yeah, so...

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by dice, Feb 20, 2007.

Feb 20, 2007

yeah, so... by dice at 7:50 PM (3,224 Views / 0 Likes) 34 replies

  1. dice
    OP

    Former Staff dice pansy-ass ex-staff member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    9,542
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ... what's the problem here?

    [​IMG]

    Skin's arn't working. I think it has something to do with my OS, I can't make the images 8 bit either...
     


  2. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    Nothing that I can see. I'm assuming the images are of the right size, might be something to be with 8 bit colour
     
  3. Modrak

    Member Modrak GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    158
    Country:
    Czech Republic
    Try opening them in some image editor and resave them as 24bit BMPs...
     
  4. dice
    OP

    Former Staff dice pansy-ass ex-staff member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    9,542
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Tried that using photoshop but it's no good.

    Is my OS (microsoft ME) stopping me from saving the image as 8bit? Is there something I can use that will allow me to save images as 8bit and would I get an 8bit image if someone were to change the images and upload them for me to download? (http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=413...ndpost&p=546398) - it's the one done by kiruyama (the r4 version)

    Thanks
     
  5. XeroRestraint

    Member XeroRestraint GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States

    I assume you're not retarded [​IMG] and that the .bmp extensions are there but simply aren't visible because you have the Windows default to "Hide known filetypes" enabled (SO annoying Bill). With that said - what program did you create them in? Did you use Photoshop or another program that would allow you to save a bitmap with alpha channels? If so that would make them incompatible with the R4 firmware and it would revert to the default skin.

    BTW - There's no such thing as a 6-bit bitmap.....

    Email the files if you want me to take a look at them (xerorestraint gmail.com)
     
  6. dice
    OP

    Former Staff dice pansy-ass ex-staff member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    9,542
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  7. dice
    OP

    Former Staff dice pansy-ass ex-staff member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    9,542
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sorry (trip post)
     
  8. dice
    OP

    Former Staff dice pansy-ass ex-staff member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    9,542
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sorry (trip post)
     
  9. XeroRestraint

    Member XeroRestraint GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
  10. dice
    OP

    Former Staff dice pansy-ass ex-staff member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    9,542
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  11. XeroRestraint

    Member XeroRestraint GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I tried them and they seem fine.... The ROMs and other files you transfer over work OK right? Just for shits & giggles turn off that annoying property in windows just to be sure the extension isn't missing from the files on your card (Tools>Folder Options>View (tab)> 'uncheck' Hide file extensions for known file types.

    Also, can you confirm that the file sizes are the same for the images on your microSD card vs. your HDD (it's okay if they're off by a few bytes due to different filesystem formats). Out of curiosity, how is your card formatted - FAT(16) or FAT32? It shouldn't matter though.

    Sorry that you're using Me, possibly the worst Windows evah. [​IMG] Did you just recently get your R4? Another possiblity is bad/incomplete Me driver support for the USB card reader.
     
  12. dice
    OP

    Former Staff dice pansy-ass ex-staff member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    9,542
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah the file extensions are showing, the images are exactly the same size (144kb for all images, same on both hdd and sd card) and it's FAT16. I got the r4 nearly 2 weeks ago [​IMG]

    Im formatting my card right now... hopefully that will sort things out (which I doubt). Everything else works great (e.g games, moonshell etc)
     
  13. BoneMonkey

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    what microsd card do you have ?
     
  14. darksavior

    Member darksavior GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    231
    Country:
    United States
    Try this :
    Don't convert the bmp's. Don't alter them. Just extract them from the zip directly to the _system_ folder. I don't see why you're having such a hard time.

    If you can get games working, its not the OS problem.
    Also remember to upgrade your R4 firmware. The firmware that's on the cd doesn't support skinning.
     
  15. dice
    OP

    Former Staff dice pansy-ass ex-staff member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    9,542
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes I downloaded the "v1.06 kernel" (english) file as soon as I got the R4 - so I am using the current firmware.

    The first time I added the images to the sd card I didn't modify them in anyway.

    @ sgadzookie - I'm using a Sandisk 1GB
     
  16. XeroRestraint

    Member XeroRestraint GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    Probably just a typo. Anyway, hopefully the reformat takes care of your woes. Although, if you're trying to convert the images like the darksavior said - you shouldn't have to and that could be a problem.

    Good luck.
     
  17. dice
    OP

    Former Staff dice pansy-ass ex-staff member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    9,542
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My bad [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] - The reformat didn't work im afriad... why the hell is this happening to me [​IMG]
     
  18. dice
    OP

    Former Staff dice pansy-ass ex-staff member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    9,542
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    bumpety, surely im not the only person with this problem?

    I used paint and was able to save the files as 8bit but they still don't show
     
  19. XeroRestraint

    Member XeroRestraint GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    Do the other types of files you copy to your card work as expected?
     
  20. dice
    OP

    Former Staff dice pansy-ass ex-staff member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    9,542
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes they do.

    I'm seriously thinking that Windows ME is the problem. Do any of you use ME here and transfer the skins correctly.
     

Share This Page