Yes... another problem with SMG. Sue me.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by mattm025, Nov 21, 2007.

Nov 21, 2007
  1. mattm025
    OP

    Newcomer mattm025 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    I have everything up to date, including 1.9g, but when I stick in SMG it doesn't even recognize the disc. It just says "unable to read disc." Could it be a bad burn? I hate using too many DVDs...
     
  2. rhyguy

    Member rhyguy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,377
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    do any originals or backups work?
     
  3. reecarno

    Newcomer reecarno Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    29
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This must be a bad burn; you say that you updated the wiikey to 1.9g so the wii was reading backups to begin with right? Or it simply would not see the 1.9g disk.

    You say "unable to read disc." That’s got to be a duff disk you got there. I’m assuming you’re going to the game channel and you never get as far as the Super Mario galaxy start up screen; just the to disks spinning with the end result a question mark Spinning in the middle and "unable to read disc" message.

    Do the obvious (if not already done so) and try another back up (another game you knew was working) just to make sure the 1.9g firmware was a success. If so, re-burn the SMG iso and make sure you don’t regionfrii or brick block it and that; in this instance, it’s your own region version i.e. NTSC / PAL or whatever your console is. Use imgburn and burn at 4x speed don’t rush it of at 16x there’s no need to. Remember just because your burner may be capable of doing it faster and the wii be able to read it you will find a more stable fault free disk if you do it slow.
     
  4. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    perhaps 1.9G did not update after all? how'd you do it?
     
  5. callmebob

    Member callmebob The Grandpa of Awe!

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Bitburger Brewery (a lot)
    Country:
    Germany
    Are you using a pal wii? if so,

    maybe use the wiikey set-up disc to enable region free?
     
  6. altijdwat

    Newcomer altijdwat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Behind pc right now ^^
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Even if the update didn't work It wouldnt give that error you would be able to see the disc....I think its a bad burn..
     
  7. mattm025
    OP

    Newcomer mattm025 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    I'm burning another copy right now. I'll keep you guys updated.
     
  8. Beware

    Member Beware GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    991
    Country:
    United States
    You may have messed up the update. Make sure your originals run fine, then check if other backups still run.
     
  9. Wicked Mind

    Newcomer Wicked Mind Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Since you can't reach the game menu's at all I suggest trying other backups you know worked before. If they don't run either you should try and update your firmware.

    If they do, just burn another backup at 4x like reecarno stated and try again.
    A little trail and error should do the trick.

    (Any chance this unable-to-read-disc-problem is brand- or mediacode-related?)
     
  10. fixmyjapwii

    Newcomer fixmyjapwii Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Canada
    Well... I'm really boggled
    I'm on a genuine WiiKey, I assume due to the sticker and the patches working (I'm also the guy who has the world's weirdest Wii issues...)
    I'm on a 2.2j semi, still.
    I've run all updates, and while 1.9g has strangely allowed me to play a bunch of games which wouldn't load before (eg: 0079, godfather, bw2, umbrella, bba, etc), smg still won't work.
    I'm totally fine with the ntsc-j version, and I'm on an ntsc-j machine, so there should be no problems, right?
    Well, I have seven smg discs burnt now, all at varying speeds; however NONE of them sill start. the firmware update ran too, and I still cannot access settings, so... so much for that idea.
    When SMG-J is inserted I get the boot up screen, and when I click start it loads for a bit and then says the disc is invalid/unreadable (in mario fonts); I try rotating through all the discs, much like I do with Metroid, and none of them are readable. any ideas?

    I'm at the point where I almost want to just restart the Wii's original settings... if I were to do that and then re-run all the patches, any idea if this would work or not? I'd have to copy my army of miis to a few wiimotes (why they cannot be copied to sd cards, I dunno...), and back up my saves; but theoretically this should work, right? Any other solutions?

    I cannot play smg, nor go online (cannot get to settings, remember), and this is all rather silly.... ideas... anybody??

    So thank you to the Wiikey team for 1.9g, which strangely allows me to play everything but Galaxy (when my system wouldn't play all before).
     
  11. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    if you're on 2.2 still how can you expect to run mario? Did you brick your settings thru SMG or before? quite unclear [​IMG] And you were on 2.2, semi-bricked, when you tried to update thru galaxy?
    What media are you using for mario? (brand and burnspeed)
     
  12. fixmyjapwii

    Newcomer fixmyjapwii Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Canada
    Thx for reply Manias

    So, I believe I got truely semi-bricked with everyone back in the SMStrikers release (hardly worth it...), and since then was unable to update from 2.2 due to the settings being locked. SMG was supposed to be my savior with firmware 3; guess not, hey? SO, I was on a semi-2.2J, and I ran the 1.9g patch, and then did the smg update. And while I'm technically getting 'into' the game, the 'fail to read' screens before the title (which I've still never seen) are disconcerting to say the least.
    The thing I don't get is that while my burning isn't working for SMG, it works for everything else. so far with SMG I've tried one brand x dvd (high quality tho), a few TDK+/-Rs @ all speeds, and a few -Rs at all speeds, all speeds is 1,2,4,8. None of those discs work.
    God Father is a good example (and an okay gta rip off): until the 1.9g patch my Wii gave me load errors, same with Metroid; and Fifa'08 still does. So it's likely an issue with my Wiikey/initial upgrading?

    That's why I'm considering resetting the firmware -from scratch. I mean, if I copy my miis and saves, couldn't I just resetup the Wii with 1.9g and have no problems across the board?

    I'm lost [​IMG]
     
  13. sekhu

    Member sekhu moo?

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,156
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i didn't think you could default back to the initial wii firmware

    but if you were getting load errors with other games too, that points to bad media or a bad burner
     
  14. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    if you got bricked by 2.2 then you could also try metroid, as it has 3.0. You cannot downgrade wii firmware. If you format your wii you format the data stored like things you downloaded, NOT the firmware.
    Your console is japanese originally? bought in japan?
     
  15. fixmyjapwii

    Newcomer fixmyjapwii Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, I'm sorta from Japan; it's the first unit sold out of Shinjuku actually - I was in the paper and shit for getting it - lol. I've been playing metroid since it came out - the NTSC-U version, I thought that didn't upgrade the firmware(?); and since the metroid update I was also unable to get to the Wii settings; I doubt an ntsc-j metroid would help since my ntsc-j smg doesn't....
    If I were using a wiikey clone, the patches & bootdiscs wouldn't work, right? How about the sticker (I don't doubt it'd be easy to just buy those stickers)?
    Am I just completely SOL? One person messaged me to only use Verbatim -Rs, but not one of the 20/30+ games I have working is on such a disc, so I doubt that'd matter.....
    In metroid's case, I have five discs, and it's a toss up as to which will read, and I usually have to swap them around once or twice to start up, Mario doesn't seem to wanna play by those rules. Has no1 else run into this problem?
    Thx [​IMG]
     
  16. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    the hologram sticker isn't enough anymore, some clones have also shipped with those. You can even buy them online :/
    And the metroid game had an update, hence the need for the "metroid trick" which was born back then for pal users to play the ntsc metroid. Did you brick with a US metroid then?
    It's quite the unique problem you have I gather, usually you hear about people bricking on, say, US metroid, then fixing that with a japanese mario, and it's all good! (or with that soccer game and fixing it with japanese metroid)
    But the fact that now after the update you can recognize metroid.. but not after 1.9B.. sounds weird, and doesn't really point towards a normal wiikey
     
  17. fixmyjapwii

    Newcomer fixmyjapwii Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm starting to think the same thing... can the clone be replaced with a regular official wiikey I wonder?
    this is getting tedious but as my second language is JP I'd like to keep the JP Wii....
    I can't believe I seem to be the only person in the large network of modders with this issue.
    AS OF TODAY reflashing 1.9b allows metroid to run but NOW 1.9g doesn't...
    so since I'm 64% through it, I'm gonna keep my wii in 1.9b mode unless I'm playing 0079
    *bangs head
     
  18. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ehh? how odd!
    but yeah, you can replace it..
     
  19. fixmyjapwii

    Newcomer fixmyjapwii Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Canada
    So... if I'm ditching my wiikey, I'll get a new wiikey and hope it works; it won't destroy my board... will it?
    first thing I'd do is see if it's genuine and if it can just be rehooked up or something... confusing...
    this is the first Wii outta Shinjuku; very important to me [​IMG]
    geek like that
     
  20. Wicked Mind

    Newcomer Wicked Mind Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I find your issue hard to understand..
    Replacing a Wiikey with another Wiikey with the same firmware probably won't fix your problem I guess...

    Anyway, replacing your modchip won't wreck your board.

    Just be very gentle removing the chip, try to keep your solderpoints in shape.

    I once pulled 3 inch of very thin copper out of my v1.6 xbox while "replacing" a chip..
    I got the motherboard working again, but it was hell [​IMG]
     

Share This Page