at off-peak times I can get superb speeds.

    Then at 4pm (7 days a week) BANG it goes, and then comes back at midnight, so I rarely use the internet during these time
    (for gads sake it's made me socialise with people again [​IMG] )

    I may go door knocking to see if one of the locals has an aversion to natural light and a bigger hard drive than mine, damn that can't
    be possible ...

    Thanks for all the suggestions anyway, I'm going to try turning off completely for a day or two and see what happens (I should only
    have another 200+ VC Games to grab by then eh? [​IMG]
     
  20. grubbymitts

    Member grubbymitts GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    241
    Country:

    Well, you must be lucky then.

    It's nothing to do with wireless networks, standalone modems, mac filtering. Simply put Virgin Media have a hardware traffic management system in place that currently kicks in at 4pm - 9pm. If you download over a certain amount (depending on your paid for speed) during that time you will be throttled down to 1mb for 5 hours.

    If you are still managing to get your 20mb speed then you are either paying for a business account and thus fibbing to us all or your UBR has got a faulty hardware traffic manager and you should think yourself lucky.

    www.cableforum.co.uk is the best place to find out the proper Virgin Media traffic management instead of the wild speculation, falsehoods and made up nonsense I've just read on here.
     

Share This Page