Yet another Modmii question

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by nunavat2010, May 10, 2011.

May 10, 2011

Yet another Modmii question by nunavat2010 at 3:06 AM (1,656 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. nunavat2010
    OP

    Member nunavat2010 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    United States
    Xflak for me everything works fine and it is a great tool. I was exploring a little bit and I came across this screen.
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    All these CIOSs have different versions. They are patches for IOSes 37, 38, 56, 57 and 58? They uses slots 202,222-224 (Hermes) and 249,250 (Wanin, d2x*). There are 50 slots (202 to 254, 236 and 254 are reserved?) for CIOSs. Why not use all the CIOS slots? For example, have different versions of patches for IOS 37,38, 56-58 in other slots instead of restricting them to 202,222-224, 249 and 250. I tried to do it with Modmii, but I don't know enough about versions. May be I am talking nonsense.

    Thanks for reading.
     
  2. Ryoku83

    Member Ryoku83 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    324
    Country:
    Canada
    I dunno about everyone one else but I only use (and need) 2 different cIOS' 249[56] r21-d2x-v3 & 250[57] r21-d2x-v3 (use this one for black ops). Every game I have works with these 2, I think there is a third cIOS that works better with the music games (rock band ect ect). So as far as I can tell it'd be a waste to install them all. Plus it'd just make things more confusing when you had to choose a cIOS to use.

    I do have the hermes cIOS' installed as well but I don't use them. Modmii just did it automaticly
     
  3. Nintendo_Chick

    Member Nintendo_Chick GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    386
    Country:
    United States
    You can change it to whatever slot you want with showmiiwads.
     
  4. WiiUBricker

    Member WiiUBricker Insert Custom Title

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    5,806
    Location:
    Espresso
    Country:
    Argentina
    Why havent you post your "Yet another Modmii question" in the official modmii topic?
     
  5. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    All the cIOSs on download page 4 are also available for download on ModMii's Advanced Downloads page ("A" from main menu). From there, pick the base cIOS you want, then tell ModMii what slot you want to change it to and\or what version number you want to change it to.
     
  6. nunavat2010
    OP

    Member nunavat2010 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    195
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you Xflak. Can you please guide me through an example? Say I want to get "cIOS250[58]-v21d2x4-beta1" into the cios slot 247. If you don't have time, please guide me to a read on Ios versions. I tried doing this by
    • go to option U (very advance custom CIOS'es),
    • then choose newest IOS 58, apply all three patches
    • use slot 250.
    That did not do, as I don't know what each version mean. Thank you.

    PS: Nintendo-chick, thanks. If there is no easy way in Modmii, I'll look into it.
     
  7. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    First of all, u should know that d2x4-beta1 is still in beta form. I'd recommend u either install d2x3 or the latest beta d2x4-beta4 from here: http://gbatemp.net/t277659-ciosx-rev21d2x-...t&p=3633341

    From ModMii's main menu, type "A"
    if you want to install d2x3 instead of a d2x4-beta#, type "betaoff"
    then "249d2x58"
    then "247"
    then type a new version number or "N" to leave unchanged (doesn't really matter what u choose here but I recommend "N")
    then "Y"

    done!
     

Share This Page